1989 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 4X4 2.9 E.F.I from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 E.F.I Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carJeep 77 CJ-5

Summary:

Reliable, sure footed 4X4

Faults:

Power steering pump leaked.

Window motors.

Changed all hoses and belts.

Brakes being redone.

Oil pump failed.

Oil pressure and temperature gauges died.

Shocks replaced.

General Comments:

I have replaced many other things since purchasing it. However I do find it to be fairly reliable. I can't complain about the work I've done to it. Hell that's routine for any car over 100,000 miles.

Truck handles beautifully, on and off road. Also very stable on ice. Everything is in great shape, paint, interior, and drivetrain. Interior looks new.

The only thing I find lacking is the amount of power. That shall be remedied shortly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great small SUV for off-roading

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the truck, other than routine maintenance - belts, brakes, tires etc.

Bought it new and had not 1 problem that has required it to be in the shop.

General Comments:

I think that when people have problems with this little truck, are when they buy a used Bronco and it had been abused by a novice off-roader. If you understand the limits of the Bronco II then you will be in good shape (from my own experience the Bronco II has very little limitations for a stock truck).

Great vehicle, just watch the transmissions (stick and auto).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance185196 miles
Previous carford bronco II 4X4 XLT

Summary:

Die hard!!!

Faults:

If you can believe it the only thing that has gone wrong is the drive shaft.

General Comments:

I don't now how or why, but it runs like new. I know I will get over 200,000 miles out of it. I mean it I haven't put one cent in to the engine. Ford makes a good SUV, my father in law has a 1991 Ford Explorer and if you can believe this it has 254,000 miles on it and still runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II 4x4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance200650 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Rugged, reliable, classic compact SUV

Faults:

For the most part an excellent car, engine is still kicking at over 200k.

Have had numerous electrical problems with the headlight switch.

Problems with the fly-wheel starter.

Paint on hood and roof is flaking.

Top of the dashboard is damaged due to sunlight.

4x4 gear-box was torn up when I drove on the highway with it engaged.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Faults:

Flat tire.

New transmission.

General Comments:

I love this truck. It is awesome off-road. I put 33x12.5 tires on it and I have to say it is sweet. I've heard people say that it rolls over easy but mine hasn't yet. This bad boy sounds like a V8 with the exhaust I put on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XLT V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

An overall good car, but with an unworthy transmission

Faults:

Trunion gear snapped.

Transmission shot.

Corroded exhaust.

General Comments:

Good car overall. But if you like spending a lot of money, I would recommend not buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1989 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance368896 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Faults:

I bought the truck from my grandpa (the original owner) and I drove it through high school. I'm now in college and have been from AZ to FL 4 times, WY once and CA a lot.

She has finally died with the original powertrain. My engine died and it is my only vehicle, winter is coming and I need an engine (never let girlfriends drive your Ford).

Anybody got one??

General Comments:

I loved the truck, it is very dependable and it looks cool with its lift, 33 tires and a chopped rear top that now is a soft top.

It had been rolled 6 times and I drove it home with no damage to the tires, frame, steering or powertrain. Now it is fixed but dead. Please help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2000

29th Nov 2000, 00:23

Hi, you said the truck was a Bronco II and had been converted to a soft top. Did you have this done? I am considering having this done to my '89 Bronco II, but have not found anyplace to get the top. Any information you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Garrett

gdphill@yahoo.com

2nd Apr 2008, 15:14

1989 Bronco II: Just purchased - Like it a lot - Where can I get an owners manual or and owners manual online? Thank

1989 Ford Bronco II 4wd 2.9 efi from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 efi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Good looking, good performing vehicle

Faults:

Starter/flywheel compatibility problem.

General Comments:

This is the second Bronco II I have owned. The fold down back seats, short wheel base and short turning radius make this an excellent off road vehicle.

Gas mileage is very good for a 4wd vehicle but I wish it had a 4.0 engine. It has a good body style and looks sharp when cherryed out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

1989 Ford Bronco II 2 door XLT 2.9 V6 140HP from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 140HP Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance94400 miles

Summary:

A nice, small, roomy SUV

Faults:

Clear coat is coming off on the roof and the hood, power steering fluid leak, wind shield wiper fluid pump in the front is shot.

General Comments:

A real nice car with a small motor (not for racing) but good all around (would look nice with lots of accessories)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 45 reviews