1991 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1991 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great sports car if you got the cash to keep up with it!

Faults:

Turbo was bad upon purchase, replaced with a fully ported 14b turbocharger, and have replaced the front rotors, and full stainless 2.5 inch exhaust.

General Comments:

This car is awesome to drive. Hands down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

1991 Eagle Talon TSi FWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic import project car for road/track fun

Faults:

ECU (central computer) replaced after ~65,000 miles (leaking capacitors). Cost to repair with labor ~$1300.

Throw-out bearing began making noise after ~50,000 miles (new high performance clutch with factory throw-out bearing fixed this).

Idle speed control loop failed ~65,000 miles. Cost to repair with labor ~$300.

General Comments:

This was without doubt the most reliable car I've ever owned over the course of 10 years. Unfortunately, the most expensive repair item (ECU) came in after the 7/70 warranty expired.

The Diamond star family cars (Talon/Laser/Eclipse) readily accept aftermarket mods and produce healthy amounts of power (300 HP and more) for bolt-on solutions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

27th Feb 2005, 18:40

I had the same ECU problem on my car, but I replaced the ECU myself with a unit from a major parts chain instead of the dealer. Cost was $200.00. Running for 3 years now since replacement no problems...

1991 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 DOHC 4 cylinder turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 4 cylinder turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles

Summary:

Major Stang duster

Faults:

Original alternator went bad at 200,000 miles.

ECU capacitors started leaking onto the board, a common problem for 200,000+ DSM's.

Transmission is starting to slip at 2nd gear, but to be expected with that amount of miles.

General Comments:

Very awesome car, love the looks and the interior is well designed for the driver.

Handles like a dream and sticks to the road.

Bought endless mods and up to 350 horsepower and does 12 second quarter miles, and no axles or engine have blown yet.

I've never lost a race, truly a fast car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

18th Nov 2003, 14:34

Personally I like stangs, I had a 95gt. But I recently bought my girlfriend a 90 talon 2.0 DOHC non-turbo, and I ran a stang on the interstate and it couldn't dream of catching up with her car.

10th Aug 2005, 09:51

Hey buddy, a F-150 weighs 5000 pounds and has 250HP and your car weighs 3000 pounds and has 195HP, trucks don't race, they work.

1991 Eagle Talon from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles

Summary:

The best little sports car you could ask for

Faults:

The car is old and I am overly careful with it, so I have replaced almost everything there is to replace.

General Comments:

I love my little sports car, it is great on hills, excellent on gas (400 miles to a tank).

The best little car anybody could ask for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1991 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Absolutely a super killer on road! Excellent!

Faults:

Many parts were made in cheaply, so they are mostly old and worn out.

The driver's side window is always lost in track.

Valve springs always produce a strange sound if the mileage is high.

The front and back window (especially back one) is loosing tension when the mileage is high.

Boost too much will need to replace exhaust manifold.

General Comments:

This car is the best one to modify for excellent performance. I can beat many cars no matter if they are expensive or new on the road. Spending some money can make it fly!

Clutch and transmission are weak originally, so need to replace it when the mileage is over 80,000.

Maintenance is very important to this car. Turbo timer, changing engine oil, transmission oil, transfer case oil and other oils are necessary very often.

My car's exterior and interior are better than many 95-99 vehicles because of the high level of maintenance. If you are too lazy to take care of this car, it will be rubbish soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

26th May 2004, 10:44

I think the eagle talon car front wheel drive is one of the best cars I ever had besides the all wheel drive one. I only had the front wheel drive turbo wit 22lbs of boost I bought it from a guy for $3000. I could't believe the power the car had I took it to moroso an run a 14.2 in the quarter mile and wasn't even mashing the gas hard I know I could have ran harder than that. eagle talons are very fast cars and you have to keep then up on oil changes all the time like after 2000 miles, but they will make great horse power in the long run believe me... keep your eagle take good care of it and it will fly you anywhere..bye.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews