1995 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1995 Ford F150 Lightning 351 cu. in. Windsor from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 351 cu. in. Windsor Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Absolutely nothing went wrong with my 1995 Lightning.

General Comments:

The 1995 Lightning handles very well, but at the expense of a compliant or forgiving ride. The ride can be downright harsh at times.

The driving position was somewhat cramped for my 6'3" frame. This was due to the special performance (Recarro style) bucket seats located further forward than taller drivers might like.

Everything remained rock solid and held up very well during my 5 years and nearly 140,000 miles with the Lightning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

26th May 2003, 00:52

It is correctly written L-I-G-H-T-N-I-N-G, (no "E"). I have a 94 the only problem he has had was a bent push rod (that's what street racing gets you).Now it's a 408 stroker with a.650 solid lift cam with a 13psi vortec. Yet I still drive it on the street. best mod what so ever mass air conversion kit!!!

1995 Ford F150 F 150 4x4 300 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 300 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Faults:

The 4 wheel drive went out, again.

General Comments:

Something is wrong with the design of the 4x4 unit if it keeps going out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2002

1995 Ford F150 XLT 4.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.9L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

An overall nice ride

Faults:

Oil pan rusted out at 100,000 miles.

Ball joints were replaced twice.

Gas tank rusted out at 120,000 miles.

Air conditioning leaked at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck was very reliable and handled well.

On long trips the hard bench seats took their toll on my back.

The truck had great power in the low end, but had trouble with speeds while passing.

All of the few controls it did have, were within easy reach.

The in-line 6 cylinder had great torque.

Other than the rusting of the oil pan, there were no engine problems ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

1995 Ford F150 XLT Supercab 4x4 302 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Overall, it's one tough truck for the money

Faults:

Oil pan gasket leak (common problem).

Rusted out oil pan (common problem).

Transmission fluid leak.

Automatic locking front hubs went bad.

Rust at bottom of cab and over rear wheel-wells.

Oxygen sensor went bad (check engine light).

General Comments:

I have had only one expensive problem with the truck, which was the oil pan replacement. Overall, I have been very happy with the truck for what I paid. The 302 V8 runs smoothly, and although this truck is a little underpowered, it gets reasonable gas mileage, and can still haul & pull the tough loads.

The automatic transmission has been problem free except for a fluid leak between the transmission and transfer case. I am much happier since I replaced the automatic hubs with manual hubs.

The ride is smooth for such a big truck, and the power steering and brakes work well. I have not had any electrical problems with the truck since I bought it.

Overall, this is one tough truck that has handled every big job I've thrown at it. Even with the mechanical problems I've encountered, I fully expect to get 150k-200k miles from it without any more major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

4th Dec 2003, 19:08

Hey, I have a couple of questions for you. I have a 1995 Ford F-150 with a 302 and I have replaced 4 different O2 sensors within a year. I notice a loss in power and the truck struggles to gain the power back unless I mash on the gas. I know that they go bad by the truck running rich, but what causes that? Is it the injectors or may be the catalytic converter clogged up? Email me at Mmurphy@door.net with a reply. I also am having 2 seals fixed. A rear main seal and an oil pan gasket. my truck has 142,000 miles on it.

Thanks,

Michael.

22nd Aug 2008, 18:25

I had a real problem with the tranny, it exploded, but I got myself and that Dodge out of the ditch first (;P), I found a great price from a guy in denver, it's called Boothill truck parts, got lots of stuff for this year/model truck. But remember to change the fluid and filter!!

1995 Ford F150 XLT 4.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Total junk

Faults:

This truck is very bad.

The truck has problems after problems.

It all started with it eating front rotors (5 in the first year).

Then it went through a set of tires in the first 6 months.

Also had the U-joints on the front axle that had to be replaced twice in the first 2 years.

Then the latest was a oil pan link, which for some reason, I took it to the local dealership at a price of 500 dollars.

General Comments:

Do not buy this truck, buy GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 09:31

Let me just say you're a GM person, so no matter what, you'll put down Ford.

But compare how many good and bad reviews the F-150 has and how many the Silverado has, the Chevy has more bad reviews than the Ford does.

29th Jul 2002, 22:41

Well, I own a 1995 Ford F-150 4x4 4.9 straight 300 6 cylinder and I haven't had any problems with it. I recently put 33/12.50 mud kings on 15 by 10 inch rims and it will mud and climb great. It has 168,000 miles on the engine body and everything and it still runs great and uses no oil at all. I pull a trailor with it everday and it pulls it very good. My whole family owns Fords and they have no problems with them. GM will never be as good as Ford.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews