1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX 2.5 6 cylinder from North America


My 2nd one, a good car


Have replaced front end suspension parts (control arm, ball joint, wheel hubs, shocks).

Ticky lifter.

General Comments:

Fun to drive. You've gotta have a convertible!!



28 MPG!!!

Somewhat comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2010

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Limited V6 from North America


Love this car!


Had to replace the starter at 45000 miles.

Dash lights do not work, dealer fixed when we bought it, but later stopped working again. Told this was common with the glow dash.

Just replaced both front axles and wheel bearings, brakes, and tires.

General Comments:

Car rides good, is very quick and handles great for 90,000 miles.

Needs a new top.

Everything works great, except glow dash lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2010

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI from North America


A real Honey


I replaced the air conditioner in 2008, brakes 2007 and starter in 2009. A belt was replaced in 2005.

General Comments:

I love this car! She is the best car that I have ever owned; fun to drive, and fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2009

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible 2.5 from North America


Love car, just want it to run right


The engine is missing at low speed and at high speed. I've just had new plugs and wires installed. I had a fuel filter put on. The garage is racking it's brains. So am I. I love it since it is a convertible and looks great. I just don't know where to go from here. Whether distributor or distributor cap and rotor?

One Dodge dealership said they'd had a couple that needed the distributor replaced. The gas pressure runs at about 48 unless you kick it down and then it drops considerably. But I'm not pushing the car when it skips. Someone else suggested it needs the transmission fluid changed. It's bad enough that I don't dare drive it out of town.

It does shudder when it hits a bad bump, but I'm supposing that a convertible is not as well stabilized as other cars. I'd sure like to get this skip or miss dealt with, for I love this little car. RL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2009

7th Dec 2012, 16:12

Edmunds.com says that the distributor on 1998 Sebring convertibles are a common problem:


Hope that helps.

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX 2.5L from North America


No room to service the engine without removing many surrounding parts


I have to replace the starter, and the top bolt is inside a bracket for the motor mount. What size is the bolt (18mm?) and how do I access it to get it off? It seems I have to raise it off the mount and remove the bracket. Is that right or is there a tool that will fit inside the small space provided in the bracket?

General Comments:

I like the car, but bolts are extremely hard to remove I'm finding. I used to be able to replace alternators and starters in an hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2009

8th Sep 2010, 16:42

I have a 98 Sebring convertible with a 2,5.

The problem is the oil light keeps coming on when I stop in traffic or at a stop light. Also how do you change serpentine belt?

19th Oct 2011, 07:37

I love my 2001 Sebring LXi Convertible, but I have to agree that I don't understand the engineering logic of placing the battery in the fender where you have to get to it from the wheel-well, or burying the thermostat either. Seems like a lot of needless labor to get to parts that should be relatively simple to replace. That being said - it is a comfortable and fun car.

22nd Dec 2011, 14:05

I run Mobil 1 15 50. Check your radiator for flow. The car may be running hot, but not on the gauge.

24th Dec 2011, 11:30

The Sebring is not the only car that is virtually impossible to service. My Ford Fusion had the "check engine" light come on over two years ago. It codes as "engine running too cool". I thought "OK, I'll just pop in a new thermostat"... yeah, SURE!! You have to virtually dismantle the entire front of the car to GET TO the thermostat. It requires discharging the A/C, removing the condenser unit and radiator and the grill. Since I still have plenty of heat for my heater to work, I have opted to just allow it to run cool. This actually reduces stress on the engine and makes the oil last longer before degrading. My car's performance and fuel mileage have not been affected at all. Thank God it stuck in the OPEN position!!