2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 10 of 13

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT Laramie Cummins turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Cummins turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

Great all around diesel truck

Faults:

The only thing I can complain about is the paint quality. After owning this truck for only a few months, I already had quite a few rock chips on area below the doors. Nothing major though.

General Comments:

This is an awesome truck.

It functions as both my horse/flatbed hauler as well as my daily driver to and from work/school.

My 2500 handles well, is comfortable for long trips, and I've gotten up to 26 mpg highway. I average 18-20 mpg city.

I recommend Dodge Ram 2500s (or 3500s) to anyone who asks what kind of truck they should buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

9th Sep 2004, 12:58

I find it hard to believe the mileage you get. In fact its impossible!!! I have the 5.9L engine and I get 10 city and 14 highway.

12th Oct 2006, 18:30

Just because its hard to believe doesn't mean it isn't true I get 20-23 highway with my 360 motor.

6th Feb 2007, 11:43

I have heard from different people who have the Ram with the Cummins that they can get 25mpg highway without a load.

19th Dec 2007, 13:43

Reading his topic, its his diesel truck. The Cummins 6 Cylinder gets 20+ MPG when geared right and driven nicely. Diesel(fuel) contains more power per stroke, and the engine design is more efficient than gasoline.

23rd May 2009, 02:41

VERY smooth ride, we just bought a 2001 2500 SLT Laramie and it ROCKS. You can really suck gas if you drive your truck like it's a sports car. Drive it like a spaceship and you'll get what we get: 21 highway, and at least 16 around town.

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup ST+ 5.9L turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

A good, solid work truck that can still turn heads

Faults:

In 67000 km, nothing major has gone wrong with the vehicle.

I have had the re-flash done for the high idle computer program. at 21000 km. This feature works without fault.

Rear axle was loose on springs, causing the axle to come out of proper alignment with the frame, two hours in the driveway, trouble cured. no expense.

Unit goes through air filters like there is no tomorrow. deep breather.

General Comments:

Interior is relatively comfortable for taller drivers.

Power is good, had the ecm tweaked up to the 245hp rating at the dealer, and have since added a k&n air filter, and a PacBrake exhaust brake to the unit. Now its good to go, good to slow.

Has power and torque to spare, I frequently pull loads that leave other trucks gasping on the roadside. This includes pulling a freightliner truck, with a b-train combo for a few hundred yards on wet pavement, to get the unit clear of the lane.

I have no complaints thus far with this unit, and have no trouble recommending them to anyone.

Also, fuel mileage is decent, 21 to 23 mpg in city, and higher on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 5.9 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

I believe I received a good bargain, but I have had a lot of things to go wrong with the truck

Faults:

A piece in the steering column broke and all the controls on the steering wheel (cruise, radio, etc) went out.

Passenger door rubber seal around window does not fit under door properly, but dealer said nothing they can do about this. Rubber does not seal in door properly in winter and lets in wind hiss!

Something to do with the wiring to the battery was defective (a recall). Letter from Dodge said it could cause under hood fire. Dealer repaired.

Both motors and guides in power windows were defective and had to be replaced.

Driver's side quad door window nearly fell off (glued hinges fell off). Dealer replaced.

Front crankshaft seal developed a leak at 29,000 and dealer replaced.

Driver's side fog light melted - dealer replaced.

One of the four Goodyear tires wore out at 20,000! Goodyear said basically "too bad". I have documents of all rotate and balances, and two dodge "complimentary alignments" checks.

Throttle body cover extremely difficult to put back on after changing air filter. (my problem)

General Comments:

The truck drives and handles great. 4x4 is great when driving through fields. The cabin is big and roomy - we have had six adults in the truck cab with no complaints.

The fuel economy could be better. Best I can squeeze out is 13 mpg! I have not modified the truck in any way.

I have had a lot of things to go wrong with the truck which the dealer has repaired - BUT, when I compare this to my wife's 2002 Nissan Pathfinder - it has never been in the shop for anything and it has 30,000 miles on it!

Nissan is coming out with a big truck this fall (2003) and I might consider a trade!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 59 reviews