2003 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2003 Toyota Corolla Verso Sol 2.0 diesel from Denmark

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Superb!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all - this car is simply superb! A great improovement over my old Alfa 156.

General Comments:

The engine is a bit noisy at higher speeds (130km/h +), but still acceptable. Fuel economy is good, with the car regularly doing 17km/l, when driving sensible. The cabin is great, the finish is really good and all buttons are nice to work. The only drawback compared to my old Alfa 156, is the gear change. This is less than good, seems "notchy" and noisy. However, it seems sturdy enough, and I'm getting used to it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

6th Nov 2009, 19:11

Can you give some details about comfort on long journeys and the smoothness of the ride over choppy roads? Thanks.

2003 Toyota Corolla LE from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

A great reliable car. :)

Faults:

There's a lot of noise in the inside if you turn off the music and listen.

Other than that nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

It has a very nice interior and exterior.

It's very comfortable.

I would recommend this car to anybody whose looking for their first car.

It's awesome and I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 22:29

I agree with everything you said about the car, they're great... so if you want to sell let me know... Indiana Lien Inc.

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

An excellent value

Faults:

The valve of the left rear tire was discovered at approximately 15000 miles to be defective, causing two flats. The tire had to be replaced.

At approximately 25000 miles, the engine's belt tensioner broke causing damage to the belt and the battery. All three parts were still under warranty and replaced by the dealer.

One concern exists with a one time incident of ice expulsion from the air vents with the air conditioning on while at the same time having reduced air flow. I never reported the problem as it happened only once. The unit had obviously "frozen up".

General Comments:

The 2003 Toyota Corolla CE is a very good value for the money. I found through my own research that it had more standard equipment than a Honda Civic. The CE came equipped with power mirrors, air conditioning, auto transmission, tilt steering and a four speaker AM/FM stereo radio with a CD player, all standard.

Gas mileage is very impressive. I get approximately 28 miles per gallon in mixed driving. However, acceleration is merely adequate.

Rattling noises from the speedometer console, passenger side seat belt and driver side window are present sometimes. However, road and wind noise are very well muted, making the ride impressively quiet for an economy car.

The seats are firm and supportive.

Interior room is very large for a car of this class, as is the trunk room. It can seat four passengers very comfortably.

The one exception to the comfort level is the steering wheel. It seems to be too far away. The steering wheel has no telescoping adjustment and the driver's seat has no height adjustment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2004

3rd Jan 2005, 14:19

I have a 2003 corolla CE and it does NOT come standard with power windows.

20th Jul 2006, 16:34

Pro: Low maintenance, good gas mileage.

Con: The standard windows are annoying. The clock no longer lights. The top tray door is broken. Replacement tires are much better than OEM.

2003 Toyota Corolla S 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance23400 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Quality car, inside and out

Faults:

About an inch long section of the weather stripping has come off a bit in the corner of one window. Will have it fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Toyota really put quality into every nook and cranny of this car. Other manufacturers focus on the most obvious parts (interior, dash) but the second you start poking around you find a lot of shortcuts. With Toyota you could probably stick your head up the tailpipe and notice touches that other car makers gloss over.

I like the quality of the car. I don't believe any manufacturer will give you as good quality for the price as Toyota. The engine bay is very neat, no spaghetti wiring. Plasic is great quality, seats are comfortable. The dash is very will laid out. Doors close with a pleasant muffled thump instead of a noisy slam.

The trunk is enormous. I like the fact that there are not any releases for folding down the seats inside the passenger cabin, and the trunk release by the drivers seat can be disabled. Anything stored in the trunk will be safe if someone breaks into the car.

There are nice touches like an outside temperature gauge, two trip meters, cabin air filter, lots of cup holders, and floor air vents for the rear seats.

The car seems a little high. When I go into someone else's car I really notice how high the corolla sits.

There are some squeaks and rattles from the dash that come and go as the car ages, worse in lower temperatures.

The Air conditioner seems very underpowered, but I hear this is a trend with all newer cars for environmental reasons.

The suspension could be better. It is not nearly as nice as the Camry, but I still find myself going much faster than I think I am. I maxed out the spedo at 180Km/h and the car felt like it could easily handle higher speeds.

The stock tires are garbage. Poor traction in dry, wet, snowy conditions. They are good for only about 30,000Km then they should be scrapped.

The trunk is hard to close, but I have the hang of it now. I haven't met anyone that has been able to close the trunk properly on their first try.

Reverse gear is hard to get into. I usually go into fourth, then reverse, and this seems to work well.

My gas tank cover froze shut once and I had to get someone to pull on the release lever while I pried it open with my fingers.

Gas mileage is excellent. I keep the receipt from every fill-up with the odometer reading written down on it. The car averages about 7.5L/100Km (31mpg) or about 670Km per tank.

Engine power is good. At high RPMs you really get a good kick out of the car, especially for a 1.8 liter.

To sum up, the Corolla is the perfect commuter car. It seats four comfortably and it is utterly reliable. I haven't had a single problem with it yet, and I don't expect to for at least 5 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

17th Apr 2005, 10:46

I work for a Saturn dealer and have found a quick fix for the closing of the trunk lid. On our lot we have a bunch of ION sedans and one of them in particular had a difficult to close trunk. I remembered things from working at the Honda Civic factory back in 1997, and made some small adjustments to the trunk lid and latch.

The first thing you want to do is be sure the trunk, when closed, is flush with the tops of the rear fenders, and flush against the rear window. If it fits perfectly, go on to the next paragraph. If it needs adjustment, you can either carefully bend it into place by twisting the entire lid, or loosen the bolts holding the lid to the hinges and adjust it that way.

To adjust the latch/striker, open the trunk, fold down the rear seats, and crawl into the trunk from the rear seat are, then lower the lid and make note of where the latch comes into contact with the striker bolt, but don't close the trunk completely. You will likely find the striker bolt is not coming into perfect contact with the latch. Two bolts hold the striker in place, loosen them, adjust the striker, and tighten the bolts. Your trunk should close perfectly now.

I made this repair to that one ION on the lot by using a hammer to bang the striker about 1/8 inch to its left, and now the trunk closes as perfectly as the ION's on either side of it.

This procedure also works for your doors and hood if they are difficult to close, or sagging slightly.

29th Mar 2007, 19:05

2003 Corolla S, 23K miles

I have a problem no one has described. I got the car out of the shop after two days and they could not duplicate the problem. Sometimes I have to try the ignition switch several times before the starter engages.

Also, how can you keep the doors from locking when you get out of the car in the garage?

I have a gravel drive uphill out of a basement garage and I cannot keep the car from digging potholes in the gravel. Any suggestions?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews