1992 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1992 Buick Roadmaster 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired425000 kilometres
Most recent distance490000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A big, comfortable car with performance

Faults:

Have to replace the #8 spark plug every 15000 KM.

Fuel pump died 430,000 KM.

Washer fluid system broke down 450,000.

Power trunk latch died.

General Comments:

My father-in-law gave us this car when he upgraded to a mini-van. At 425,000 KM it was actually lower mileage than our existing car.

The Roadmaster is a very comfortable car. It's just like driving your living-room set around town.

Important tip: Put only high-grade gas in the roadmaster. If it's costs you 15% extra per litre, that's okay. You'll get 25% more mileage on a tank.

Getting on the highways is great with the 5.7 litre engine. I laugh when I'm at traffic lights and some kid pulls around me into the next lane, figuring I'll be a slow startup. That's when I give 'er for all she's got and smoke their little rice-burners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

10th Jan 2009, 19:31

What did you do to fix the trunk? Mine died and then it went closed again later, now it didn't close again.? Help. I have a 1992 Buick Roadmaster. sgbshop39@aol.com.

1992 Buick Roadmaster Limited 8 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

American comfort and power well done

Faults:

The air conditioning electronics have been a problem, the air conditioning quit working at one point, but restarted once a fuse was pulled and put back resetting the system.

The fit and finish is of a lower quality than on similar foreign cars.

General Comments:

The car is powerful and cushy, and provides a great ride.

Despite the large engine, it does not drive like a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

1992 Buick Roadmaster from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48500 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Super quick away from a stop sign, and fun to drive

Faults:

So far I glued the rubber strip on the left rear fender with water proof liquid nail; works great. I have also rebuilt front brakes.

This car is a dream to drive, and I do get 28 MPG on the highway. My 88 Park Avenue only gets 30 MPG with the 3.8 liter engine.

I did find that my Park Avenue has more leg room for driver (I'm 6' 2").

I only paid $5200 for my Roadmaster, and you just can't believe how cherry it is, it was always kept in a garage, by docs.

Found in the glove box, that the owner had only put on about 8000 miles since 1999.

We plan on taking a trip east in September to Attend the reunion of the USS Okanogan in Chicago, and I can't wait to put that Roadmaster on the road.

General Comments:

Just a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

1992 Buick Roadmaster Limited 5.7 V8 from Saudi Arabia

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance12500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The best luxury sedan with a powerful engine.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best cars of GM.

The 5.7 Liter engine is fantastic.

Can't drive it slow, It's only 180-hp, but the 5.7 liter 180-hp is much more quick then a Mercury Grand Marquis 1997.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

1992 Buick Roadmaster Limited 350 Chevrolet from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Chevrolet Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

Lazy Boy on wheels

Faults:

A leak developed in the air conditioner's freon line and I have yet to fix it.

Also, I've had to replace the front brake shoes and turn the rotors due to corrosion and wear.

The side trim pieces keep coming loose and have been re-glued once. I'm considering just leaving it off.

General Comments:

Though this car possesses titanic-like proportions, it has more pickup than a lot of people give it credit for. I've found myself unintentionally spinning the tires on dry pavement pulling out into traffic. Also, I'm very impressed with the comfort and room in the interior of the car and its gas consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

1992 Buick Roadmaster 4 door sedan V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

The best vehicle I've ever had the pleasure of owing!

Faults:

The only problem I've run into with this car is the side molding keeps falling off.

No other maintenance problems other than routine.

General Comments:

The interior is spacious and very comfortable.

The car handles like a dream.

The car just glides down the road in superior comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

1992 Buick Roadmaster Base 5.7 350 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 350 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Rock Solid machine

Faults:

Fuel Pump at 195,000 miles. Expensive to fix due to GM's huge markup on parts for the 350 engine.

Anti-lock brake light is on. Dealership told me that the brake system was fine and that it would function as if anti-lock brakes were never installed. Even the newer Roadmaster's I've test-driven have this same problem. It's not worth the estimated $2000 to mess with repairing.

General Comments:

I love this car. I only wish GM would continue to make such a thing. The rear wheel drive is great, as is having a frame-built car rather than a unibody.

The power is plenty, yet still somewhat disappointing considering the size of the engine and the amount of fuel it burns. The high torque makes towing a breeze, though I would much recommend trailer brakes on anything you'd pull that has any weight to it. The car is heavy enough for the car's brakes to try to stop without the trailer.

My next vehicle will be a full size van, but if Roadmasters were still in production I wouldn't consider owning anything else. A van is the only thing left on the road that under $30,000 that meets my towing and 6+ passenger needs.

The car got buried in falling trees during an ice storm this winter. From the dramatic fall of the big limbs I was sure the car would be destroyed (the cars body nearly touched the ground when these things hit). The only damage it suffered was a slight dent in the rear-quarter panel. If I'm ever in an accident, I hope I'm still driving this car.

This car is the ultimate highway machine.

Hey GM, bring back these beasts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 34 reviews