2005 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Equinox V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

The repairs to this car will hurt your pockets!!!

Faults:

Interior is poorly made - buttons are wearing and seats will not stay clean.

I've had to replace front and rear brake pads and rotors.

Driver's side window regulator replaced.

Just got my front sway bar replaced, plus front brakes and rotors.

My steering wheel is loose and rattles when I'm driving 60-80 mph.

When I hit a bump, something rattles and sounds like something is about to fall off.

When I'm parked on a hill and use the emergency brake, it makes some weird noise in the rear brakes.

This car is a total piece of junk, and has been a headache the whole entire time. The only good thing about it is the AWD in the snow. I would never ever recommend this car to anyone!!! Buyer beware!!! Get a Honda...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2011

2nd Oct 2011, 21:09

Brakes and rotors need to be replaced with any vehicle. This shouldn't be listed as a fault.

9th Feb 2014, 10:49

I too have a piece of GMC s**t. Same problems as everyone else. What a pile.

Is there no recourse on suing GMC for a s**t product?

11th Feb 2014, 10:07

The emergency brake issue is probably because the vehicle isn't completely stopped before applying the brake. It makes that loud screeching noise whenever someone drives and forgets to disengage the emergency brake, too.

The seats are bound to get dirty after jumping in there after camping and fly fishing. I'd just put some towels and sheets on them before getting in dirty.

Shocks and struts always give a bit of a boingy noise when going over bumps or off road in the snow like you said. I wouldn't worry about that.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox LT 3.6 liter V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.6 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Save your money and don't buy it

Faults:

Head gasket with less than 30,000 miles.

Gears starting to stick at 55mph with 63,000 miles.

Power/cig lighter blown.

Starting issues, spark plug wires $130+, no help.

Tires < 25000 miles had to be replaced.

Radio broke, paint pealed knobs and interior.

Leather starting to crack on sides of seat from my 180 lbs.

Gas guzzler.

Sunroof jams.

No heated mirrors.

Squeak during turning.

Poor turning radius.

Struts+ strut mounts bleeding.

Breaks go fast.

Poor tires, replaced with even worse ones unfortunately at $750+

Radiator hose was only recall from dealer.

Door jam squeaky.

Windows slow to roll + squeak.

Seat warmer broke.

Some leak on floor, leaving a white residue.

OnStar equipment outdated. Needs to be updated for free, but at a cost of $30 go figure.

GM might be the worst car I have purchased. First new car, and had more problems than with used

Honda Civic with 225,000 miles. Blew a head gasket.

Nissan Altima 100,000+ miles, replaced alternator.

3 year, 36,000 mile warranty did nothing. For $30000 I got a piece of crap. I thought I'd buy American and get good quality but was mistaken.

Wish I never bought the Equinox, figured it would be like a Blazer and last a long time; the whole car should be recalled.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, but I expect a lot more than I got for $30000. And 3 years later they come out with a hybrid version, thanks for adding insult to injury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2011

2005 Chevrolet Equinox LS 3.4L NA Gas from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.4L NA Gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Heater stopped working.

General Comments:

The car has been reliable, but the no heat issue is so hard for anyone to diagnose that it is virtually impossible to fix. The dealer was about $1500 to replace a $55 part. Awesome!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2011

10th Jan 2011, 10:22

First of all, you claim this car is crap for one issue after 130K miles?

Second, if the dealer was $1,500, why didn't you take it elsewhere to get a second opinion? I would never put $1,500 into a vehicle with over 100K miles on it, unless I had at least two separate mechanics tell me the exact same thing.

You are under no warranty obviously, so why continue to take your vehicle to the dealer with higher service costs? Find a good mechanic that is recommended in your area that you can trust, and you'll do much better in the long run. Dealers make the most money on their service departments. I will never go to a dealer to actually get anything fixed, unless it is under warranty.

11th Jan 2011, 20:47

"I will never go to a dealer to actually get anything fixed, unless it is under warranty"

I totally agree. Especially now. Car makers are encouraging dealers to tell customers they need all sorts of silly things (such as BRAKE FLUID CHANGES!!) and oil changes at ridiculously short intervals such as 3000 miles. This was started during the beginning of the recession as a way to increase dealer revenues. As a mechanic, I strongly encourage car owners to learn to do as much of their own maintenance as possible, and to buy an inexpensive repair manual for their particular cars. Knowing a little about your car can save you an awful lot of money. A friend of mine paid his dealer $900 for a simple brake pad replacement. You can do it yourself in an hour for less than $50. I replaced the front pads on one of my own vehicles in 15 minutes during a lunch break. The pads cost me a whopping $17.

14th Apr 2012, 11:03

Wow - a mechanic who puts $17 brake pads on his own car. Cue the "Theme from Deliverance."

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews