2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMazda B2300

Summary:

Nice car; horrible windows

Faults:

I have only had this Buick for 14 months, and have three of the four window regulators break. From reading all of the responses, this seems to be a very common problem. Doesn't GM understand that they are going to lose by far more money in the long run by not doing a recall?

It has made me where I want to sell this car and go buy foreign made cars only! What ever happened with made in AMERICA these days?

General Comments:

Nice car most the time, runs a little sluggish. But the WINDOW PROBLEMS take away from the nice things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

19th Jul 2006, 13:23

My friend owns a 2001 Buick Le Sabre, and he is going through the same thing. He told me the window motors cost around 400 dollars. That is horrible. I believe you summed it up, that it is a good car except for the windows.

23rd Jul 2006, 20:51

I was considering buying a 2001 Le Sabre that has a problem with the right rear window. Now that I see so many cars with comments on costly problems of this nature, I won't buy it. In addition, the service records on the car I've been considering indicate replacement of the tie rod ends and the hubs which seems to be another common problem.

2001 Buick LeSabre limited 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Where is the quality?

Faults:

Transmission failure at 60000.

Heated seat stopped working at 50000.

Have an ongoing electrical problem which keeps blowing out interior lights.

3 of the window regulators have been replaced.

General Comments:

For the money this car cost to purchase, it is a colossal piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Comfortable, good mpg, too expensive to repair

Faults:

This car has had two window regulators go out. There is a cable that runs the movement of the track, which breaks and lets the window drop down. This leaves the owner forced to deal with the problem. This is not an isolated problem, there are many other owners with multiple window regulator out on their cars. Buick will not deal with the problem. It is approximately $500 dollars per window to fix. There are also foam blocks inside the door that squeak.

General Comments:

This Buick model is set up for performance and will shift above 5000 rpm when accelerating fast. The ride is not as smooth as the earlier model years. The trunk tie down points tend to break and are expensive to replace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

2001 Buick LeSabre custom 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Most trouble I've ever had with a car

Faults:

Tie rods went bad @24000 miles. Original tires went bad @ about 28000miles, Buick replaced the tires and at about 52000 miles the left rear tire flew apart will we were traveling at about 55MPH! causing a lot of damage. 3 out of the 4 windows broke and even though we had purchased an extended warranty Buick would only repair one of them. The car has about 96000 miles on it, I have kept up with oil changes I just added 2 quarts of oil after 1800 miles. Also I constantly add coolant and power steering fluid.

General Comments:

General Motors Junk! I'm sorry I ever purchased this car. I would say its the worst car we've ever owned. Looking forward to getting rid of it soon. I would never buy another GM car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Good, but expensive

Faults:

Passenger rear window regulator went out on my 2001 LeSabre Custom at 89,000 miles. Never had this problem with any of my previous vehicles (7). I was surprised when the dealer told me that it would cost $400 to repair. Of course my extended warranty expired 2 months ago. The dealer said that they are replacing 3-4 regulators per week. They had another customer in just before me with the same problem on a 2002 LeSabre. If my dealer is replacing that many, then there must be thousands being replaced weekly. This should raise some red flags at Buick as a design flaw. Or maybe it is just at real good income source.

I just wish I could do the repair work myself. I could have saved the $110 labor charge. Also my dealer made over $100 profit on the part based on the cost on gmpartsdirect.com, GM’s own parts website.

General Comments:

Overall the car is a good car, but when something goes wrong, it is expensive to repair. This will cause me to look twice before purchasing another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

24th Jul 2009, 18:44

I purchased my 2002 LeSabre Custom in April 2008 as a used car.

My front right window regulator went out in June 2009, and then almost three weeks later the back left side passenger window regulator went out. My car mechanic states that this is a known problem with this model year, and that my other two windows will soon follow this trend.

I contacted GM/Buick, and GM/Buick seems to think that this part is fine the way it was manufactured, and stated that they have had no customer complaints thus far. Therefore anyone going through this situation is on their own if they have no warranty cover. This part is very expensive to replace. I have had my two windows fixed to stay up until I can get the money together to fix all the windows, which will amount to over $1600. No wonder this car company has had the problems they do. Produce an inferior product and sell it. Customers will stop buying!!

No more GMs for me!

Raleigh, NC

26th Jul 2009, 12:57

These window regulators can be purchased cheaply on the internet. If you can replace them yourself you could do it for about $200. Why fix the two that haven't broken?

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews