2001 Toyota ECHO from North America

Summary:

Somewhat disappointed in longevity of transmission

Faults:

The car ran remarkably well for 106,000 miles. At that point the manual transmission failed. I was shocked at the $2,100 price tag for the component. This was the first manual transmission failure of any car that I have owned. While somewhat disappointed, I have not observed wide spread incidents such as ours. Maybe we had a bad bearing. Based upon my experience, the front wheel drive Subaru Impreza (somewhat comparable) was far superior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

24th Feb 2007, 18:08

I believe the Subaru cost a lot more than this bottom of the line Echo even though it's a toyota it was still the cheapest model at the time.

25th Feb 2007, 12:35

There is no such thing as a front wheel drive Impreza in North America. All Subarus, regardless of model, are all wheel drive. The change occurred in the 1990's when Subaru realized it couldn't compete head to head with Honda/Toyota so needed a marketing gimmick - the beauty of all wheel drive.

20th Sep 2007, 21:04

That is not true at all.

The Subaru Legacy L and Legacy Brighton came in front wheel drive, and AWD was optional.

11th Mar 2008, 12:28

1999 and up Subes are all AWD. Anything before that could have been front wheel or AWD.

6th Aug 2008, 10:52

210,000 on my 2001 Echo with manual transmission. So far so good.

2001 Toyota ECHO 2door from North America

Summary:

A good urban car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A reliable mode of transportation. It's a little small for my size, but that is part of the car's appeal. I crashed into another car at about 5 mph and the damge wasn't too bad. I like the car, but worry about the outcome in a serious wreck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2007

2001 Toyota ECHO 1.5 from North America

Summary:

Would not trade the car for anything, except the actress Danielle Fishel. Oh yeah!

Faults:

After about 37000 miles the Air Compressor went on unemployment. Luckily, the dealer only charged me labor cost instead of parts & labor.

Around 50,000 replaced the tires. (They were rated at 40,000)

Around 55,000 replaced the brakes.

Two weeks after I made the final payment on my Echo, I was rear-ended. No, damage to my car (surprisingly, since I joke it is made out of aluminum foil). The other guy’s car had a nice dent.

A year after that, I was caught out in a hail storm and now my car has dimples everywhere.

The Wednesday before Thanksgiving 2006, I was rear-ended again (Person wasn’t paying attention. He asked me what happened. Hello, the traffic stopped. Didn’t you see the deer run across the road?). At first, it didn’t look like any damage was done to my bumper. The trunk looked a little off. I was dumbfounded to believe there was minimal damage. Then I saw that my passenger side rear fender was all buckled up. It goes into the auto body shop tomorrow. Love that Echo.

General Comments:

For a 1.5 liter, the car has some pep to it. I am amazed that it does not vibrate at high speeds.

Stock stereo sounds nice.

I usually get around 36-38 mpg around town (Even when traffic is crazy and going 80).

I love the center dash and how you sit high in the seats.

Replacing the door speakers and the rear deck speakers are a pain in the ass. I do not know why they don’t have standard screw mounts. I didn’t feel like drilling new holes so I used RV adhesive to anchor the speakers in with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2006

10th Dec 2006, 14:33

Just got word the insurance company is totalling my ECHO. I am not a happy camper. Hopefully, I can find another. It's a 2001 not a 2000. I put it in the wrong spot. Still love the car.

6th Apr 2010, 21:10

The insurance company wrote of my 2001 Echo as well after only passenger side fender damage. I kind of half suspect they're taking it away because of its high re-sale value. Loved that little car.

7th Apr 2010, 21:50

Oh really, the insurance company totalled your Echo because of its "high re-sale value", which would be what they had to pay you for it.

Yeah, that makes perfect sense.