2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews

2001 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carchevy impala

General Comments:

I have already replaced 3 of the 4 windows on my 2001 LeSabre because of some regulator that fails - it cost me 400-500 per window. The 4th window just went out 3 days ago. I hear this constantly from LeSabre owners. I am sure the company has heard about it by now.

Nobody is taking any action to remedy the problem.

It is very shameful for the company to just let all of these people be burdened with this cost; having to spend large amounts of money for some defective part. Why don't the officials of our cities and states do something about it? Why are consumer groups and government entities not getting involved?

When will they get involved? What do we need to do to get them to move, because I am positive the company is not going to do a recall without pressure from government officials. I think I am wasting my time and breath. Others have tried to no avail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2010

14th Jul 2010, 16:43

Why don't you do something about it yourself? There are after market regulators that you could possibly replace yourself available online at a fraction of the cost of the OEM part.

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Too many known problems to recommend it to anyone

Faults:

I bought my LeSabre used from a Buick dealer about 2 1/2 years ago. I had wanted a later model, but this one had very low mileage and was in excellent shape.

One thing that has not happened yet is the window regulator failure, although one window has gotten stuck on the way up, and had to be manually coaxed into the "up" position. I assume that replacing the regulators is inevitable at some time.

I discovered the coolant leak problem after needing to refill the overflow tank every 3 months or so. I spent $700 to have it repaired since I was concerned that the coolant was leaking into the engine.

This week the engine failed on a return trip from Florida. It made a really nasty metal-to-metal hammering noise, but I was able to get it to the Buick dealer. They called later in the day to tell me that they found that the oil filter was full of metal shavings and pieces, and that the engine could not be repaired.

I now assume that coolant did get into the engine, and caused some sort of damage that led to this failure.

I'm going to try to get Buick to help with the $3000+ engine replacement (for a "used" one), but I don't hold out much hope.

Like the others, no more GM products for me.

General Comments:

I really liked the quiet, smooth ride and the great gas mileage, especially on the highway. The interior is very comfortable and well laid-out.

Too bad Buick skimped on the window regulators and the coolant system. Also too bad that I got the "one" bad 3.8 L V-6 that had ever been produced!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2010

30th Aug 2011, 19:39

I inherited my 2001 Buick Lesabre. I have had to replace two window regulators since I've had it for about a year and a half. The total repair cost for these two windows was almost $1000. The repairman said the other two will probably go bad shortly, too. He said he has replaced three or four on the same car many times.

It's just ridiculous that a part like this would break so often. The window regulator is a part that should almost, almost always last the life of the car, because it should not be a "high stress" part. if all four go bad, it's about $2000 added to the price of the car. COME ON GM, FESS US AND FIX THESE REGULATORS AT YOUR EXPENSE!!! YOU CAUSED IT BECAUSE OF POOR ENGINEERING!!!

31st Aug 2011, 18:04

You inherited this car. So in other words you paid $1000 for a nice Buick that probably has a lot of life left in it. What do you expect, a free car that is maintenance free as well?? If you don't want to pay for things that break on your car, buy a brand new one and you'll have a warranty. If you ask me, you got a pretty good deal.

1st Sep 2011, 16:28

Also, learn a little about your car. These parts are readily available online, and at auto parts stores across the country at a fraction of what GM will bill you. They are also something somebody with any mechanical abilities could install themselves. If you keep paying the Buick dealer $500 for a known defect that may well fail again, well I don't feel sorry for you.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews