2000 Toyota Tundra from North America - Comments

4th Nov 2012, 08:17

I'm saying that no matter how many studies come out and prove that Toyota (and other Japanese makes) produce the most reliable cars, the domestic fans will never believe those studies are real.

4th Nov 2012, 08:22

The New York area has been pummeled by hurricanes for hundreds and thousands of years -- you know, before there was New York. The only thing is that it's rare, and by the time MOST storms reach there, they've weakened. But everyone knew it was a matter of time before they would get hit by a bigger one. And it is very possible they could get hit by a bigger one still -- and it would have nothing to do with global warming.

Not saying global warming isn't a possibility or whatever, but don't lay this storm at the feet of global warming.

4th Nov 2012, 11:00

Amen brother. I see comments from small truck owners too that have never owned a full size. I am certain it's application driven to buy full sizes. The last thing I want to read is about Camry and Scions. I tow a 27 foot Fountain with a Silverado with 3 to 4 passengers. Hopefully you can understand my point.

5th Nov 2012, 07:31

Since global warming is the latest fixation, my recommendation is to order factory air conditioning in your full size truck. Also order a Class III hitch and a tow bar for the second fixation; a small Toyota towed with a car dolly. That can also be towed with no issue, with a 3/4 ton Ford F250 being an ideal choice. But first you need to stay on topic, and then buy a new full size truck.

5th Nov 2012, 14:54

Big trucks, small trucks, cars, or whatnot. The most recent quality surveys out as of less than one week ago, show that Toyota - the company - makes the most reliable brand of vehicles (and yes that includes EVERYTHING from full sized trucks to small cars). It's Toyota along with their other 2 divisions. And yes - these surveys and reports do matter. Otherwise there would be no such thing as any sort of statistical analysis and comparative outcomes - key fundamental economics. But anyway, I find it funny that any story that promotes anything the Big 3 does as good is proudly repeated on this and other sites non-stop, while any report such as the aforementioned one, is met with utter disbelief.

So try and say different all you want. Toyota is the most reliable automaker on the planet, end of story. No amount of anecdotal stories or subjective opinions will change that. These are the facts.

Furthermore, Toyota has once again gained the spot as the world's largest automaker, and they sell the most popular car in the US. So clearly they are doing something right, so more stories about how they are supposedly a bad automaker, even though facts prove otherwise, is totally failing to stop their success or people from buying them. So if that's the case... then why continue to try and prove something that isn't provable or factual?

6th Nov 2012, 08:17

Last year the Toyota Tundra did not even make the top 5 on annual production in America. The Toyota Tundra sold 83,058 full size trucks in America. They did a bit better at only 137,141 back in 2008, but declined in sales in America after that year, and are now at 83,058. The #1 spot, as usual year after year after year, is the Ford F Series at 301,141, followed by the Silverado. Also a great truck as well.

I do not know why you are even on a full size truck review. Give it a rest already. I am not going to tow with a Corolla or Camry. There is plenty of space to make car comments on car reviews. I have a top rated powerboat and motorcycle as well, but am not making comments on them on here. No one is interested, at least on a full size truck review.

6th Nov 2012, 15:41

Of course Toyota is struggling to overcome 10 years of very poorly built cars and trucks. That is only good business. This year's batch of vehicles may indeed show some very minute improvements in quality over the past decade's disasters. That does not and cannot erase a decade of building some of the world's worst and most unsafe vehicles. 30 million recalls will be a blemish on Toyota's reputation in the mind of any rational buyer for decades to come. I care about my family and their safety. There will never be a Toyota in my stable of vehicles.

As for large trucks, no manufacturer comes remotely close to the reliability or value of full size Ford, GM or Ram trucks.

7th Nov 2012, 11:00

Where does the idea that "Toyota is struggling" come from? They are the world's largest automaker, the world's most reliable automaker, and are currently enjoying monthly double-digit gains. This "debate" is over.

8th Nov 2012, 05:49

What's this, the debate is over. What do you own? We get it's car comments on a full size truck review. Maybe you can figure it out when you go in over and over and over on all these newest October Toyota car recalls. You will have company to talk to, as you will likely receive in the mail another 7.4 million recalls. Did you read how few Tundras are sold here in America earlier? The sales have dropped. The Tundra is not even in the top 5.

It truly sounds like you own a car anyway. We own full size trucks. Not once do you mention why you bought one. I may speak for others, but it is the utility aspect. Having a large bed with towing. Why did you buy a new one? It's endless rants on small cars. It's like the expression bringing a knife to a gunfight. It's a little car! These are large trucks. Please acknowledge you are not even in the top 5 here on this specific model. I would be focusing my time getting my small car fixed on the fire recall, vs fretting over this model.

8th Nov 2012, 21:34

Ever since Toyota passed the 20 million recall mark, they have worked very hard to repair a very tarnished reputation. In spite of their efforts, they have recalled another 10 million vehicles. Most rational car buyers aren't going to trust that kind of "quality", regardless of ad hype to the contrary. 10 years ago about 6 of my friends drove Toyotas. Today none do. All of them now either drive Ford or GM, and quality rankings won't lure them back to a poor quality car.

9th Nov 2012, 11:48

I do in fact have real life experience with Tundras because my dad has a 2002 Tundra, and yes - he uses it for his business hauling construction equipment. It is used the same way that most any other work truck is used - for work.

I was visiting my folks just a few months ago, and at that point the truck was close to having 300,000 miles on the clock. So again - small truck, big truck, car, or hybrid, Toyota makes reliable products.

What about those recalls? So what. ALL car makers have them, and the Big Three have had the lion's share of them over the years. So I'm not sure what the point of bringing that up is supposed to accomplish. And as far as the debate goes, it's in response to the typical anti-import comments that pepper virtually every single Toyota review. Sorry - but Toyota was just recently named the most reliable automaker, and that includes all of their brands. So if the anti-import debate is about Toyota supposedly not making a good product, then the facts disagree.