2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance8900 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

A Great Truck!!!

Faults:

Occasionally the 'Lamp Out' light comes on, cycling the light switch remedies the problem.

General Comments:

Though built in 2001, it's a 2002 RAM 4-door SLT model with the 5.9L gasoline engine and automatic transmission. It has the trailer towing package, but lower (numerically) rear end ratio. I'm extremely satisfied with the vehicle so far, no problems to date.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram 1500 Standard Cab Laramie Magnum V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Magnum V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13646 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Very awesome truck!!

Faults:

The radiator was leaking and took into dealer to get replaced, as it was still under factory warranty. I have not had any more problems with it.

General Comments:

I have an after-market muffler and it sounds kind of like a boat hum.

My Ram is very spacious and find that I have a lot of room to put my gear.

My Ram has performed very well for me and has been very reliable on long trips.

Handles very well on the freeway on cruise control.

The seats are very comfortable for me.

The center console is very roomy and find I can put a lot of stuff in it.

Behind the seats proves to be very reliable in storing stuff out of the way and unseen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport XLT V8 5.9 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 5.9 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Good truck for the money, at least I think so

Faults:

The side mirror (glass part only) on the passenger side has fallen off twice. The first time was on the lot it was a lot damage and the dealer fixed it in order to sell it to me. The second time was when I was on 635 in Dallas and it scratched the side of my truck. Dealer refused to fix scratches.

General Comments:

I think overall it is a very nice truck. I have heard of others having various problems with the truck, but I think that is true with any vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT extended cab 5.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance46600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Avoid with a passion

Faults:

Continuous minor engine knock.

Windshield cracks repeatedly due to it's size.

General Comments:

Automatic transmission is continously searching for overdrive or just drive, at speeds around 35mph to 45mph.

Vehicle is sluggish with overdrive turned on.

Rear passenger compartment needs more leg space.

Paint chips to easily.

After owning this vehicle for such a short period of time, I would have been better buying a Chevy Silverado.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

6th Apr 2010, 20:30

I have one and it is great. The real question is does the truck fit your lifestyle like mine does?

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 5.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance29500 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Dodge trucks are nothing but junk!

Faults:

The truck seems to lean to the left side while driving it. This is really nerve racking and I am sick of it. I'm still trying to get it fixed.

Intake on truck has gone bad twice.

A bolt broke off the arm connected to the springs and shocks.

This truck has no power.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Dodge Truck.

Next vehicle will be a Toyota Tundra or Chevy Silverado.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

7th Feb 2002, 19:43

You should of got a 360 and it would of had plenty of power. But I wouldn't go with the Toyota FOREIGN CARS STINK!!

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance5900 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

I recommend if you want a comfortable ride, and stylish great looks

Faults:

I have yet to have any serious problems.

General Comments:

This truck handles great!

It is better than the Lincoln Navigator.

It is also better than the Jeep Grand Cherokee.

It is very comfortable in the front, but a bit cramped for the rear riders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 V-10 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-10 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53 miles
Most recent distance12210 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Pile of crap

Faults:

The outside of bed dented with a load of hay 1000 lbs under the payload. Dented on the outside, not the top rail.

General Comments:

The dealership has been a huge hassle to work with. They pass the buck on a warranty issue to Diamond Chrysler, then drop off the face of the earth without leaving you with Diamond Chrysler contact information.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2001

2001 Dodge Ram Pickup 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2650 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

End of year close-out, power, style, and great customer service - Get one!

Faults:

No problems to report.

General Comments:

This truck has stylish looks. Sleek design inside and out.

Plenty of power for daily driving and towing. The torque really "shines" through.

Lots of space in the cab (Regular Cab).

Transmission shifts very firm, which is good.

Factory stereo is "adequate", but is easy to upgrade.

I used to be a die-hard Chevrolet person, but the Dodge Pickup has turned things around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 59 reviews