2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 11 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre k 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

I thought they were better cars for the money

Faults:

GM replaced power steering hose at 37000 miles.

GM replaced LH front hub at 50000 miles.

I replaced LH rear window regulator at 47000 miles.

I replaced RH front hub at 87000 miles.

I replaced RH rear window regulator at 92000 miles.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Buick. It is going in the shop for a new headlamp dimmer switch & throttle position sensor tomorrow. My wifes car's rear windows were never rolled down. Yet they quit working the one time I rolled them down. The front hubs cost a lot to replace & GM will not warranty them. According to my mechanic Buicks are hard on the following parts; WINDOW REGULATORS & FRONT HUBS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

15th May 2005, 11:05

I replaced the front right wheel bearing assembly before my 2001 LeSabre had 60,000 miles on it. A week later I'm replacing the passenger side window regulator. Can't someone at Buick do something to reimburse us for this cost?

6th Jun 2005, 20:15

I recently purchased a 2000 Buick Lesabre. The front passenger window regulator and both rear regulators appear to be defective. Has anyone gotten any relief from GM? I am a first time Buick owner.

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance39067 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

I doubt I will buy another Buick

Faults:

Window regulator in left rear door failed at 36,799 miles.

Transmission failed at 39,067 miles, the planetary gears were welded according to dealer service department.

General Comments:

I bought the automobile based on my good service results from the previous Buick Century I had. The ride is good, but the problems I have had so far are not up to the standards I thought were Buick's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

7th Oct 2004, 09:20

I too had a problem with the rear windows. 2001 Custom model cost around $400 to fix each one! Buick should step up and rebate this problem.

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

I will not ever buy another Buick

Faults:

I bought the Le Sabre becuase of Buick's reputation for quality. For those who swear by the LeS abre...I've got one I'll sell ya!

Service engine light constantly comes on for an 'exhaust leak' that the dealer cannot find. I've had to replace all 4..yes all 4..window motors as they have went out at various times. Oddly, the back windows which I hardly ever use went out first. Car leaks with any amount of rain but leak cannot be found. Carpets get soaked.

Buick? Never again for me. If you find yourself near a Buick dealership...run, don't walk!

General Comments:

The car rides smooth which is the only positive thing I can say about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

20th Feb 2005, 16:47

I'm currently having problems with my 2001 LeSabre not starting. These cars begin to self destruct at 60,000 miles. I also will not own another Buick.

17th Mar 2005, 20:52

1994 Buick LeSaber

I love my Buick, but I keep having trouble with the Headlights. When they are turned on they will not go off.

I have to disconnect the battery cable to turn them off. I put it in the shop, but they could not find a problem. I have replaced the switch, two relays and still haven't solved the problem. I still would buy another Buick, but not this year of LeSaber. If anyone had similar problems or has suggestions to help me solve this problem send it to my E-mail hopefulpdh@yahoo.com.

23rd Mar 2006, 14:53

You are so right about them self destructing at 60,000. I am a mother of 3 young children and this car is costing me so much in maintenance I want to cry thinking about it. In fact it is in the shop right now getting the windshield wiper motor replaced at a cost of $246.43. The back window cable is also broke- this will cost at least another 300- I still don't know the cost of labor. Good luck with your Buick... piece of junk...

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A window-problem-ridden nice car

Faults:

Last year a friend was in the car and slammed the rear door a bit on the hard side. The wouldn't raise up when she lowered it. Took it in and the dealer said that the regulator was thrashed because of her slamming it. Fast forward to today... no one has slammed anything and yet another window will not raise up. Obvious manufacture defect which should be corrected. I've sent comments to Buick via the website... havnt heard anything as of yet...

Ugh.

General Comments:

Handles well... very responsive.

Transmission is a bit sluggish... could just be time for some service.

Comfy ride overall. Good commuter car, except for the windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

6th Dec 2004, 10:12

Same problem. Rarely used the rear windows and both the motors have gone out. $420 each to replace with labor.

16th Dec 2004, 09:32

I have a 2001 Buick LeSabre. Three of the four windows are now non-functional (BROKE).None of the doors, to my knowledge, have ever been slammed. The previous owner and I have no children that have ever used the back seat windows. My wife has used her window maybe once a week. It certainly isn't due to over-use.

Have you received any satisfaction?

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 Series II from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

I like the vehicle

Faults:

Upper (intake) plastic plenum failure on the 3800 Series II engine.

General Comments:

This seems to be a common, or at least a recurring problem. In this instance it will be $800 to replace the plenum, gasket, plugs, oil, labor and miscellaneous, and does not include any cost of further engine damage from coolant leaking into the cylinders. It should be a recall item considering it appears to happen frequently on this GM engine, and the cost should be borne by GM. I do not understand why any manufacturer would make such a component, subjected to extreme engine heat, from plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 12:53

Regarding the Buick Plenum's,

I bought a 2002 with 20,000 miles. Within a couple of months, I smelled antifreeze. The mechanic originally thought it was the water pump. He soon noticed antifreeze coming from the plenum. To replace it, $475. because it had not dripped into the engine. He was told by the dealer that they had replaced over 40.Buick should repay the damages.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews