1985 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1985 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Custom; reliable, comfortable, powerful, but a gas guzzler

Faults:

Fuel pump was bad when I bought it.

Was smoking before I had the valve cover gasket put on.

New thermostat.

General Comments:

Great car for what I paid. $450 used. We started off on a bad note though because it kept cutting off at the weirdest times. It turned out it was the fuel pump. Once I fixed that have had no real problems. Runs great but just burns so much gas. For a family this car is so roomy and comfortable.

They don't make em like this anymore. Pure metal!! It can TAKE a hit. Someone hit me and their car was totaled and mine only got a broken tail light! LOL. My Bessie has truly been good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 18:23

To the owner of the gas guzzler! Mainly the reason why it drinks to much fuel is that the carburetor needs adjustment.

I own 2 Buick Lesabre's 84 and 85, and these cars get great gas mileage, especially if you have overdrive. I am proud to own these cars and I am in the process of restoring the 85 completely because it is a collectors edition, Oh what fun I am going to have. :O)

1st Dec 2004, 21:55

Had an '84 Buick LeSabre and when it died, looked for another big car. Found an '85 LeSabre Collector's Edition, and jumped at it! Same thing, gas guzzler till I had the carb rebuilt. Now it's better than a lot of the new SUVs out there.

I'd like to do a full restore on it, but it's in very good condition, and really only needs a paint job and VERY little body work (just a front fender that needs a small dent pushed back out. Didn't even crease the paint!)

1985 Buick LeSabre Collectors Edition Limited 455 (7.5 Ltr) Olds V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 455 (7.5 Ltr) Olds V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo SS '87

Summary:

The 307 was nice... but now the 455 Olds in it makes it a road bully

Faults:

Oil burning.

Driver side window slid off its track.

Passenger door wouldn't open from the outside.

General Comments:

This car was surprisingly quick when I got it. The stock Olds 307 5.0 liter had some nice power. I do wish they stock 'em with 350 Olds engines though. With that said I dropped a 455 Olds into it.

Nice sized road bully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 18:31

Well, to start of by saying - bad idea to put in the bigger motor. You just totally destroyed the value of the collectors edition - meaning, it has to be original to be worth something.

These Buick's did indeed have a factory 350 cubic inch motor installed, but it was diesel powered. Not my choice, give me unleaded over this any-day.

1985 Buick LeSabre Limited Sedan 307 V8 (5.0 Liter) from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 307 V8 (5.0 Liter) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

Summary:

Strongly recommend it!!!

Faults:

A/C barely works.

Front suspension bushings.

Fuel tank.

General Comments:

My Grandma died 6 years ago, and the car sat idle until the summer of 1999.

I had to replace the fuel tank because of catching one of my punk-ass neighbors dumping sugar inside.

The V8 has plenty of power, but I wish it had a 350 or 400 or something. It drinks almost as much gas as the other two anyway. I average about 15 or 16 city, and 21 to 22 highway.

I'm surprised how well the car runs, considering how old it is and how long it sat.

The transmission seems kind of goofy, it has an extra "false shift" at about 45 MPH. GM dealers and mechanics say it's normal (something involving the torque convertor), and I guess it's okay since it lowers engine speed even more for highway driving. I've owned many GM cars, this is the first "false shift" instance I've seen or noticed.

The car has below average rust for Northern Wisconsin, and the frame, floors, and body panels are still very solid. I can't believe how reliable and dependable it is! The only repairs are normal maintence like oil and tires. I may fix the A/C next summer (it's almost September already).

It started on the third try after sitting 5 years, and has no trouble starting at temperatures as low as -40, although when it's really cold the car jerks and surges something ferocious. This clears up after 4 or 5 minutes of warm-up. It also has Positration and Buicks' "Gran Touring Suspension". I can notice a bit of the "sportier" difference in ride and handling form my Dad's floaty '87 Caprice.

The seats are the most comfortable I've ever seen. And there's more than enough room for 4 or 5 adults, even 6 if you sacrifice a bit of comfort in front.

One odd feature I like is a flourescent-looking LeSabre Limited script and ring on the right hand instrument panel that lights up at night. I guess it was unique for Buick in the 80's.

The ORIGINAL stereo, an auto-reverse cassette with 5-band equalizer, still blows many modern systems away.

This creampuff was loaded with just about every option for '85, I still believe it's better than many new cars, even by today's standards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

22nd Dec 2000, 10:38

I own a 1985 Buick LeSabre Limited Collectors Edition myself. It is the greatest car ever produced!

9th May 2002, 12:58

I also have an '85 Limited Collector's Edition. I wouldn't trade it for a new 2002 anything even up. It's safe reliable, comfortable and a joy to drive.

28th Sep 2004, 21:08

Wow, you're "lesabre" script lights up? I knew this was an option on Limited trim LeSabres, but all the ones I have seen are crapped out, mine is! The last LeSabre is easily the finest, I love mine to death, even with the script that won't light up!

9th Jun 2005, 09:51

I own an 85 LeSabre Coupe. I agree with you in that they are some the greatest cars GM has ever built. Your start up problem is your choke. My advice is to either have the carburetor rebuilt or replaced. I did that and the car is so much more powerful. Also, be wary of the imtake manifold gasket, they go at about70k or so and leak coolant everywhere. All in all though, I've never had any serious trouble with my LeSabre and I would never want to own any other car.

27th Jul 2005, 12:05

The 'false shift' is the lockup clutch engaging.

16th Dec 2007, 20:07

The 85 LeSabre Limited Collector's Edition is ten times better than the standard version. First of all the trim and options inside are of nicer quality and color scheme. Buick put hand pinstriping (real paint) down the sides of the steel panels, and this car is a tank. Although heavy (3762 lbs empty), the stock Olds 307 rates at 140HP and 265ft-lbs of torque. If you take good care of everything, it should estimate around 18+ mpg city. But you can't launch off the line. Currently I average 20city & 24 highway (65mph). Smooth driving keeps this high, however the AC or quick accelerating greatly reduces this. Also, air shocks (towing style) help raise the rear end a good inch or two and increase handling in tight corners (dry pavement only). I can still break the tires loose on dry pavement in mine, but hold my corners in slick weather. Just watch what you add and this car will remain reliable.

17th Dec 2012, 23:52

I am picking up my new 85 Collectors tomorrow.

56k kilometers, sunroof and pristine.

I am so glad I checked these reviews.

This car will be a gem, I know.

Will post in a bit.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 35 reviews