1989 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

You'll be lucky to own one

Faults:

Not much, this summer I replaced the valve cover gaskets and the electric door lock on the driver's side.

Exhaust system will need to be replaced soon.

General Comments:

This to me was a find of a lifetime, a one owner from Denver, always taken cared for and it shows, two tone paint, red-white, that some say I had the truck painted.

Fully loaded and fun to own in both summer and winter. I just love it, and no it's not for sale, when I go it then can go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 EFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A very good vehicle

Faults:

I had a problem with the brakes, and spent too much money fixing them. The left front brake was the only thing stopping the vehicle.

Inside is like brand new.

Needs a new exhaust.

General Comments:

This vehicle isn't that bad, even though it was a 4 by 4 and was converted by the previous owner to 4 by 2 before I acquired it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 4x4 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Best 4x4 I could ask for

Faults:

When I purchased it, it had a newly rebuilt motor with only 12000 miles and it ran beautifully.

Rear CV driveshaft went out at 167000 - 175 to rebuild.

General Comments:

My Bronco II came with 2 inches of lift and street tires when I bought it, after about 10000 miles I replaced them with 31x10.50 all-terrains and she never got stuck anywhere.

Well once trying to climb some rocks with the street tires, but I mean come on.

Only gripe I had with it was the lack of ability to hold the speed limit in 5th (Over-Drive) gear at 70 on a windy day while on cruise control.

Great fun on the beach, in the mud, or out on some back trail, shame I rolled it goofing around in a ditch with some friends. I wanted to keep her but my father had other plans.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16181 miles
Most recent distance16231 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Very fortunate to purchase

Faults:

The heads were pulled and rebuilt at 16181 miles, still leaked water into crank case. Put used motor in.

General Comments:

Inside the Bronco II is beautiful. No cracks on dash or rips in the seats. Very nice for comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

This vehicle is junk

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 60,000 miles - $500.00 to fix.

The oil pump went out at 72,000 miles.

Crankshaft had to be replaced - $1300.00.

The cylinder head cracked at 80,000 miles - $600.00 to fix.

The oil pump went out at 88,000 miles - 900.00 to repair (the engine must be pulled).

The camshaft bearings went out and the motor started knocking badly. Replaced the engine with a rebuilt one. 3300.00 to replace.

General Comments:

The oil and filters were changed every 3000 miles and the vehicle was maintained properly. My mechanic says the 2.9L engines are junk. I can't afford to buy new vehicle or I would junk this heap!!

The only positive thing I will say is it is comfortable and is easy to drive.

If you have over 50000 miles on one you are driving a time bomb.

I will go back Japanese (Nissan) as my 200SX had over 175000 miles and the valve covers were never pulled on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

10th Jul 2001, 02:28

I've got 199,000 on my 87.

5th Aug 2001, 12:45

I have 143,000 on mine, and it's an auto. How did you drive your Bronco?

8th Aug 2001, 11:20

From what I heard the 2.9 is a German engine and quite reliable.???

8th Aug 2001, 19:17

Man... I bought my Bronco back in March... it has 155,000 on it and the motor is in terrific shape... just the transmission in mine went bad and I had to rebuild it, and just a few small things, but other than that, it's a perfect little truck.

1989 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer 2x4 2.9 EFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Incredibly reliable, lots of love to keep it running

Faults:

Clutch 140k, again at 200k.

Water pump at 185k.

Power steering pump & lines at 210k.

Rear driveshaft CV joints at 150k, 190k and 230k.

Valve cover gaskets at 120k, and again at 240k.

Starter motor at 180k.

General Comments:

Lots of work done on the car, but nothing I couldn't handle.

Incredibly reliable. Never had to call for a tow.

Parts readily available, cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

6th Jun 2003, 10:41

I have an 89 Bronco II, Edie Bauer edition. The brake light and rear antilock started to come on yesterday. Do you know what needs to be done?

Thanks, Frank.

9th Sep 2004, 14:23

Check the Brake fluid in the master cylinder under the hood. If your low on brake fluid the lights will come on. Mine was leaking and every time I filled it back up, no more lights!

24th Apr 2006, 13:11

I've had the same problem. TRY THIS. When you start your Bronco, turn the ignition back just a little bit, it's an electrical problem.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 45 reviews