1995 Ford F150 Extended Cab XL 5.0 litre 302 V8 from North America

Summary:

Absolutely best truck ever made!

Faults:

The starter relay went at 30,000kms.

The front caliper brakes have been replaced twice, due to them dragging on the rotor.

General Comments:

I drive this truck every day, year round, and it has never let me down, even in the cold Canadian winters.

The body is in mint shape and still solid. Was oil-guarded once in 1998. It seldom gets washed, even in the winter.

Has not had a tune-up other than plugs and air filter being changed once.

Everything is original, even the exhaust system, and it still passes the emissions test.

It isn't the best on gas, but it is a Ford.

The oil gets changed once a year, and the engine runs smooth and quiet.

I had written several updates regarding this truck, but are now deleted somehow. Maybe I have had this truck too long!

By far the BEST vehicle I have owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2012

25th Nov 2013, 12:20

Original poster update

Another year later and no repairs. Just installed new tires. My wife went with me for a ride and she can't believe how quiet the motor runs and the new truck feeling. The passenger rear wheel well edge is just starting to rust. At this rate the truck shouldn't be totally rusted out for at least five years.

Don't ever want to get rid of it! I will never get another truck that is this dependable again.

17th Jan 2015, 16:50

Original Poster Update.

Another year later and it is still going strong. A little more rust on the one wheel well, but not bad yet. It past the emissions test with no problems, with the whole original exhaust system still intact. As far as I know, I have never even replaced a light or signal bulb in twenty years. Truly an amazing vehicle.

1995 Ford F150 XL 4.9 I6 from North America

Summary:

The best pickup you can buy... full stop

Faults:

I bought this truck about 10 months ago. Mind you, the truck was running and this stuff was done on weekends, whenever I had some extra cash kicking around:

Replaced:

Clutch.

Slave cylinder.

Front rotors/calipers/pads/bearings/ball joints.

Front coil springs and shocks.

Serpentine belt.

Starter.

Shackle on the left side.

Replaced stock (235/75/15) tires with 265/75/15s.

Still not working:

A/C.

4 ways.

General Comments:

What else can I say? This truck is an absolute TANK. The PO was using this rig to tow used cars from New England to New Jersey about twice a week. When I had gotten this thing, it already had 310k on it and purred like a kitten, but needed a whole bunch of stuff done 'at some point'.

Long story short, I have taken this thing on several road trips and it hasn't complained or left me on the side of the road. Before the bigger tires, I was getting about 16 city and 19 highway. After the upgrade, that got pushed up to about 17/21. The I6 provides a beastly amount of low-end torque, and the high-end starts creeping in at about 2750 RPM.

After the shackle was repaired, I was moving boulders around my property with absolutely no problem. I probably had the better part of 2200 lbs in there with no complaints. I personally have never towed with it, but wouldn't hesitate to do so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2012

1995 Ford F150 XLT 5.0 V8 from North America

Summary:

The best Ford F-150 truck produced

Faults:

Fuel line and pump broke on the rear tank.

Passenger side window won't roll back up.

General Comments:

This is the toughest truck Ford has ever built. I have hit 4 deer and not a scratch on it. This truck survived a tornado and a storage unit dropping on it, with only minor scrapes, dents, and a broken windshield. No major damage; the dents are not even that big.

I have driven this truck over 20,000 miles in the past two years. All I have needed to get were a few oil changes and gas. Let me phrase that better; a lot of gas. I have driven this truck to many different states. Towing between 1k-9k worth of weight is no problem. The owner's manual says 5k max tow, but that's a lie. Like I said, 9k was a breeze.

I believe that the death of this truck is going to be rust. I abuse the dang thing, but it won't die.

After 170k miles, you would think there would be engine noise, transmission lock ups, or even A/C or heater problems. I have no engine noise or rattle, the transmission shifts like a breeze with no jerking, my heater will sweat you out on full blast, even in 10 degree weather, and my A/C cools down faster than my mother's 2012 Kia, and keeps me cool in temperatures of 115 degrees.

I would recommend it for anyone. It runs great, it's tough, is very reliable, and pulls like a 250 in a 150 body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2012