1991 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1991 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Definitely an awesome car, no more problems then you would have with any other 10 year old car

Faults:

Replaced the starter.

Rear hatch struts broken.

Right front half-axle replaced.

Needs a new left front half axle

Major shifter grind going into second gear.

General Comments:

Loved the speed when I first got it, but it seems to have gotten slower.

AWD is awesome in the snow.

Amazingly, the 10 year old factory CD player plays new burned cd's, some of my friends newer players won't even do that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

1991 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A speedy way to fun

Faults:

When I first got the car I had to redo all of the brakes. I also had to change the driver's side front axle. The turbo is going to need to be rebuilt soon also.

General Comments:

With 195 horses from the factory, this car is fast. Having all wheel drive the car handles great. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2001

1991 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance101500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

High maintenance and performance

Faults:

Have replaced the front rotors 4 times.

Replaced the turbo 3 times.

Replaced the radiator once.

Put a short block engine in at 53,000 miles.

Replaced the ECM (electronic control modular-brain) once.

Replaced a harmonic balancer and hatch gas supports once.

General Comments:

Great car. I recommend to anyone to upgrade to cross drilled front rotors. I found mine at Olympia motor parts in Virginia. Most work was done by the dealer under the 7/70 warranty. Also I recommend Michlen MX4 VR tires. Great holding power and long life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

4th Aug 2003, 23:25

When I read about people having to change parts so often it really makes me wonder about them, the people that is. How well do you take care of your vehicle? Your Turbo shouldn't have busted that many times, or at all, if you would take care of it. Always use High Octane Fuel, and never shut off your car without letting your Turbo cool down...

1991 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2300 kilometres
Most recent distance315688 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Comfortable

Faults:

Exterior horizontal rubber/paint strip under the driver and passenger window has cracked since day 1.

Cracked clutch release bearing at 6800 kms. Annoying sound. Still present.

Rims started eroding at 45000 kms.

Various problems with dash board/console lights. Sometimes working, sometimes not.

Lots of fuse problems.

Stereo stopped working at 310,000 kms.

Replaced 2 turbo rods.

General Comments:

Original engine, clutch and turbo.

Car has 316000 kms, and runs like a dream. This car was designed for comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 21:43

What the heck is a turbo rod???

1991 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car if you have money to burn

Faults:

Regular repairs - very costly.

Major problems - tranny grinds in second, hard to find (R).

The engine needs major repairs, can't take it past 5000rpm without major valve-train bounce.

General Comments:

This car handles very well, with its standard 16 inchers, no body roll.

I made some upgrades such as a K&N intake, took out the cat-converter, performance wires, and I use 91 octane with boost.

Improved it from 0-60 before of 8.8sec, now 8.1sec, still not fast.

My black Talon with tinted windows is nice looking (I tell chicks it's a Stealth R/T), however these DSM cars are built like crap! I can only imagine the problems with the TSi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

3rd Aug 2001, 09:32

You have to remember, when a car is 10 years old, there are going to be problems with it and for the most part they do hold up pretty well.

And for the shifter problem, you're not special, all of the cars have that problem, get some BG Syncroshift and it will help.

26th Feb 2002, 15:08

0-60 in 8.1? There must be some other problems under your hood. My Talon runs about 7.4! And like the other guy said, the shifter problem you experience is common. If you would like a much better performing and (in my opinion) cooler looking Talon, go for the 95's.

24th Aug 2002, 14:48

Umm yeah ESi, theres your problem.

30th Oct 2002, 11:23

I have a '91 Eagle Talon that runs great. I have owned it for about three years. I have not had any problems with it except the motor mounts needing replaced. Maybe I am just lucky.

15th Aug 2003, 19:10

I have a 1991 eagle talon Esi also, and I have the same rev problem. Once I hit 5000rpm my valves start crapping out and the whole car shakes, if you know what is causing this please leave a message.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews