2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 3 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre 3.8L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles

Summary:

Very well made automobile

Faults:

Transmission shifts well, but when it shifts into OD at about 50mph, it sounds like a bearing is scrubbing or a sound similar to when a waterpump is going out. Shift back to 3rd gear and all is quiet. Moving in reverse, I can hear the same sound. It is getting louder.

General Comments:

Other that this problem, I have been well please with auto. It drives and handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2008

22nd Nov 2008, 11:18

One of the best cars GM Ever made. Too bad they decided to revamp Buick and drop a name plate they've had since the 60's for a different car (LuCerne).

2001 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Good car, and very economical for a car of that size

Faults:

Replaced rear window regulator two years ago and the same thing happened again yesterday. Rather than spend another 400.00 on replacement of regulator, I took the whole assembly out and raised the window to the closed position, and put shims and clamps in the window track to hold it closed. Evidently the regulator is poorly designed, as this is common for that model.

General Comments:

Other than the window problem, the car is very satisfactory in all other aspects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2008

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Possessed by evil spirits

Faults:

I had previously owned several Buicks and was excited to buy a newer version. I expected the same Buick quality and dependability I was used to. What I found is where the guy who designed the Pinto found work.

The electrical system on this car is I believe possessed by evil spirits, as no manner of repairs or dead chickens will keep all systems on at the same time. My radio lights switch on and off depending on weather and road conditions.

Don't get me started on the power windows; the motors are easy to change, but be prepared you will need to replace all of the door clips to firmly attach your door, they run 5 bucks a piece and theres over ten. Also trying to find aftermarkets that fit are a joke. I have resorted to hidden drywall screws.

Interior finish is horrid; I have the leather interior and live in fear of my seat heaters shorting out and starting me on fire.

On to the engine; it's the 3.8, a dang good engine, they can't screw that up right? Wrong, Buick changed the intake manifold to plastic, and in the high temp area it's in, guess what, plastic melts!!! You then leak massive amounts of coolant, the car dies and your mechanic smiles.

The parts are expensive.

The ignition system was designed by a drunken monkey, and is my latest headache. Oh and that brings up you can look forward to ease of access to your fuses one box under the hood, and one under the rear seat with the battery.

I have spent an equal amount of repair money with this car as I have paid for it, and that was close to $9000.

General Comments:

Poor design. If you like auto repair bills, and being stranded by the road this car is for you. You will be rewarded with a lackluster interior and performance that wouldn't make my 80 year old grandfather grin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

3rd Jun 2008, 18:19

Your title made me think of my Buick, which once started itself in my garage. My car is extremely reliable however, and I will trade it for another Buick. Most of the Buick owners I know seem to share my sentiments as opposed to yours. I guess you got a lemon, which don't seem to be terribly uncommon with the early models of the last generation LeSabre. It's a shame, since they were so popular.

5th Sep 2008, 16:14

My Buick is also possessed by evil spirits. 2001 LeSabre - first it wouldn't start and the battery power was fine because the lights worked, and there was no sound when I tried to start the car. So I took it to a shop $550 for new starter and battery - it started but the electrical everything started going haywire. My gas gage goes to nothing, the coolant temp goes to nothing, then that will go back on to normal and the security light will come on then go off, then the seat belt light as I'm wearing the seat belt - the radio is on then off then on... and sometimes the car just won't start. And my door hinges are also broken... yeah I agree with you.

23rd Oct 2008, 18:36

I have a 2001 Buick LaSabre. I have had to replace the same power window motor twice in 3 years. The dashboard has cracked and buckled and is separated from the windshield. The cruise control stopped functioning about 2 years ago.

I am looking for a new car, but will look to Toyota or Honda for a good quality car.( NOT A GENERAL MOTORS CAR)

4th Sep 2010, 15:20

Only 23 months ownership of used vehicle and though nearly 90,000 miles, have replaced 3 of the 4 window regulators, and wonder how many previous owner replaced before I got this lemon??? Retail over $1200 expense for a window regulator replacement alone. Now the driver's seat heat malfunctions to stay on.. Try that for putting Buick on the hot seat for not recognizing this for a RECALL!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews