1998 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1998 Vauxhall Omega GLS (AC) 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance134800 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Very comfy better MPG than V6!!

Faults:

Dash display needed replacing as most of the bulbs had blown and gauges not working.

Idle valve needed replacing due to poor idle.

Fuel gauge (in tank sensor replaced)

Camcover gasket leaking, replaced myself using haynes manual.

General Comments:

Very comfy car ideal for long distances. All the problems above were wrong with the car when I brought it. I did not notice any of them on test drive!! Realy comfy seats and driving position, the AC works realy well and its got all the electrics that you need. I have fitted 17" alloys to it with 225/45/17 tyres which has improved the handling, but the ride is still good. I have noticed some wheel vibration recently and have found (garage found!) that the N/S/F steering idler is worn to excess which is prob causing play and vibration. I am getting this replaced £53 for the part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2005

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Top of the range at more than half price

Faults:

I have had to have the tracking done twice, New tyre's (very expensive big rubbers), Front wishbones, and Exhaust manifold gaskets.

General Comments:

Excellent car to drive, The model I had was the elite with all the extras going, But very heavy on fuel we got about 20 to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2005

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.5 V6 24 Valve from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

I will keep this car for years!!!

Faults:

I have had an oil leak for years and no one seems to be able to find it!

I have had the rocker covers and seals changed which had crumbled.

The under-side of the car is covered in oil , has anyone had a similar problem?

The brake light bulbs blow every couple of months.

General Comments:

The car drives better than most newer cars I have driven.

It is smooth, quiet and very well equipped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

10th Mar 2005, 09:28

A sure way to find that oil leak is to clean the underside of your car! Looking for a black cat in a room with the lights off can be tricky, if you understand the analogy.

1998 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Excellent VFM

Faults:

Door weld bracket on Passenger door has failed.

(as mentioned in other reviews, a weak point.)

Digital Display looses "lines" intermittantly.

Bulbs out on passenger side heating display.

General Comments:

Purchased the car with 65k on for £4000.

For a 1999 registered car with this level of equipment, a bargain.

Leather seats and lots of toys.

Xenon Headlights, Leather Interior, Auto transmission, Electric sunroof, Full climate control with automatic air quality sensor and sun sensor, Heated seats, Cruise control, RDS radio & CD multichanger.

Ride is good,

Plenty of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

1998 Vauxhall Omega CD 2.0 16v Ecotec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Scorpio 24v Cosworth

Summary:

Good comfortable cruiser

Faults:

Idle was erratic, alternating between 850 and 1200 RPM. The advice from expert was to change the idle valve this sorted it out spot on.

Alarm was not working this was tracked down to a door micro-switch again advice from Steve at Leicester Motor Factors and a new micro-switch all works now :-)

General Comments:

Being quite tall 6' 6" I needed a car I was comfortable in the Omega is perfect and I average 100 miles a day in great comfort. 2.0 engine is smooth, could do with a little more grunt, but at the average of 44mpg I am not complaining.

Tail end is a bit twitchy in the wet, but nothing too worrying. So far so good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2003

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56330 miles
Most recent distance72987 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Xenon Headlight blew 3 weeks into ownership. Dealer did not want anything to do with it. After a quiet work and the mention of a call to a solicitor, they agreed. It was found that the headlight had come free from its fittings. This was £90 for the bulb and £40 fitting. I did not have to pay, but at least you know how much.

Run-out on the brake disc's at front was excessive. £100 and fitted them myself. Easy to fit.

The car eats through tyres like Pavarotti in a spaghetti eating competition, if you select the wrong type of tyre. Get a hard wearing tyre like Pirelli. Do not get Bridgestone. They are way too soft. Pirelli do the best job. 10k miles and still only worn half way. And I do tend to be a bit lead footed.

Power steering pump replaced at 68K miles. £450 (inc labour)

Rear bulbs blow every 2K miles. May be a built in feature.

Do not use main dealers. Search for a local garage with someone who has experience with Vauxhalls. You will find the prices cheaper; they will not ask for the shirt from your back and give your car back with more faults than you started with. But do search.

General Comments:

It is black so a pain to clean, but looks great when it's done.

The best thing, apart from performance and the built-in telephone system, is the rear blind. I noticed someone else also loved this feature. Thank God I am not the only one.

As for performance, it really is a great car. I recently had a bit of fun with a BMW 328i and an Audi TT. When they caught me up at the traffic lights they were a little surprised.

I am still smiling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

30th Apr 2004, 15:04

Try Ring bulbs from Wilkos, I have had no failures in over 2 years 35,000.miles. There are a lot of cheap eastern European imported bulbs that are useless, even in brand-name packets.

17th May 2005, 18:57

Yes I have had bulb problems as well and was recommended Ring Bulbs and have had no problems.

As for the BMW and AudiTT incident, I have had something very similar, and oh, how I laughed too. Their girlfriends were none to impressed. Neither was my wife though.

I too am still smiling though.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 37 reviews