1998 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1998 Vauxhall Omega CD 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Poorly build, but comfortable

Faults:

Idling valve went about a month after I have bought the car.

Handbrake shoes linings have fallen off

Rear pads linings (GM branded) have separated from metal plates.

Passenger door central locking works occassionaly.

Engine is idling erratically (again).

Small stove-away compartment on the right hand side of the dashboard is opening while you drive.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride although poor quality of the small things is very annoying.

Surprisingly economical (up to 30 mpg).

Loads of space.

Front A-pillar is obstructing drivers view.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2002

6th Sep 2004, 11:31

Stop moaning about he car there is more to life than a bit of metal and 4 wheels.

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 3.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance81650 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A rocket on wheels

Faults:

Blind in parcel shelf snapped off arms.

Rear drivers side seat not heating up. Dealer fixed seat, but now the front driver's seat is not heating.

No radio codes, or Navigation C.D. Dealer found and supplied.

Sun-roof not working. Again dealer fixed on warranty.

General Comments:

Very happy with performance for such a big car.

Needs timing belt change. Garage will charge £110.

Is it me or is this car thirsty?

I have read in earlier posts of people having trouble, with the front heated seats. Is this a common fault?

The seats in my Omega are the same as those fitted in the MV6.

They are very very comfortable, and can see me doing a lot of mileage, with no (backside) problems.

Seems to have a lot of exhaust gases.

Due for the 80,000 mile service.

Counting the pennies already!

Black is a major headache keeping clean.

Power seems to come in at 3000RPM.

A little late for my taste, but when it comes, LOOK OUT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

27th Feb 2002, 12:10

I have a black 98 elite manual.

It must be a fault because my heated seat does not work.

Starting to get some loose trim problems. Also had to have the rear spoiler re fixed twice.

Although it is a thirsty and expensive car to keep on the road, I am still glad I bought the beast.

1998 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance123600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

How to get on first name terms with the RAC

Faults:

Side airbag sensor needed replacing at a cost of about £150.

Ignition leads & ignition coil had to be replaced at the 120,000 mile main dealer service. Total cost of service about £925.

Engine management light keeps coming on and the car cuts out and won't restart. Eventually restarts but only travels for a short distance before stopping again. A dirty crankcase sensor was thought to be the problem and cleaned. A few days later, the same again. Main dealer decided it was the alternator this time and replaced it at a cost of £340. Two days later, the same problem. The car was towed by the RAC to the garage again and I'm awaiting their call... any ideas?

General Comments:

Drives and handles very well for such a large car.

Not as frugal as I'd hoped, but the performance and comfort make up for that.

Excellent Bose sound system.

Handy on the motorway as some people seem to think it's an unmarked police car!

I've been told that Omegas are usually very reliable and it is not common to be stranded in the middle of nowhere three times in as many months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

25th Feb 2002, 16:18

Take the idle control valve off the engine and clean it with WD40.

27th Jan 2003, 11:19

Fuel pump relays used to be a common Vauxhall problem manifesting itself in the symptoms you describe.

29th Jun 2003, 09:22

Am having the same problem at the moment. When this happens to you dose your engine management light stay on.

I have found that I am also getting no spark. The AA said that you should have 6v ac coming back from the sensor. Also apparently if you have a 2.0L turn the engine over for 12 seconds and another sensor takes over and the car will run. Sadly not on a 2.5 L v6. Please let me know how you get on.

19th Dec 2003, 14:51

The crank case/shaft sensor was replaced which seemed to fix that problem, although it had other problems to replace the solved one! I had the rocker-cover gaskets replaced at a cost of £120 and when I came to sell the car one month later, they were leaking again!

Had the car for 18 months, did 8,000 miles, but spent over £1,600 in addition to the £2,500 depreciation...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 37 reviews