2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 8 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Not Bad, but very overrated!

Faults:

I bought my car from the dealer without realizing it needed things doing to it. I was in need of new tires, clutch, brakes disc's on the rear of the car and my handbrake needed tightening up also.

Also the drivers seat has slightly moved out of position which I have been warned is quite dangerous.

General Comments:

My car doesn't seem a lot faster than the Corsa 1.4 SRi which I used to have. I don't think it handles that bad around corners, but it could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

2000 Citroen Saxo Furio 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17468 miles
Most recent distance18468 miles

Faults:

Wheel balancing weight fell off, due to the car hitting the curb (accidentally).

General Comments:

A very good car for its price. Looks nice, performs well, generally reliable, comfortable and economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2002

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance21500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Cheap and Nasty

Faults:

Bonnet was not mounted properly when new.

Side arch kit was not mounted when new.

Powersterring broke at 16000 miles.

Alternator broke at 18000 miles.

Back window shattered whilst opening the boot just recently for no apparent reason.

Probably the worst car I have ever owned for problems especially since it was bought from brand new. Just as well it came with a warrantly or I would have been well out of pocket.

General Comments:

The car itself is fairly quick and handles well, but the problems I have had with it make it the worst car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

2000 Citroen Saxo SX 1.4 from Denmark

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A good car to the prize

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This car is easy driven and good to handle, but a little unstable at high speed when it's blowing.

It has surprised me, how much power that 75 HP engine has, and it is relaxing, that you don't have to change gear all the time.

It is constructed some years ago and the competition are safer.

Just a very good little car, that acts like a bigger car on the road. :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

2000 Citroen Saxo grande 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance13750 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A slow small car

Faults:

In the first week the car started leaking it took 3 goes for them too fix it.

The service and air bag light keep coming on and off and it does not need a service for 6 more months.

General Comments:

Very slow.

Dealer service was terrible.

No room for 2 or more.

Very basic inside.

Not very good sound system.

Not very well built.

Inside its all light Grey dull and no color.

The rear 3 point seat belt is very good its just a shame there is not room for five.

I think the new Clio is much better, but I would get a 1.2 16v as the 1.2 is too slow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Fun, but crappily built and terrible to own

Faults:

Probably quicker to list what didn't go wrong:

2 oil leaks

Engine mount started to break up

Passenger seat adjuster snapped off

Major stalling fault which the (useless) dealers couldn't fix

Knocking from front suspension

Engine management light came on and off at random. Apparently "no faults" found on the diagnostic rig.

Clutch judder caused by the crankshaft oil seal failing and leaking oil onto the clutch plates.

Never idled smoothly

Tappets noisy

Interior rattled like an old truck.

General Comments:

This review should also cover the 1.1 Saxo Forte that I spent almost as much time driving during my VTS ownership. It was the garage courtesy car, and my second home!

The VTS is a good looking and seriously quick little car with fantastic handling. But it was so unreliable, the dealers so hopeless and Citroen UK so downright unhelpful that I gave up on it after a year.

On the rare occasions the VTS was working properly, I had probably more laughs in it than in any car I've owned, but towards the end, I just wanted rid of it. It's appallingly designed, atrociously built and sold by a company who think customer service is something that doesn't apply to them.

As a driving experience, the VTS is about as good as hot hatches get. As an ownership experience, its about as appealing and rewarding as having your teeth extracted with a pair of pliers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

30th Sep 2002, 04:05

It was never fixed. I chopped the car in as a part-ex with the fault still there (luckily it behaved when the salesman drove it). Pretty shocking though that a main dealer can't fix a problem after loads of attempts.

3rd Oct 2002, 15:46

I couldn't agree more.

I got a year's free insurance when I bought mine, should have been a year's free stress counseling.

My car is just over two years old, so far it has :

Needed a new alarm system (the sensors "packed up")

Been into the local dealer SIX times due to the airbag light coming on.

Needed a new Lambda probe.

Needed a new fuel line (was split)

Needed a new "speed computer"

Needed a new fuel filter.

To cap it all, my local dealer is an absolute joke; really really awful. No customer service, no skill with cars.

I have now got the infamous front suspension knocking. What is the cause of this? I bet it's expensive?

4th Oct 2002, 13:51

We have recently been experiencing engine cut out, i.e. revs dying out even when you have revs at 3000, or when driving at 50 miles per hour. Garage said there is nothing wrong, but obviously there is, have you any suggestions?

8th Oct 2002, 06:22

How can the dealer say this??? It's an accident waiting to happen surely.

There's so many things I guess this could be : Fuel line, fault in the injection system etc etc.

What is it about Citroen dealers? Has anyone out there every had a positive experience with a Citroen dealer?

From the threads I've read so far, there really does seem to be something seriously at fault with the service we are all getting.

This needs sorting, any ideas? Anyone have any contacts with motoring magazines, etc? Can just imagine it now, a expose in Auto Express, "What's wrong with Citroen dealers?", inviting comments and printing our letters...

8th Mar 2005, 15:05

Well I have just been trying to decide whether to I should go for a Saxo VTS or a Ford Fiesta ZetecS.

I think the above comments have just made my mind up.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews