1998 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1998 Vauxhall Omega MV6 Saloon 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Sintra

Summary:

A high performance vehicle

Faults:

Loud clacking noise from engine - only when cold.

Squeaky passenger seat when empty.

I've seen this discussed before - but no fix for these problems. I'd be interested to hear what.

Robert.h.harvey@btinternet.com.

60,000 miles. Bucked alloy wheel due to pothole.

General Comments:

Smooth, powerful, fast, easily eats the miles.

Good value for money - if you don't buy a new one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2002

17th Dec 2002, 07:02

I fully agree about the buckled alloy wheel, I have an MV6 with same problem, so does a colleague at work who also drives an MV6.

1998 Vauxhall Omega CD Estate 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A delightful car to own

Faults:

Heater hose at rear of engine blow at 85000 miles, repair cheap considering the work involved to repair.

Light on dashboard blow.

Handbrake cable snapped.

Fuse blow on central locking which made the car totally unlock-able till I could replace fuse.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and quiet car.

Pleasure to drive on long journeys.

Filling the car with 5 adults and all there luggage does not seem to make much difference to performance.

On a touring holiday to Yorkshire it returned 27 miles to the gallon fully loaded.

Very quick car with the gearbox in sports mode.

The car feels very safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56810 miles
Most recent distance58100 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Overall this is one beautiful car and an absolute bargain

Faults:

Drivers door stay came away, needed welding. (Common fault apparently) Body shop removed door to do job and caused airbag warning light to come on. Reset by dealer.

Auto gearbox went berserk with lights flashing on selector and would only work manually. Dealer had shot water into electrics when cleaning engine bay. Two attempts to fix this.

Brakes spongy and long pedal travel. Waiting for dealer to fix this.

Fluid leak from rear of engine. Dealer has fixed this, but gave vague answer as to what it was!

Electric sunroof squeaks when opening and rattles in tilt mode.

Dashboard light bulbs blown. Several.

Loud 'clacking' noise from engine when cold. Dealer says is 'exhaust manifold leak'. Waiting to get this fixed.

Auto box jerky in low gears. Snatches badly on kickdown or hesitates. Dealer says 'oil level in box may be low or needs oil change' Waiting to get this fixed.

Oil leaks from both camshaft housing covers. On the list for dealer to fix.

Gear selector lever locking tab rattles. Irritating! On the list to fix!

General Comments:

Have had a bad start with this car with multiple problems as listed. Dealer has been pretty good about sorting them out although has argued over one or two.

It is a beautiful car though. Gorgeous silky smooth and comfortable with oodles of power. It looks the part too despite what people have said in reviews about 'bland styling'

There are so many 'toys' in this car I for the first time with a car had to read the manual! Climate control is confusing to operate manually so leave the thing in auto!

The value for money with this car is extraordinary. I paid £6000 for it and friends have been staggered by the package you get for your dosh. It is amazing.

Fuel consumption is remarkable for such a big car. 37.6mpg on a 300+ mile trip to Cumbria up the A1 from London. Mixed driving I get around 27mpg provided I take it easy and avoid roaring away at lights which is easy to do with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55540 miles
Most recent distance58993 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A tornado of fun

Faults:

Faulty Dash bulb on speedometer and petrol gauge when purchased.

Could not get auto-box out of park.

Message displayed on the on-board computer indicating a possible error with the Xenon automatic adjustments.

Fuse box flap broken, but still fits well.

General Comments:

A very fast car and power that takes a little getting used to if you have driven a 2000cc or lower vehicle.

The cabin is very roomy with bundles of gadgets to keep you amused on those long journeys.

Bose Stereo is superb and the rear blind is just pure snobbery.

Black looks fantastic, but only when you have cleaned it.

A BMW beater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2002

20th Jun 2002, 05:18

The Xenon headlights played up on my Omega, they are very expensive to fix because only Vauxhall would look at them - no independents would.

BMW beater? I think not. Having driven a 528i and owned an Omega 3.0i Elite, I can say the BMW is much, much better. OK there is a large price difference, but that will be made up for by the repairs needed on the Omega!

7th Feb 2003, 13:17

After owning over 30 cars, the 3.0l elite estate is simply the best of the bunch. The car has been converted to run on L.P.G.and now has an equivalent fuel consumption of 45 MPG.

For the price of a mundane hatchback, I have the luxury of a £30,000 car with the running costs of a fiesta. And yes, its 100% reliable.

16th Apr 2003, 17:55

I own an R reg 3.0 Elite and am very pleased with it. I would be interested to know who you got to convert your 3.0 to LPG and the cost. Thanks.

21st Sep 2003, 07:53

Hi

I too have a 1997 elite and am very interested in converting it to run on LPG. Does anyone out there have experience of LPG on an elite? How is it going? Where did you get the conversion done? What system are you using?

28th Jun 2006, 16:55

Hi, had my 2.5 Elite changed to LPG about 4 months ago, cost me £2000, but as I have a round trip of over 50 miles a day to work and back, had it done. My fuel bill has gone from £55/60 per week down to £20/25 per week, so over the moon with it! I will recoup the outlay within 12 months. Had it done by Dual Fuels of Exeter.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 37 reviews