1988 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance270000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A good combination of performance, style and value

Faults:

Manual transmission had to be rebuilt at 175,000 miles.

Needed new igniter at 220,000 miles.

Needed new radiator at 150,000 miles.

Brake master cylinder went out at 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car is still tight and fun to drive after all these years.

This car looks better than most new cars, I get a lot of compliments on this car.

Car is comfortable on long trips, leather seats are supportive.

300,000 miles will be reached within the next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance228000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A high performance bargain - a real deal

Faults:

A slight oil leak was easy to fix by replacing worn cylinder cover gasket.

Also I had to change the clutch plate in 1998

Body is very prone to rust and the front seats are worn out badly. But this should be expected to most 15 years old cars.

General Comments:

My initial purpose was to simply got myself some wheels to take me to and from school. For $2000 I figured 3 years with the car will be fair. Well, 6 years down the line, I am still driving it and loving every bit of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

1988 Acura Legend Coupe 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles

Summary:

A top-end car for a low-end price

Faults:

Valve cover gaskets were replaced around a month ago.

Rusting near the gas tank hole on the outside (minor stuff).

Parts are expensive.

General Comments:

This car takes off like it's a sports car.

Extremly reliable under any circumstances.

Very good mileage for a V6.

Handles perfectly.

Smooth and fast accelaration at lower RPMs.

Accelaration is still fast at higher RPMs, but not as fast as at lower ones.

Engine's in perfect condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Quite simply the best foreign car ever made

Faults:

When I purchased the car in November of 2002, it would only start after the engine had cooled. Afterward it would occasionally cut off. It was determined that is was the fuel pressure regulator, the fuel relay, and something called the TWA switch. The work was done for roughly $300.

There is a slight oil leak, but has been priced as relatively cheap to fix.

General Comments:

I purchased the car for nothing from my cousin because of the above listed problems. So the car really cost me about $300!!!

The car runs like no other car I have ever driven.

This car could have been the equivalent of a 1988 Mercedes S-Class.

The car is 15 years old, so you should expect normal maintenance that would come along with a 15 year old car.

The car should last for at least 20 years or more if you do what is called "preventive maintenance" such as regular oil changes ($19.99 every 3,000 miles), tire rotation ($49.99 every 25,000 miles), brake pads (price and time varies), timing belt change (unsure of price, but at least on any car over 150,000 miles), and yearly diagnostic tests at the dealer ($89.99).

The car is extremely fast and very quiet while accelerating.

Be prepared for speeding tickets.

I really don't understand why Acura would stop making a car like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

11th Jul 2005, 23:41

Acura didn't stop making it, they just renamed it ;)

The RL is the equivalent.

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7L SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7L SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired244000 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles

Summary:

True style and fun in an ancient car

Faults:

Note: These problems existed before I purchased the car. In other words, these problems did not arise during the relatively short amount of time I have owned the car.

The Anti-lock brakes made an scratching sound consistently every few seconds. But this was easy to fix by simply disabling the anti-lock feature, which actually improved braking ability. Doing this allows me to spin around better on icy parking lots, etc!

The speakers are very used, but you can really jack up the volume, actually improving sound quality.

Brakes went partially out (still safe). It was a cheap repair.

Seats are cracked, so I put some sheepskin covers, which everyone loves.

Glove compartment is broken and useless, but you can't tell without trying to use it.

A little bit of rust around the bottom of the car. (The car wasn't garaged by it's previous owner.)

General Comments:

This car is my pride and joy.

The Legend interior is beautiful. The stock volume adjustment and equalizer is great. I greatly prefer the manual heating/AC controls, as opposed to automatic adjustment. The seats are extremely comfortable and there is plenty of visibility. You can actually see the hood of the car when you drive, which is a plus for me. The entire interior is very stylish and says "fast" even for an '88 model. Yet it is simplistic. Also, there is a LOT of leg room in the back and you are invited to sit comfortably as if you were on a couch. There is also a lot of trunk room for subwoofers, etc.

I admit, my Legend having gone over 244,000 miles, I have only really "punched it" a few times. But when I have I was blown away by the acceleration. The engine really roars when you put the accelerator down. On sport mode when it shifts in the higher gears it almost feels like NOS. Of course I'm biased towards my Legend, but there is much truth in what I say.

The Legend is like a magic carpet ride. My friends are immediately surprised by the ease of steering and surgically precise control you have of the vehicle. You don't need to go 30 miles per hour over the speed limit to get a calm thrill while driving the Legend. The Legend is a true pleasure to drive. When I have the urge to drive I choose my Legend over my dad's BMW 740il any day. I have heard many say that they feel at-one with their Legend. I know exactly what they are talking about.

No wonder there are so many Legend enthusiast websites. Within a low price range, you can buy what I personally believe to be a priceless vehicle that will last you for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

17th Feb 2003, 11:52

I agree with this statement because I purchased a 1988 Acura Legend and I love the car. There are no rust spots on the car the interior is beautiful leather. It is so much fun to drive and it handles extremely well. I have had this car for almost a year and the repairs have been basic (new brake pads, oil changes, air filters, new clutch). As long as we keep up the basic maintenance, the Acura Legend will drive for a long time.

I just wanted to add my comment.

Yvette.

25th Jul 2003, 09:51

I recently bought my 88' Acura Legend LS and I love my car. I love the performance my car gives. The leather interior is not only nice to look at, but it is very comfortable. The legend is so comfortable to drive, it's a perfect fit.

So far the only maintenance problems that I've had were the brakes (pads), and the car is in need of a tune-up, but overall my car runs great.

Tee

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews