2001 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT from North America


This truck is a waste of money


New rear end, transmission.

General Comments:

The truck is underpowered, has no torque and pulls terrible. Drinks gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2010

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 Quad 5.9L Cummins from North America


Dependable, rugged, and will last a long time


The fuel transfer pump started losing pressure at 94,750 miles, as is predicted.

Hard plastic dash board cracked around 80,000 miles.

No other problems.

General Comments:

The power is tremendous. Pulled a 10,000 pound trailer with it for 3 years, and the truck never faltered. The ride is stiff but comfy.

It is a big heavy duty truck and handles as such. My truck was built by the "old" Chrysler Corporation right at the time Daimler Benz took over. Daimler changed things up, and I would not be inclined to buy anything they built under the Chrysler banner. Time will tell if Fiat can bring bring Chrysler back to the Iaccoca glory.

I would recommend any Chrysler product built before 2003. This is the 3rd Chrysler product I have owned, and all have served me reliably for over 10 years each.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2010

24th Aug 2011, 00:01

I pull a 15000lbs camper with my 5.9l gas... has no problem pulling it... The 15000lbs is not hitch weight...

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 5.9 Cummins turbo diesel from North America


Extremely powerful



General Comments:

This truck is an absolute beast at anything.

My buddy has a 2003 Ford Powerstroke, that thing is a total joke. I'm scared to death riding to Walmart in the damn thing, it's so unreliable with NO power to brag about at all. It's pretty sad my 6 pistons will beat all 8 of his at everything.

My truck will pull very heavy trailers up the rocky mountains with no idea that there is anything behind them.

Me and my friend had a pull off with his 6.0 Ford and I was laughing the whole time dragging his junker down the street. All my buddies hate dodges, and all drive Powerstokes, but now they ALL respect the Cummins, and no one says a word about racing me or having a pull off with their 7.3 or 6.0, I have beat all of them and know they don't say a word.

Long live the Cummins, and by the way my truck has never had to go see a mechanic, and ALL my buddies know the shop owners by heart now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2009

16th Dec 2010, 09:47

What does your ability to tow a Ford truck have to do with things like reliability, maintenance cost, frequency, and the overall build of the truck. The Cummins engine is a given, its reputation precedes it. Tell us about what kind of money you've had to put into it, not just if your buddies liked it.

24th Jul 2012, 20:17

The guy above is absolutely right, and who cares how fast a truck is... It's a truck, it ain't supposed to be fast, and your truck only has a little over 90,000; why don't you post a review when you make it to 200,000. Oh sorry, IF you make it to 200,000, or before you're tired of fixing it.

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 5.9 from North America


I am not a happy camper!


I have gone through 8 sets of front brakes with this truck, 3 sets of rotors, 1 caliper, broken springs in the back.

I am on my 3rd set of tires.

Fuel pump, rotted a/c evaporator (what is that design all about?), transmission cooler, front and rear sway bar linkage, 4 sets of spark plugs, 3 sets of wires, 3 distributor caps and rotor - last cap the screws broke in distributor.

Fuel injector rail leaking, steering wheel tilted to one side.

Even the radio stopped working.

Power seat fails.

Rust coming through doors and rear fenders.

Two exhaust systems (one fell right off). Exhaust manifold bolts rusted right off of engine block.

A/C compressor freezes up - must whack with hammer on occasion.

Radiator leaks, must use stop leak.

The door panels rattle, leather seat seams ripped from normal wear and tear.

Overdrive going off on its own.

General Comments:

I am stuck with this truck. I know when I sold my my 1994 Chevy a year ago it had not a spot of rust on it, not a rip in the interior, had 359,000 miles on it, got 18 MPG and is still running the roads. My 1988 Chevy with a 4.3 V6 had 490,000 miles. Both trucks only required the scheduled fluid changes and normal maintenance.

I can't unload this truck -- my wife told me so when I brought it home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2008