1988 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7 liter V6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter V6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Drove it hard

Faults:

The head gasket is leaking, the clutch is going out, and the fuel injectors are leaking. Also the front suspension needs to be replaced along with the front brakes.

The leather is completely worn out and cracked.

General Comments:

I need to fix all the repairs and can only imagine how much it might cost. I like the car otherwise, but the pluses just don't out weigh the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1988 Acura Legend from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A decent car for less

Faults:

Nothing so far except for the brakes and general maintenance.

The leather in the back seat has started to crack.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of get up and it rides smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2001

1988 Acura Legend L 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Good car with less than acceptable repair support

Faults:

Fuel line - Try getting parts fast.

Power steering hose - $200!

Ball joints, drive axles - SQUEAK!

Factory alarm - Tore it out to lighten the load.

Power antennae - Replaced 3 times before me and is still broke.

General Comments:

Car is great when it runs. When it breaks, try getting parts in any reasonable amount of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

27th Jun 2001, 10:11

My 88 4 door auto @ 115k is remarkable for the money... but you are right about access to parts. I have a local dealer who does prompt, suave, and very expensive work. Is there a chatroom about places to get Acura parts, new or used, except from dealers?

cschdo@pol.net

1988 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles

Summary:

A good car for how many miles it has...

Faults:

I found out that the odometer had been rolled back a few times after I had bought it. So when I thought that the car had 142,000, it really had 200 something thousand miles on it. For how many miles are on it, it's been a pretty good car.

In total I've spent 3,000 dollars on repairs. Right now it's running great, doesn't run like it has as many miles as it does. But it's disappointing because if I knew how many miles it really had on it, I wouldn't have bought it. But like I said it now runs great.

General Comments:

I had to replace, basically the whole front end (ball joints etc).

Had to replace all 8 fuel injectors, 6 were leaking fuel.

Had to fix a bad oil leak, and get a new battery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

16th Apr 2001, 13:42

Hi, my name is Greg and I bought a 1988 Acura Legend L from a dealer and I am suspecting it has some serious problems, I was wondering if somebody could provide some advice.

1. The head is leaking oil, which I assume might be a head gasket.

2. The injectors are going out (leaking) and I was wondering how much that might cost to fix.

3. My front suspension is falling apart and I need to replace that as well.

If you have any advice for me please write me at

ghowell2001@home.com

Thanks, Greg.

14th May 2001, 09:48

How could they replace 8 injectors? The Legend is a 6-cylinder car. Plus the injectors don't normally leak, just need a new rubber seal. You got jacked big time.

30th May 2001, 11:56

You bought 8 fuel injectors and its a 6 cylinder car, hmmmm...

1988 Acura Legend STD 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra LS

Summary:

Sporty, luxury, V6 Japanese import for the price of an econo-box

Faults:

Normal maintenance with a higher mileage car. Brakes, plugs, wires.

General Comments:

For an older car with 165K miles, this still has all its marbles and performance. I know 2 other people with this same car, one has 188k miles, and the other has 245K miles, both run nearly new.

I have performance modifications and this car hauls butt. Crisp handling, bullet-proof motor.

Only problem, parts are sometimes expensive.

Timeless styling, still mistaken for a mid 90's car! Reliable, they just won't die!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

10th Jul 2001, 11:58

Hey I just acquired a 1988 Acura Legend AUTOMATIC. I want more performance out of it. What do you recommend.

If you do respond to this comment, my e-mail address is arisera@hotmail.com... Thanks =)

28th Sep 2001, 01:56

Try www.legend.org, they have some good information on mods.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews