2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 8 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired59150 miles
Most recent distance59368 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Overall great car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car really, although service records indicate repairs being done recently on the intake manifold, although I hear that is common. Previous owner had records of repairs and window regulators are fine so far, so I hope I lucked out.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, roomy, and luxurious. It handles bumps well, and handles well for it's size, although the rear window does have a bit of a blind spot. Driving this car on the highway is a real treat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2007

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Severe window problems

Faults:

Both Rear windows fell in the down position. Had to tape them up and later, I wedged them shut!

Drivers window motor failed. Had to replace it.

I'm on my third battery which is costly and difficult to get to because it us under the rear seat!

General Comments:

Nice running car, but afraid to use the windows!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2006

17th Jan 2007, 12:41

Agree with the window problem. We have replaced both rear and one front window. Each replacement cost over $300 at my local dealer.

19th Jan 2009, 09:59

I agree. My family has had many Buicks for years and the power window problems seems to be around year 2000 models and up. Our 1990 and 1991 Buicks don't have this problem.

They just used cheap plastic parts in critical stress areas and over time it fails. I have replaced all 4 window regulators (that is name for the window motor and pulley system as a combined unit) in our 2001 LeSabre. It costs around $65.00 per window regulator and its not that hard to do.

Make sure you order the part specifically for that model, year and window, they are NOT interchangeable.

I also hear Pontiacs have similar window issues too.

As for the battery, our 2001 battery lasted 7 years but they hide it under the backseat so I guess that helps it last a long time.

18th May 2010, 13:50

I have replaced all 4 window regulators on 2001 LeSabre! Jack's Auto in Philly says he keeps them in stock because Buick made faulty regulators. I have replaced wheel bearings twice. The transmission went bad 3 and a half years into my loan. Of course it was out of warranty and cost me $2600! I bought this car "Certified Used". Certified piece of s---!

2001 Buick LeSabre Lasabre lmt V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

I am not happy with the mechanics of the car

Faults:

Heated seat on driver side does not work.

Just had the back window fixed on driver's side - went down would not go up.

General Comments:

I have owned Buick's in the past and the best one was a 1986 Century. The second one was a 1991 Buick Lesabre and had all kinds of trouble with it including the air conditioner.

Now the one I own now is a LeSabre and had the power window fixed and the heated seat does not work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2006

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Favorable

Faults:

The rear window ceased to function. It would go down, but the motor would not then raise it. I had my GM dealer look at it during a service call only to determine that the motor and track (as a unit) would have to be replaced. This replacement ran "over" $500. Feeling this was exhorbitant I elected to have the dealer "fix" the window in the closed position. I have a friend who had "two" windows go in the same fashion. Should this problem constitute a recall on the part of GM?

General Comments:

Generally, I have always felt this was one of the best quality cars made in this country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2006

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance52300 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

A luxury car with serious design faults

Faults:

Both rear electric windows have failed. I put them down for outside air and was not able to get them up again. The failures occurred within 5 weeks of each other. Both were due to the lift cable end pulling out of a cheap plastic casting, but the replacement is a $400 dollar problem (each window). I must conclude that this is an engineering/manufacturing problem. I bought the car on the basis of performance of 2 previous Buicks.

I contacted Buick after the second window failure, and they were very sympathetic to my problem, they just won't do anything about it. I have owned 3 Buicks. The first 2 gave excellent service, but

I don't think I'll buy another. It's painfully obvious why GM is having such problems keeping customers.

What a shame. I have always advised my kids to buy American. Now I won't do that again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 09:29

Don't let the slipshod design discourage you, just switch automakers. American cars are the way to go. I own a 1992 Buick LeSabre with 242,000 miles, and there's not a thing wrong with it right now (there has been in the past, but I like my car too much to give up on it... but that's just me). But if you don't like GM, try switching brands. Try out Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Dodge, Chrysler, Plymouth, etc.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews