1994 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1994 Dodge Shadow ES 3.0L OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L OHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

My Shadow is by far my favorite possession and I love it

Faults:

Replaced thermostat at 100,000.

Headliner needs replacing at 120,000.

Oil leaks in front and rear main seals and pan gasket.

Trunk hydraulic replaced at 110,000.

General Comments:

This car has awesome power.

I bought it as my first car 4 years ago and its still running like the day I bought it today.

I don't think I could ever give this car up.

Safe and reliable.

Sporty looking and quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

28th Apr 2005, 23:36

I own one now, the acceleration is beyond poor. A Ford Model T is faster than a '94 Shadow.

6th Nov 2006, 14:53

The guy above me probly has the 4 cylinder model, completely different car than the chrysler made 3.0 V6.

1994 Dodge Shadow Dodge ES 2.5 inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired158885 miles
Most recent distance170258 miles

Faults:

My trans axles blew twice while I was driving.

Front control arm dropped off the spindle.

Replaced all the filters and the fuel injector, because they were killing the car.

Snapped the front axle.

Ball joints in the front went out, and so did bearings over time, where it now makes sufficient noise.

Back shock absorber blew out the side, blew the tires, and the list goes on for a little bit longer.

General Comments:

My car is quite quick at times, but due to the high mileage on it, the engine has dropped its performance significantly.

The car is very comfy and can be reliable, but lately it hasn't been.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

1994 Dodge Shadow Base 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46900 miles
Most recent distance99850 miles
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Would be a great first car for anybody

Faults:

The fuel pump needed to be replaced at about 60,000 miles.

The suspension needed to be replaced (because of rough driving conditions) at about 80,000 miles.

I replaced the brake pads once.

General Comments:

This car was very good to me. I bought it for $8000 when it was 4 years old, and didn't have to put more than $1200 into it for repairs.

The Shadow had very good gas mileage--about 30 mpg on the highway; about 26 mpg in the city.

It had a hatchback, so I could fit a bike or a large television into it with ease.

The only thing I didn't like about the car was that it ate oil.

It was a comfortable car, and the seats were very durable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2004

27th May 2005, 11:33

I love your opinion about the Dodge Shadow because this is my first car and I absolutely love it! I salute you and any other Dodge or Shadow fan out there! I named my car The Shadow Katt, and I'm going to paint it black with pink lightening bolts screaming down the sides. Mopar and I thank you.

Tamara Waters.

1994 Dodge Shadow ES 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

A great mini Mopar muscle car!

Faults:

Th head gasket was blown when I bought it at 79000 miles.

It had some overheating problems due to a cracked radiator.

General Comments:

The head gasket was blown when I bought the car. Although it was still running. I drove it 45 miles from the dealer to my house with no problems!

Last summer it had some overheating problems due to a crack in the radiator. Unfortunately I found out the hard way when I tried to drive the 21 miles to my work with very little to no coolant in the cooling system. Of course the car overheated and died on the highway. I had it towed to the nearest crook, oops! I mean mechanic, who was quick to tell me that my engine block was almost certainly cracked and that the engine would need to be replaced. Of course, he could get me a great deal on a new (rebuilt) engine. A mere $1500! I could not justify spending that much on a car I only paid $500 for. I had the car towed back to my house where it sat for about a month until my dad convinced me to fill the radiator and try to start it. And wouldn't you know it, it fired right up! I then drove it straight to my regular mechanic who found the crack in the radiator and replaced it for $280.

All total I have spent less than $2500 for a great sporty little car. The funny thing is that most people see me driving around in this white car with a blue driver side door and hail damage all over it and think, wow what a piece of crap! Then suddenly the light turns green. The next thing they know, I'm gone and they are left behind, bewildered and dismayed.

This is a very zippy little car. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice little sports car that not everyone and their brother owns! Of course no car is perfect, but this car has been through a lot and has left many bewildered mustang owners behind it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 40 reviews