1994 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1994 Dodge Shadow Hatchback 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

A great car at a great price

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 72000 miles.

Catalytic converter blew at 73,000.

Tie rod busted at 75,000.

2 bad front end collisions (my fathers fault).

Oxygen sensors blew at 77,000.

General Comments:

Car is really fast for what it is, got it up to 120 mph, and still foot room.

The car takes corners very well.

Can dust anyone off the line, great acceleration.

Just a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

8th Sep 2001, 00:04

I have no idea what you are talking about. I have a 2.2 liter Dodge Shadow and it is terrible in acceleration. Even the factory 0-60 time is over 10 seconds! A Chevrolet Astro van does 0-60 in 8! And there is no way you have gotten it up to 120 unless going downhill with the foot ALL THE WAY on the floor. Believe me, I have tried. It maxxed out at 102 MPH on the flat.

24th Oct 2001, 14:28

I agree that it does not have a good acceleration, but it reaches high speeds very easy.

20th Aug 2006, 01:13

I think he might have been talking about the 3.0 V6 b/c those engines are very fast from the start.

1994 Dodge Shadow Base 2.2 liter 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow Highline

Faults:

Blew the stock transmission, but replaced it with a high performance, 6-speed manual transmission.

One headlight bulb went out, so I replaced both bulbs with those new Blue Halogen bulbs.

Replace intake manifold after blowing a gasket. This added 50 horsepower.

Oxygen sensor went out.

I fried the stock computer, so I also replaced it with a high performance one. Added 19 more horsepower.

Popped a valve after street racing it one late night, so I not also replaced all of the valves, but the headers, pistons, rebored the cylinders, or just flat out re-built the whole engine and replaced all of the OEM parts with high performance models.

Stock tires wore out, so I replaced them, along with the rims (It was a good excuse to buy new rims at the time).

Paint started to chip on the lower body, so I got it repainted Black other than Aqua green.

Rear spoiler was stuck to a tree branch and was ripped off (Along with the new paint and half the sheet metal on the hatch).

General Comments:

A super fast car (clocked it at 148 MPH MAX after $8,000 dollars of modifications).

Fastest Shadow in the Southwest.

Corners better than a Camaro or Mustang.

Faster than a V8 Mustang.

0-60 speed is 5.9 seconds.

1/4 mile in 13.5 seconds.

Exterior looks like any other stock Shadow except for the twin Silver Racing Stripes.

And, YES, this is a BASE DODGE SHADOW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

30th Mar 2001, 12:09

Hey,

It sounds like you have done quite a bit to your shadow! I also own a Shadow (check out my page under 1987 Dodge Shadow Reviews). I love this car and it is cheap to make it into a performer. Mines turbocharged and I've done little cheep bolt-ons here and there, and I'm wondering if you know of anything else cheap I could do to make mine the fastest Shadow in the Northeast. If you get a chance I would appreciate if you could send me any info under my Review. Thanks!

30th Aug 2001, 17:44

I also own a Dodge Shadow ES and have taken it to another level than any of your Shadows. I manufactured a new set of intake manifolds for the 2.5 4 cylinder. This allowed me to bolt on two throttle bodies and a turbo for each. With a little computer work I was able to do the 1/4 mile in 10.3 sec. So if anyone out there would like line up some time I would be more than willing.

P.S. If you're wondering were I live, lets just say you don't have the fastest Shadow in the south east.

24th Oct 2001, 14:39

I'm 18, and I live in Mexico city, and I own a 1989 Shadow, it has the automatic transmission and the 2.5 L. engine.

I put 8 m.m. spark plug wires, and I tune it up (it has a 2 barrel Holley carb).

It also has original headers, I have noticed that from all the Shadows I know, no one has headers.

I, want to perform my car, I want to put a set of Eichbach (sorry if it is wrong spelled) springs, a new set of tires, and a K&N air filter.

E-mail me at fpalmerin@yahoo.com for suggestions and tips for performance.

21st Sep 2002, 18:31

First time on this website. I own a 1994 Dodge Shadow es. I want to upgrade the stock engine with a 3L V6. And if anyone else can give me some good tips I would appreciate it.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 40 reviews