2001 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 2 of 11

2001 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carChrysler Fifth Avenue

Summary:

This is a very poor quality thirty thousand dollar automobile

Faults:

The transmission was rebuilt under warranty at 15,000 miles, and then had to be replaced at 70,000 miles.

Many of the dash lights (heater, half of the speedometer) have been out for four or five years.

The heated seat element on the passengers side was replaced under warranty, but now the one on the drivers side is out.

The cruise control switch was replaced at 50,000 miles.

The third window regulator just went out. I've replaced the two on the passenger side, and now the rear on the driver's side is out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2009

2001 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired96 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Fairly good car, but poor window performance

Faults:

2001 Buick, purchased new. Both rear window regulators were faulty. One cost me $600 to have a GM dealer repair it, and the other cost me $200, only because a friend fixed it for me for at his cost.

The first window, passenger side rear was when the car had about 32,000 miles on it, and the other back window failed at 35,000 miles. I rarely even used those back windows, and I almost never have a back seat passenger, so it was not due to use or abuse. The window made a gritty sound when I tried to close it, and then just failed after a few feeble attempts to rise.

This is maddening and expensive. Buick/GM ought to stand behind a car that cost me over $28,000. Since LeSabres are no longer made, I suppose they will blow us off since we are not future buyers of LeSabres.

Well, guess what... I won't be a future buyer of ANY Buick after this fiasco. It makes me cringe to even use the front windows now since they may follow suit at any given moment.

General Comments:

I am generally pleased with the car other than the faulty window regulators.

Ask me again once I hit 38,000 miles. I may have another opinion then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2009

4th Sep 2009, 07:20

You're not the only one to have problems with the windows. I had to replace all 4 before it was all over with. GM knew the windows were junk from 99 models up, and would do nothing to correct the problem.

4th Sep 2009, 09:38

Those rear window regulators seem to be a chronic problem on most GM cars in the 2001 model year. I have a 2001 Olds Aurora, and I found out about them very fast. That's why I never open the rear windows.

6th Sep 2009, 15:26

Does anybody know for a fact that GM changed the window regulators used in later models of the LeSabre? You don't hardly see any complaints of newer LeSabres ('03-'05) with this problem. My aunt has an '03 with about 50,000 and the last time I asked them, they had not had any problems with the windows. I am considering trading my Park Avenue for a late model LeSabre but I don't want to deal with the hassle of defective windows.

9th Aug 2010, 16:45

I had a 2000 and my girlfriend is still driving it with some ungodly amount of miles on it. All the windows stopped working, but we aren't going to fix them because there's some serious rust spots forming on the frame, so it's new car time soon.

All that's ever been done to the car was infrequent oil changes, brakes, rotors and tires. And a few light fixtures were replaced as a result of getting hit, vandalism, some idiot mechanics, but none of that was Buick/GM's fault.

If the car was in better shape, we can buy regulators on the Internet for $40-50 that last longer than the original AC Delco ones.

2001 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Window motors suck on these vehicles

Faults:

I am now replacing my 3rd window motor.

I would like to have information on replacing the front passenger side window motor.

General Comments:

I have talked to the local dealer and they advised that it is not a manufacturer's problem, and I feel that there should be a recall on these. It has cost $500.00 for each of the rear window motors to be replaced, and now the front passenger one has broken. Also the door panel on the drivers door is now breaking on the bracket holding it in place.

I really like the car, but I am getting tired of replacing the regulators for the windows, and feel that as owners we should be reimbursed for these by GM.

I have now owned 2 Buick's, and I like the ride and performance, but this is getting old having to spend that kind of money every year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2009

25th May 2009, 10:30

GM may very well file bankruptcy. To think they may recall power window regulators is unlikely. This issue has noting to do with safety, thus GM wouldn't recall even if they could afford to do so. I will agree that mishandling quality issues like this are largely to blame for the reason that GM is in the financial situation it is in.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 39 reviews