1991 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1991 Eagle Talon TSI FWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 kilometres
Most recent distance187000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A finicky bird of prey

Faults:

Replaced the timing belt and assembly, at 170000kms.This included tensioner's, belts, and water-pump.

Rebuilt the head, resulting from worn valve guides and the need to re-seat the valves (typical with high kilos).

Painted the mirrors, as the clear coat flaked off.

The computer has difficulty calibrating for colder temperatures, causing erratic idle speeds (inherent problem in need of fixing).

General Comments:

There is a serious lack of workspace under the hood, though this is not dissimilar of any other Japanese car.

Timing belt replacement efficiency is especially hindered by the under-provided space.

I opted for the front wheel drive over the all wheel drive for a few reasons. Firstly, the FWD is 2 tenths of a second faster in the quarter than an AWD (Lighter). Secondly, the FWD has better fuel efficiency. Lastly, the transfer case on the AWD are prone to problems. Unfortunately I give up the better handling of an AWD.

This car is crazy fast. I've taken down Mustangs, Camaros', Civics, and the '95 Talon, in convincing fashion.

The interior is equally as appealing as the exterior. It's like sitting in the cockpit of an F1 car. Very cool!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

1st Jul 2003, 14:28

A stock AWD is faster in the 1/4 mile then a stock FWD. AWD weighs more, but theres a huge traction difference there.

3rd Nov 2005, 22:22

Actually, from what I've read, the fwd is faster in the 1/ mile not only because of weight, but because of a loss of power through dispersion to four wheels. I've also experinced it first hand, as my awd has lost to fwd talon's in the past.

1991 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 Turbocharged from Germany

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Turbocharged Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very useful high performance car

Faults:

The engine had to be replaced (rebuilt) after 120,000 miles.

The seats faded much over 100,000 miles.

I got the transmission replaced after 130,000 miles.

I replaced the head gasket 1 time after 130,000 miles.

Everything else held up perfectly like it should.

I only changed 1 light bulb on the whole entire car after 10 years if hard usage!

General Comments:

I have been racing a serious amount of people since I had this car, and I only lost only 1 race, which was a 1997 Pontiac Firebird, and at the time my turbo was at advanced age.

I put awe on some people's faces from such great performance.

This car is seriously a package that has astonishment written all over it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

27th May 2003, 21:06

I just got a talon and I smoked my friends 2002 gtp. You just have to learn how to drive better.

4th Sep 2004, 09:06

Dude, I don't know what you're smokin, but I don't see how a 1988 Cavalier Z24 could beat a turbo Talon. And as far as only being beat once, all I can say is you must be racing a bunch of Geo Metros. There are tons of Mustangs, Camaros, Pontiacs, etc that could blow the doors off a talon in a minute. Talons are fast for 4-cylinder cars, but don't get carried away here.

1991 Eagle Talon TSI AWD Turbo 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A high-performance headache..

Faults:

Replaced alternator three times.

Replaced mass airflow sensor.

Turbo went 6 months into owning it.

Power windows failed and needed repair.

Front brake calipers replaced.

ABS unit went bad first day I bought it.

General Comments:

The Eagle Talon is a hot looking, very fast and very fun car to drive.

However, pricey parts, labour, and overall poor reliability, especially after 200K, would keep me from buying another, particularly with the AWD and turbo options.

Overall, I took incredibly good care of this car and found it to be a disappointment in the long run, having spent more time on blocks and in the garage than on the road where it should be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

1991 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired206000 kilometres
Most recent distance209000 kilometres
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

The fastest and best looking car in its price range!

Faults:

Gaskets blew: $CAN 600.

Timing belt needed replacing before car was bought: $CAN 650.

General Comments:

The car is fast and powerful.

Even with automatic transmission, I still smoke standard manual transmission cars.

I've taken down Civic, Acura, 325 BMWs, and older Camaro models off the bat and in the long.

The slick, sporty design turns heads big time... you will be seen and given looks in this car.

The interor is almost futuristic looking and everything is within your fingertips... power mirrors and windows, sporty looking gauges, a very curvey interior.

The stock exhaust is loud and also turns heads.

The stock system is amazing for a 1991 car, although it's an awkward tape deck so puting in a compact disk deck leaves a huge rectangular gap which a compact disk deck couldn't cover. The good thing is that the deck has an equalizer which considerably improves the sound, but which would be lost if a compact disk deck was put in. I'm hooking up a portable compact disk to the tape deck so that way I can listen to compact disks and not lose the equalizer effect.

It's all wheel drive and handles like a dream; you don't even have to break on right or left turns at speeds which normally require a driver to slow down. No... not with this car.

Because it's A.W.D, when all the other guys are storing their Mustang, Firebird or Camaro for the Winter, you get to ride this car 365 days a year.

The Car is also original and isn't as common as Honda, Acura Mustang and the usual sports cars in and above its range. By far, the fastest and best looking car in its price range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

4th Aug 2003, 23:21

You got off light with your Timing Belt. My Tensioner blew and it cost me about $850 CAN to replace that and the belts. But it was too late, my Valves were shot and my pistons damaged.

That just goes to show how important Mechanical Upkeep is. If I had changed the belt regularly it would have never happened. Of course, I only had the car for about 9 months, so I never knew the Tensioner was shot.

Anyhow... I'm sure that your AWD goes amazing in the snow, there's no doubt in my mind. I have a FWD TSI and it goes great in the snow. I live in Northern Ontario too, so I know about snow.

30th Aug 2004, 13:32

The shifter is the best short shift grip I have ever experienced in a 5 speed vehicle. I like being low to the ground, and being able to drive really fast, low to the ground, makes this car my new best friend.

30th Nov 2005, 18:19

We have an 1991 Eagle Talon and we love it to death. It is very important to keep the maintenance up on it or things do go on them, but that is apart of driving a CAR. As far as maintenance on this car, there isn't much price difference compared to most imports. It is an awsome car in the snow I can go anywhere.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews