2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT 4x4 5.9 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42580 miles
Most recent distance94674 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Dodge needs to review the 2001 series!

Faults:

Transmission started slipping and not shifting properly when we got the truck. Gas mileage is terrible even with stock size tires.

General Comments:

Since we bought the truck, we have had to install 3 transmissions and dodge dealers that we have talked to said there is nothing dodge can do about the problems with their transmissions. The truck has plenty of power, but loves gasoline very much, even with a hypertech chip and programmer the gas mileage gets no better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 4X4 Quad Cab 5.9 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Brutal...I will never again buy a Daimler/Chrysler product

Faults:

My 2001 Ram 1500 4X4 was our company truck that I bought when the lease expired.

Crank shaft main bearing was gone before 60,000 kilometers.

Second set of rotors required before 120,000 kilometers.

Complete failure of the transmission at 125,000 kilometers to the tune of $4,000.

I will never buy another Dodge. Everything I have read seems to indicate they have a serious problem with their truck transmissions, but they refuse to acknowledge and repair them.

General Comments:

The truck looks great, but that is about all that I can say good about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 HD 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This truck is garbage, I have had trash cans that have lasted longer

Faults:

Truck needed new towing mirrors when new.

Transmission was repaired at 39,000 miles.

New transmission at 45,000 miles.

Transmission cooler clogged at 45,000 miles.

New radiator at 45,000 miles.

Emission problem at52,000 miles.

Emission problem at 57,000 miles.

Engine needed new heads at 60,000 miles.

Truck needs new rear end bearings at 69,000.

General Comments:

What part of this truck does Dodge consider heavy duty?

The dome light works good.

The truck does tow very well.

However every time I tow something the truck has to go in the shop for a $1000.00 repair.

Dodge should lower the cost of this truck to $15,000.00 and call it the new Dodge Throw Away.

At 50,000 miles just throw it away.

That's OK if you make it to 50,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

10th Aug 2004, 19:40

My 2001 Dodge 2500 works harder than it was designed to every day. I have had to replace only the tack bar, tires, and fluids. I am very satisfied. It will out pull my friends chevy any day of the week.

4th Nov 2004, 15:26

I agree that Dodge can out pull Chevy, but not a Ford. The 7.3L power stroke is a work horse!

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Laramie SLT 5.9 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired125 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carDodge Tacoma

Summary:

My truck gets the job done with no problem

Faults:

The battery died and left me stranded before the warranty was out. It took road side three hours for them to show up. Also, the rubber gasket that keeps water from going down into the engine keeps falling off. Other than that, I have had no problems with my Ram.

General Comments:

I have driven a dodge Ram single cab when they changed the body style back in 1994 or 95, and the acceleration was fast. That's what I thought, they all drove like that. My 01 model quad cab has slow acceleration.

While using cruse control to go over little hills, it seems like the transmission changes roughly just to maintain the set speed.

Other than that I have no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup WLS 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Most versatile truck I've ever owned

Faults:

ABS sensors have gone out, currently ready for another. Dealer is going to investigate.

Recall for something, but did not affect driving.

General Comments:

Although this is the Work Truck Series, It offers great comfort while driving.

Having a manual transmission was a wise choice (to me).

Fuel Mileage has been as advertised around 17-19mpg in town.

Could stand to handle a little better, but with 10ply tires, I'm not complaining.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Laramie SLT 1500 360 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 360 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

Big!

Faults:

Some of the plastic in cab broke.

Dealer replaced under warranty.

Engine started pinging while in Mexico.

Dealer reprogrammed ECU.

Mirror defrosters stopped working.

Dealer replaced mirrors.

Gas gage stopped working after Mexico trip and after doing some hardcore wheeling.

Dealer replaced sending unit.

Intake manifold leak.

Dealer replaced plenum.

General Comments:

It has had its share of problems, but I still like it.

It is very reliable and powerful. It has never left me stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 59 reviews