1991 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 turbo from North America


Quebec all season sporty bargain


- 1 link kit

General Comments:

This is my third 1st generation Eagle Talon AWD. I never had a problem with this model. I think that you just have to know how to drive this kind of car and you will almost never have most problems that other cars get.

This car is not a V8, but I race the car in 1/4 miles with more boost than stock without any problem! First of all, I bought the car for winter to store my Mustang, and now, I prefer my Talon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

6th May 2001, 03:12

I was wondering if an Eagle Talon (91 TSi turbo) is an advisable car to drive in the winter, say in... ALBERTA? This would solve a mother daughter argument seeing as how people are driving in Quebec...

7th Oct 2002, 16:37

Yeah good idea the talon was a way better investment than the mustange I would stick to turbo dsm's :)

4th Aug 2003, 23:34

Talons are an excellent winter car. I have a '91 FWD TSI and I live in Northern Ontario. I slapped on a set of Winter Tires and never looked back!

1991 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L Turbo from North America


Yes, but only if you have money to spend on repairs


Trashed input bearing in the transmission after owning the car for 450 miles (rebuilt transmission).

1800.00 - replaced right front drive axle due to a torn CV boot.

Left rear caliper.

Locked up at 76mph (fun ride).

Rebuilt the turbocharger at 83,000 miles (500.00).

General Comments:

Great ride, great handling, I only wish that the moron mechanic who rebuilt the entire timing system would have known what he was doing. Due to his negligence my engine was severly damaged and I had to sell the car. I am well versed in the upkeep and repair of the 2.0L engine and I wish I would have done the work myself.

Save yourself some time and money, only take your Talon to a Mitsubishi dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

1991 Eagle Talon 2.0 liter from North America


The most fun and reliable car I have owned


This is a 1992 car. Basic, not TSi or Turbo.

Replaced A/C at 78K miles. $950.00 new from a dealer, not rebuilt.

Other than that, just an electronic coil, batteries (about every 1.5 - 2 years) and spark plug wires.

General Comments:

Still on the original brake pads after 8.5 years and 78K miles.

Sporty, fun and versatile.

Easy on the pocket book.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

1991 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 from North America


Only if you have a lot of money or if you're a mechanic


ECU went out without warning, the dealership wanted over a $1000 to fix and took two weeks to figure that out.


Cruise control.

Cigarette lighter.

Electric mirrors.

Air conditioner

Had to replace the front motor mounts 3 times.

Air sensor.

Draw in battery system (making the battery always dead)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2000

1991 Eagle Talon 2.0 from North America


Very sporty, economical and reliable


I've had to replace the timing belt twice since I bought the car. The timing belt recently broke while I was on the highway, which resulted in two severely damaged cylinders costing about $1300.

Only other work that's been needed on the car are tires and brakes, which seem to need frequent maintenance.

General Comments:

The body and engine have held up extremely well - compared to cars with similar mileage.

Clutch or transmission haven't needed any work in 160,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

1991 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America


Extremely snappy, headturner, fun in the snow!


ABS hydraulic unit ($250 self-installed - 20 minutes), oil pan & valve cover gaskets ($100 self-installed - 1 hour), clutch (at 114,000 miles) and the flywheel ($670, service center installed - 1 day).

When the ABS went on me, I had no warning (ie: no warning light, poor performance, etc) -- I hit the brakes for a red light, they simply did not work. I rear-ended a Ford and did $1,600 in damage to the two vehicles.

Despite that, I absolutely love the way this car performs, handles, drives, steers, and works. It's white with a black spoiler and ground effects. Even though it's 10 years old, the car still looks REALLY nice and has no rust. 3 clerks at different gas stations have asked me what I'm driving and said it looks nice. They never said that about my Honda ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

7th Apr 2003, 11:50

I own a 1991 talon tsi. I was wondering if you had a body kit, or if anyone knows where I can find one. If anyone knows please email me at MidnightRiderz02@Hotmail.com.

1991 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 Turbo from North America


High running costs


A lot. But all from old hoses.. Kinda sux that a 5 dollar hose can cost you 1,000 in repair bills.

General Comments:

I've had some problems.. But hey.. Who doesn't?

I love my car and wouldn't trade it for anything (well, maybe a Porsche 911 Coupe Turbo) :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2000