2004 Chevrolet Malibu LS V6 from North America


The performance of the car makes up for the rest of its faults


The ball bearings wore out at 28K miles

The front tires wore out at 22K, prior to rotation

The drivers power seat broke and the seat will tilt to the center of the vehilce if not placed on its lowest (close to floor) setting. This happend at 30 K miles

The first key fob stopped working after about 1 and a half years. The second is showing signs of wear as well after using it for about 1 and a half years.

The trunk sticks a lot and the button (either on key fob or in driver side door) must be pressed several times in order to open.

Sometimes I have to press the gas (even in warm conditions) to get the car to start. This happens randomly, and probably has happend 5 times in the past 6 months.

General Comments:

Other than those optional features malfucntions, the car runs smoothly. Only one engine problem that is questionable is the starting up problem. I can't really put my finger on that, because it happens even after just parking the car for 1 hour.

The car's performance is awesome for a family sedan. My wife gets on my case from time to time when I start to drive it like I do my Mark VIII (luxury sports coupe). It responds quickly and quietly. I am glad I got the v6 model.

We have taken the car on long trips that range from 100 miles to 600 miles one way. After about 4 hours of sitting in the chair, it get uncomfortable.

The car feels like a big car, while getting excellent MPG (average 23). The entry to the car is pretty exquisit as well. The door handles are comfortable and the shutting function sounds and feels smooth.

I test drove the Milan 07' (the 4v model) and definately did not get the same feel while driving that I get from the Malibu. Chevy put a lot into this car, all it needs to do is work on the reliability of its nice "optional" features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2006

1st Dec 2006, 12:51

Well, I'm glad you are happy that you got the V6, it's the only engine avalible in the Impala.

Good Review tho'!

1st Dec 2006, 13:41

Actually, he is writing about a Malibu, not the Impala.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America


I would never ever buy a Malibu again


When the car was under warranty, I had the whole steering column replaced. Now, 2 years later, I hear the same "clunk" noise when I turn the steering wheel or when I accelerate after being at a stop sign/light. I have also had problems with the tires.

General Comments:

I like all the extras this car has (heated seats, dvd's, auto start) but the noises that come along with the car are terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 16:14

The clunking noises you hear when turning your steering wheel or accelerating are your cv joints. They are worn out or damaged.

9th Jul 2007, 00:27

I love these "I'll never buy a xxxx again" comments.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu LT from North America


Great looking with long lasting engine, but user interface lacks greatly in quality


Brakes and rotors are worn out. The front tires wore out within 20K miles. The remote (both sets) don't work effectively, even after putting in a new battery. The trunk rarely opens on the first press of either the remote or the internal button. The drivers front seat is broke, and the only way to fix it is to replace the whole thing. Rusted fasteners holding up the trim. The front end is starting to have some problems. I will assume ball bearings are worn. I am sure that has something to do with the prematurely worn tires. The horn also no longer works, which is fine by me, now I don't have to lock the door and use the remote as the alarm system use to blare the horn.

General Comments:

The car was magnificent prior to the third year of ownership. From that point on, it seemed everything just fell apart. Every single item I listed above (excepted for the worn tires) Happened the third year of ownership. I am so happy this is a lease, that I will be giving up in about two more months. I had a ford, and Chevrolet engineer evaluate the car and the GM engineer said that a lot of this cars short comings are from the lack of a good testing prove-out. Whereas the Ford employee said that even on a new platform, this car would have never passed the quality inspection. I love domestic, and I love my Lincoln. I am just going to stick to Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2006

7th Sep 2006, 17:27

“Front tires wore out within 20,000 miles.” It’s really important to rotate your tires especially on FWD cars. I had similar experience buying a used van with 25,000 miles and front tires completely shot. I replaced all 4 tires and rotate them every 6,000 miles. Currently at 37,000 miles and all are in great shape. I expect 60,000+ from them. Too bad about all your other problems though.