1995 Ford F150 XLT 4.9 fuel injected 6 cylinder from North America


Built like a tank... Tows like a train, runs no matter what... A real Redneck Rolls


Heater core leaked. Needed replacement, but wasn't a problem till I could afford it.

Front tank fuel pump out when I got it (I haven't ever bothered replacing it.. gas is too high that I'd cry if I had to fill both tanks). I have no problem running out of the back tank.

Clutch master cylinder wore out 328,000 miles.

General Comments:

When the Doc grounded me for good from my Harley, my son in law (who got the Harley) gave me this truck to soften the blow.

Ole 8-ball (my name for it, because it's got an 8-ball shifting handle) just keeps on going. An oil change twice a year and a gas tank twice a week are all that it's ever required.

Items wear out on occasion and get replaced, but I can do all that myself with simple tools.

Gets me to work, hauls everything, and tows boats and trailers better than anything I ever had.

It's hard for my wife to swallow, but it runs better, costs less to maintain, and is easier to fix than her top of the line Nissan Altima that cost three times as much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2012

16th Jul 2012, 10:09

The Ford 4.9 inline 6 is one heck of an engine. Not surprised if it goes to half a million miles. My 81 Econoline had over 400k on it when I sold it, and I'm sure it's still running out there somewhere...

1995 Ford F150 XLT 5.0 from North America




Tensioner pulley at 230,000.

Idler pulley at 215,000.

Alternator at 253,000.

General Comments:

The 5.0 is bulletproof. We've overheated it on three separate occasions to the red line, due to the pulleys coming off two times, until it stopped. Let it cool off, put new pulleys on, and it was back on the road again.

Hit two deer with it, and and caused no damage whatsoever.

Have pulled 20,000 pounds of industrial metal trusses; not what an F-150 is meant to do. Surprisingly didn't break any leaf springs.

Steering is loose, seats are uncomfortable, and the back seats suck.

Has never failed to start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2012

1995 Ford F150 XLT 5.0L V8 302 from North America


Great truck


Had A/C recharged at 111,000 miles.

Front gas tank sending unit went out.

Crack in windshield.

Crack in dashboard.

Needs a new ashtray; old one is broken and not secured.

General Comments:

This truck is 4x4 with the 5 speed manual, and manual locking hubs with 32 inch Wild Country radial RVT tires.

Has the 5.0L V8 302. Gets decent gas mileage; city is 15mpg, highway is 17-19mpg.

Regular cab. Long bed 8 foot bed. Dual gas tanks. Borg Warner 4x4 axle and housing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2011

1995 Ford F150 XLT 4.9 from North America


I would buy another 4.9 in a heartbeat


Rear brakes went as soon as I bought it.

Bushings in the front.

Cracked leaf spring from a little off roading.

General Comments:

Strong pulling machine.

It gets decent gas mileage for a truck of that year. Some of my other friend's vehicles have broken down, but my Ford keeps running like a champ. I have put this truck through its paces, and I'm proud to say it passed with flying colors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2011

13th Nov 2011, 18:12

I love my 4.9 F-150!!!

1995 Ford F150 XL 4.9 I6 from North America


We can't kill it. Truly built Ford Tough


RUST will be the death of this truck.

Power steering pump - 215,000 miles.


General Comments:

We originally bought this truck as my company truck for a tree company. When we bought it, we never expected it to outlast the company, and 3 kids learning stick shift on it. We refer to it as Trusty Rusty, because it has always been there when any of our other cars have broken down.

Naturally, it has taken some major wear from different people driving it, and being a work truck for 15 years. This truck has lasted as long, if not longer than many family cars, which have been maintained better. Ford is definitely the American Honda.

Typical Ford rust is what will be the death of this truck. We expected it to die about 4 years ago, but it's still driving fine. The 6 cylinder engine will probably outlast the universe, if maintained properly. This truck has been our best vehicle we've ever owned, and it will be a sad day when (if) it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2010