2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 4 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Reliable except for defective pwr windows

Faults:

Like many others my 2001 Le Sabre Custom has four defective power windows. I had never used the back windows but the first time it popped and the window fell down. I replaced it with parts from 1AAuto in Maine using detailed instructions I found on line. Now the driver side has failed so I'll repeat this process. Eventually I'll have to replace all four window regulators. It would cost well over $500 a window for the dealer to do this. GM won't warranty these defective windows. This is my fourth and LAST Buick. From now on it is a Korean car made in the USA with a 10 year warranty. They are currently the best bargain available and the quality far exceeds Ford, GM, or Chrysler. Japanese cars are great too but more expensive.

General Comments:

Otherwise this is a reliable, economical (29 mpg) car with loads of comfort, room, and convenience features. Too bad the defective power window regulators ruin the value of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2008

31st Mar 2008, 14:02

From a Buick to a Kia? Wow, I would take defective power windows over a spartan Kia any day. To each their own.

19th Sep 2008, 02:49

I think the reviewer may have been referring to the Hyundai Sonata, which is now made in the U.S.

9th Aug 2010, 16:49

If you buy non AC Delco brand window regulators online, it should cost $40-50 per unit rather than the $200+ for the AC Delco part that won't last as long.

You can also find instructions on how to install them online.

Other than crappy windows, these cars run until they rust out.

Good luck with Hyundai; they do have a good warranty on paper, but their transmissions blow every 30,000 miles or less consistently, and they have a copay, and service is crappy and often takes a few months to repair your transmission -- and they won't even give you a loaner until after the first month!

There's a reason you don't find any high mileage Hyundais for sale anywhere in the US.

12th Oct 2012, 16:51

It seems that the Big Three would have learned by now, after having their asses handed to them by Japanese auto manufacturers. Tell me again why we bailed them out? Seems we should just let them go under.

13th Oct 2012, 12:35

Unless you are living under a rock, you would clearly see and hear that the japanese auto makers aren't doing so hot these days.

2001 Buick LeSabre custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Low quality for price and poor support from GM

Faults:

Water leak at throttle chamber at 42000 miles, lost transmission at 67000 miles, replaced engine at 97000 miles, left rear door lock does not function, large panel above dash has pulled out from trim at the front window on drivers side, window motor unit replaced on left rear door, intake chamber replaced at 96990 miles. Was going to purchase new Buick but doubt it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Buick is no longer making quality automobliles.

Faults:

Window regulator failure at 30k miles on Left rear window. Add me to the list of customers that think this should be recalled by GM. They have not even fixed the replacement part so that it will not break as fast as the original.

Power steering fluid requires constant refills - no leak detected.

Air Conditioning compressor clutch is noisy and requires lubrication - wd40 - replacement estimate $1000.00 from dealer.

Volume control switch on steering wheel requires a replacement light bulb. Only solution suggested by the Buick Dealer is to replace the entire switch. Price for replacement switch is $48.00 for the part alone.

It seems to me the way GM is making extra money is by requiring an entire unit or module to be replaced rather than fixing a broken part with a replacement part. They are forcing the consumer to buy replacement units at a much higher price.

General Comments:

I have always liked the ride and handling of a Buick Le Sabre. They are fairly quiet and smooth on the highway and I have found them very comfortable. The quality issues are causing me to rethink being a Buick owner in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2008

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews