1992 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1992 Buick Roadmaster 4 door sedan 350 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40600 miles
Most recent distance47800 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

Car likes to stay in the garage looking pretty, lots of power and room

Faults:

Had to replace radiator, with a larger one, since I live in Phoenix, Az, car was running hot, I purchased the car on eBay, it was a Ohio, car. last summer had to replace something in the driver side door,it has a power down window, the window went down and came up, not straight.

General Comments:

This car seems to have a mind of its own, every now and then, for no reason at all, the check engine soon light, will come on. I was in San Diego, CA. two weeks ago, and on the way back to AZ. near Palm Desert, the light came on three times. when I turn the engine off, the light goes out. seems like this happens when it is warm out, It has not come on since, I have taken it to several repair shops, they can't find anything wrong with it. One shop pulled the computer out, checked it, and said it was good. Car runs great otherwise. Anyone have an idea about this light thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2007

21st Jan 2007, 20:03

Probably a failing sensor if no one can find any problems. I had a short developing in mine, causing it to flicker now and then.

21st Jan 2007, 21:32

Gas cap not properly tightened is a common phantom code. It's supposed to click at least 3 times. If in doubt get a new one. $10.

23rd Jan 2007, 21:06

Check out buickforums.com. You'll find lots of help there.

5th Jun 2007, 00:42

Today, after 10 months, I finally found out what the problem was, turns out, that it was the electronic control module, #77-6965, the computer, total cost $292.00.

1992 Buick Roadmaster from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance500000 miles
Previous carBuick Roadmaster

Faults:

This car I am talking about is tip top and bad to the bone. At 500,000!!! miles it is running like a die less machine never gives up and is a car to have. It is much more better than them new cars I mean what happen to the good old cars I say trash the new cars and get you a ROAD-MASTER.

General Comments:

People you need to forget about them new cars and get you a ROAD-MASTER cause to me it looks so bold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

17th Mar 2006, 18:34

I've owned at least 10 cars and trucks during my life and nothing compares with the Roadmaster. I have a '92 and it is just the ultimate machine. GM made their return in a huge way and built this car. I own a truck for winter driving, but this is the greatest car. From the power to the gearing, it was built to last. It is unfortunate that Buick took two steps back and discontinued it. Originally I wanted to upgrade to the '94 up, but after reading reviews I feel that these years were the most simplified and reliable.

19th Aug 2006, 06:52

A while back our minivan was totalled and could not be replaced.

In early June of 2006 my father told me about a '92 Road Master that was for sale from a friend of the family. He wanted 1000 dollars for it. It had 150,000 miles on it. It drives VERY nicely for an older car. The A/C does not work, but I'm going to get that checked to find out why. The gas gauge seems to work, but empty is somewhere around 1/4 tank, and when I fill it, the needle goes way past the FULL line. But some wear and tear is to be expected for a car with so many miles.

As for the ride, it does ride great. Really a smooth ride. And the gas mileage seems good. I don't know exactly what mileage I'm getting, but for a big 'ol V8, it is good mileage. The paint wore well, and even still has some shine to it.

It's funny when I get gas... I must be one of the very few at the station with the gas fill cap under the license plate.

I must say, even though it's an old car, it feels good knowing that all that power is under the hood. When these fancy new cars pull up along side, even though I'm not racing, it is impressive with normal acceleration, to be a block ahead of the other cars when they are just leaving the intersection. And, this is a very comfortable car!!

Fully loaded, power seats, cruise and so forth. I may even keep it for a while.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 34 reviews