2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 4 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo Forte 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Don't Know
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

The worse thing I've every brought

Faults:

Front Suspension

Drive shafts

Wheel Bearings

Water leaking though from internal Light

Water Leaking in Outside Lights

Oil Leak

Brakes

Air Bag Light.

General Comments:

This car has been a nightmare since I bought it.

All the problems I have had and it is only 5 years old.

It seems when one problem is fixed another on happens.

No complaints with the inside of the car very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

2000 Citroen Saxo Forte 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

The worst car I've ever had the dissatisfaction of owning. Never again Citroen!

Faults:

Seat adjuster broke on the 1st day.

Wheel bearings went 4 times in 8 months.

Had to replace drive shafts.

Unreliable gearbox needs topping up with transmission fluid regularly. Reverse takes about 5 attempts to work.

Had to replace flanges and hubs.

Front suspension coils are broken.

Randomly doesn't start on cold mornings.

A seal in the engine went, letting water into the petrol, and causing the car to bounce when driven.

Many other minor problems. This car has cost me about £2500 in the 3 years I've owned it.

General Comments:

Hopefully they aren't all this bad, I think mine was made on a Friday afternoon by a temp.

I Won't buy another Citroen and I have just traded mine in for an 18 month older Corsa which wasnt worth it, but I've been desperate to get rid of the Saxo for 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

2000 Citroen Saxo furio 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45700 miles
Most recent distance46450 miles

Summary:

Its cheap nippy and fun-buy one!

Faults:

My exhaust blew, but was quite cheap to replace.

General Comments:

The performance of this car is very good and it would be unfair to expect much more from a 1.4 engine.

It looks very good and is identical to the VTR version.

Low insurance group and great fuel economy make it cheap to run.

The handling is very good and feels controlled even when pushed hard.

My only criticism would be that the clutch is a little lacking in feel, but you soon get used to it.

I have owned my Saxo for six months now and it is a great car to live with, its comfortable, fun to drive, cheap to run and looks sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

7th May 2005, 16:44

I have just bought a Citroen Saxo Furio 51 reg, It has done 32,000 miles and I got the dealer down to £3500, Is this a decent price? I liked it when I test drove it so I baught it. I am 18 so I needed a car that wasn't to high on insurance, but I didn't want a ded small engine. Does anyone have this car or has had one and if so what do you think of it?

12th Nov 2006, 19:38

Go to www.saxperience.com, it's the biggest Saxo online club that has all Saxo information you'll ever need.

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Mini Monster !

Faults:

The only thing that's gone wrong with the Saxo so far is a rear window plug has fallen out.

General Comments:

The VTS Saxo is by far the best small car I have owned.The VTR is pants compared to this.The performance is outstanding and handling is by far the best I've come across. (Better than a mini!) The power in such a small car is amence! The best feeling is going down the motorway and a BMW comes up your ass and wants you to move, then foot to the floor and your gone! Its like having a dodgem car on the road. the down sides are insurance, but you need it with this car I've had two near misses so far due to the over steer being so sensitive, and fuel, o god fuel is eaten in minutes. apart from that it's a mini monster and I'm keeping mine for a long time yet. My advice buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

22nd Dec 2004, 08:33

Probably have a 316 or 318 BMW off, but anything with a straight six would power past you.

8th Nov 2005, 02:32

I've wasted vts in my fiesta xr2i.

31st Mar 2006, 04:07

Oh my God, you can't waste a VTS in an XR2i. Had an Escort GTi 1.8i 16v that would kill an XR2, but it gets nowhere near the VTS.

31st Mar 2006, 15:45

As much as I don't like the VTS saxo there is no way an XR2i fiesta can waste a VTS Saxo.

20th Apr 2006, 10:33

Xr2i will beat a Saxo VTS hahahaha, what planet are you on chap???

Before my VTS I had an AX GT with a straight through exhaust and induction kit, and I used to beat XR2's and XR2i's off the lights all the way up to about 80 every single time. And my Saxo VTS is quite a bit quicker than the AX. Why do all Fiesta boys have such a warped exaggerated imagination.

13th Aug 2008, 10:43

Yeah, and why do all the saxo boys think their car made of kitkat wrappers is the best car ever made?

The 2i with a decent driver will beat a VTR and keep up with a VTS, as most drivers of the Saxo are young and don't have experience they will be beaten by a 2i. Yes off the lights you have a lighter car, therefore you think you're faster, but on a country road or motorway they are evenly matched. On the down side your car's been made of tinfoil; if you crash you're dead. The 2i on the other hand, being made of steel, you're more than likely going to live.

Even the Zetec S (a slow car) with a good driver car keep up with a VTS. Tes they can't beat them, but considering the power to weight ratio, they should be annihilated, but they're not.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews