2004 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 4 of 9

2004 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

I would never ever buy a Malibu again

Faults:

When the car was under warranty, I had the whole steering column replaced. Now, 2 years later, I hear the same "clunk" noise when I turn the steering wheel or when I accelerate after being at a stop sign/light. I have also had problems with the tires.

General Comments:

I like all the extras this car has (heated seats, dvd's, auto start) but the noises that come along with the car are terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 16:14

The clunking noises you hear when turning your steering wheel or accelerating are your cv joints. They are worn out or damaged.

9th Jul 2007, 00:27

I love these "I'll never buy a xxxx again" comments.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu LT from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Prizm

Summary:

Great looking with long lasting engine, but user interface lacks greatly in quality

Faults:

Brakes and rotors are worn out. The front tires wore out within 20K miles. The remote (both sets) don't work effectively, even after putting in a new battery. The trunk rarely opens on the first press of either the remote or the internal button. The drivers front seat is broke, and the only way to fix it is to replace the whole thing. Rusted fasteners holding up the trim. The front end is starting to have some problems. I will assume ball bearings are worn. I am sure that has something to do with the prematurely worn tires. The horn also no longer works, which is fine by me, now I don't have to lock the door and use the remote as the alarm system use to blare the horn.

General Comments:

The car was magnificent prior to the third year of ownership. From that point on, it seemed everything just fell apart. Every single item I listed above (excepted for the worn tires) Happened the third year of ownership. I am so happy this is a lease, that I will be giving up in about two more months. I had a ford, and Chevrolet engineer evaluate the car and the GM engineer said that a lot of this cars short comings are from the lack of a good testing prove-out. Whereas the Ford employee said that even on a new platform, this car would have never passed the quality inspection. I love domestic, and I love my Lincoln. I am just going to stick to Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2006

7th Sep 2006, 17:27

“Front tires wore out within 20,000 miles.” It’s really important to rotate your tires especially on FWD cars. I had similar experience buying a used van with 25,000 miles and front tires completely shot. I replaced all 4 tires and rotate them every 6,000 miles. Currently at 37,000 miles and all are in great shape. I expect 60,000+ from them. Too bad about all your other problems though.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu LT 200hp V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 200hp V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41500 miles
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

A very underrated, American car that competes very well with japanese mid-size makes

Faults:

--The only major thing that has gone wrong with the Malibu was how the brake rotors rusted over during tire service at 40,000mi and had to be replaced, along with new pads. This ran up to around 300-400 dollars in service fees. However, most American cars seem to have this problem with brakes (it happened to our '03 Ford Escape too.)

Some (very) Minor Things:

--The car on occasion will not turn over immediately when starting the car. No side effects have occurred though.

--Occasionally a seat warmer will turn on automatically. No Biggie, you can just switch it off.

--I'm a teenager driving an "old mans" car. I get insulted from time to time, but overall I'm attached to this car.

General Comments:

--The gas mileage on this car is outstanding. Highway: 26-29 MPG and 24-25 city. Extremely efficent for a mid-size sedan.

--Acceleration is great and RPM levels are low, making the engine perform well (2,225 RPM at 80 MPH!)

--The computer is extremely helpful and lets me know about gas mileage, oil level, trip mileage, and any hazards (gas caps, door ajar, etc.)

--Onstar is cool, but unnecessary. XM is nice.

--Heated Seats + remote Starter = Top Shelf.

--The leather seats have held up extremely well, and I keep the interior clean.

--Big Trunk

--Decent Sunroof

--Side Curtain Airbags are a great additive to safety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 10:11

Rotors rusted over? That is very odd, I've never heard of that happening.

27th Dec 2008, 18:41

Brake rotors rusting is a common complaint I've seen in "rust belt" areas where salt is used on roads in winter. It seems to affect most cars in those areas.

5th Dec 2012, 22:04

My 2004 Malibu LS was bought for Christmas in 2003. Brake rotors were badly rusted. From I was told, it was lot rot from sitting on the lot before my children bought it for me.

I've also had to have the headlight replaced twice, since they get milky streaks on the inside. I bought a headlight repair kit to fix the outer lens, which was looking awful also. No garage for it to sit it. The kit worked fairly well on the outside, but not much can be done with the inside of the lens, except replacing them again, which can be very expensive. Haven't seen many comments from others about this particular problem. Not good material used I'm afraid.

I saw Olds has the same shape headlight on eBay, but looks like it would be a better material.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 25 reviews