1988 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance113400 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Luxury and performance for the cost of basic transportation!

Faults:

Replaced CV half-axle.

Alternator.

Power window regulator.

Parking brake cable/

General Comments:

Just bought this a month ago looking for cheap/reliable transportation after years of loyal service from my 83 Camry.

Great car, but get the manual transmission. I've heard bad things about the automatic slipping into gear unexpectedly. The engine and transmission perform beautifully for an 88.

The comfort is less than I expected, though (coming from Acura).

The only thing that scares me is all the electronic doo-dads. I just stare at them, wondering when they'll go out. Not yet thankfully!

The body styling of this car is amazing for when it was born. Looks very elegant.

Can't believe I got this car for < $3000, and that was at a dealer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2000

16th Feb 2001, 18:13

I'm looking to buy another Acura for myself. I owned a 1987 Acura legend in 1998, and I am planning to buy another 1988 Acura here in 2001.

After reading your comments and dipping into my own recount of my old Acura, I'm pretty determined on buying the 1988. You stated you got yours for $3000, and from a dealer. I'm looking at one that runs $3200 from a used auto salesman. That's the catch, and that's the also the deal. If you have any comment on my comments to you, my email address is Licious26@hotmail.com, my name is Chris, and I'd be much obliged to hear from you.

Thank you,

Chris

1988 Acura Legend LS V6 from Japan

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Absolute GEM!

Faults:

Had radiator replaced at 150,000.

General Comments:

Other than normal maintenance, this has been a great car. Never let me down, and with 245k miles on it, it has never been rebuilt and uses ZERO oil!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1988 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

Rust, recalls, oil leaks, bought new 5-speed transmission, replace whole front suspension... all this & it only had 70,000 miles (it was worn out already).

General Comments:

Overrated cars. This car is not big & safe, in a 30 mph wreck with a Ford Taurus - it totalled my car, & broke my leg. Other car & driver was fine.

Unlike what the other survey person said, these cars don't go up in value, they go down like everything else. Don't believe this nonsense.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 1999

28th Sep 2001, 00:08

Wow sir, I am leaning toward the side that you are not telling the truth, but I won't go on that matter.

I have an 88 Legend, my sister has a 90. She had an accident in it in which it was hit by a 300ZX. The 300ZX driver who was at fault, totaled, the Legend.. needed some body work, but came out looking a lot better than that ZX. She is fine by the way, came out without a scratch on her.

15th Nov 2003, 02:22

Was the Taurus parked when you hit it? I would expect that from anyone who calls an Acura Legend unsafe and poorly built.

My 1988 Acura Legend LS was hit quite hard by a 95 Suburban on the driver's side. My car suffered a crumpled fender and door, but nothing else. The airbags did not even deploy and I was unscathed.

I disagree with your assertion that Acura Legends are unsafe most emphatically.

1988 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10

Faults:

Rust, brakes (lost brakes 2 times), 5-speed transmission rebuilt, A/C, front suspension, dash electrical, engine oil leaks, recalled 2 times, & more...

General Comments:

Had an Acura mechanic tell me that the engine tends to leak oil because it is an aluminum block, & they (all of Honda's engines) tend to warp easily. Got tired of problems & sold mine last year at 120,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 1999

13th Jul 2001, 00:34

The aluminum block has nothing to do oil leaks.

While aluminum blocks are, in theory, easier to warp than iron blocks, if the car is operating properly, an aluminum block will never warp.

As for oil leaks, Acura specifies gasket changes at 60k miles... if you don't stick to that schedule, it will leak oil.

My advice, find another mechanic first!

Skatman

Ph.D. Chemical Engineering

Senior Advisor BMW Technology Center.

30th May 2004, 17:58

Rust? Since when is rust a car's fault? I live in Chicago, and I have seen few cars over 10 years of age that are rust free.

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

CV Joints, cruise control, alarm system, driver's window, other electrics, rust.

General Comments:

Very reliable, should last quite a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 1998

17th Dec 2000, 22:31

Very nice cars, powerful, have a smooth ride and look good too.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews