2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland


Performance and looks at a good price


Faulty fuel filter at 18,000 miles. Replacement required temporary removal of the fuel tank which was costly in terms of labour at the dealer.

General Comments:

Although seen by many as a boy racer's car because of it's looks, performance and pricing, the Saxo VTR is a real gem of a car for many reasons.

My wife has owned this VTR for 2 years now and apart from never breaking down or failing to start, it has cost very little to run and needed no major mechanical work.

The VTR is quick, performs well in corners and has adequate brakes for the engines power. The interior is good, but maybe cramped for 3/4 adults on a lengthy journey.

Good motor, recommend it hands down, but shop around and buy a 'non boy-racer' unmodified example, it will be worth the wait and possible extra expense.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland


Nice all rounder


Engine light came on after two weeks of owning car. Dealer checked it out and was just a glitch in system.

General Comments:

Had a rover 214SEi this is a much faster car.

Looks nice.

Not just a boy racer car.

Brakes and driving position have been given a bad press - not as bad as everyone makes out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

2000 Citroen Saxo Forte 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland


Cheap, cheerful and pretty reliable


Recently had problems with the engine cutting out after starting the car. Other symptoms included random revving when idle, and the accelerator pedal depressing without me touching it.

It turned out to be a faulty idle control valve. My mechanic took 15 minutes to replace it and the car has run fine ever since.

I have been told that this can be a common problem on French made cars.

General Comments:

This car is a cheap, efficient way to get from A to B.

The boot is pretty big for a hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland


Great looks and performance, but that old Citroen build quality


Oxygen probe went at 25000 miles.

Radiator went at 30000 miles.

Rattles on dash, windows, sunroof etc.

General Comments:

Not great build quality, but I guess Citroen have tried to get the cheapest, lightest and quickest car possible. The drive is not great around town, very jerky if you're stop-starting a lot, also sounds very rough when you first start it after a period of being left, until it warms up (is normal apparently - my mate has one and says the same things)

Still great fun to drive though - great looks and a very quick car - just watch some peoples faces off the lights especially Golf GTIs and rep mobiles (ha ha Vectra and Mondeo)!

Great handling - almost as good as my last car, but that was lowered!

Not very much footwell space - with my size 11's I have to wear the narrowest trainers I can to drive it which is a pain when you're going to work and have to change!

For the price not much else comes close in terms of looks and performance, my only advice would be not to get it serviced at a Citroen dealer - in my opinion they are not very honest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 16 16v from UK and Ireland


A high performance bargain


The car is fairly new, therefore there is hardly no wear and tear up till now. But many other Saxo owners I lnow from my local area have known to have problems with the gearbox and bottom arms. This is starting to come true with my car.

General Comments:

Very fast, apart from Civic's, it is the fastest 1.6 you can have.

Give it a decent exhaust and filter and it will beat the Civic, trust me I know.

Handling is brilliant, but needs a driver to keep it under control, the back end is no stranger to go offline.

In my opinion best car you can buy for £5000.

Simply awsome performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

16th Jul 2003, 09:50

I totally agree the saxo VTS is an amazing car, I bought mine a couple of weeks a go for £4000.

Any ideas of a good exhaust that will make the car go quicker???

8th Dec 2003, 15:10

If you go to www.gmcmotorsport.co.uk, and have the cash, get a green forced induction kit (no open air rubbish that sucks in warm air and decreases performance, but sounds good so tricks you) and also a BTB 4-1 manifold and BTB exhaust system; that'll stop the erratic idling (that juddery feeling when you're sat at lights), and also add ooomphs of performance, all for a tidy sum too :)

14th Nov 2005, 20:12

Uprated manifolds usually sacrifice low end torque for top end grunt.

28th Nov 2005, 03:17


29th Dec 2005, 20:54

Powerflow exhaust give the biggest gains, sound phat as well.

30th Dec 2005, 18:49

Have always had the edge against the vti's I've been against I'm my vts!

30th Dec 2005, 18:51

Oh and powerflow aren't the best exhausts if your after performance. BTB is the way to go.

31st Dec 2005, 06:00

Civic vti is poor/slow!!