2001 Ford F150 FX4 4.6L from North America


The best I've ever had


The only thing I've found is that the tires do not stay up on the rims after putting new tires on the rims. They need a sealant so the tires and rims can seal together.

General Comments:

I've never had another truck drive as good as this one does.

It gets really good gas mileage and doesn't need a lot of work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

2001 Ford F150 SuperCrew XLT 5.4 from North America


Absolute waste of money


Alignment Problems.

3 separate ignition coils (there's one for each cylinder!) at $275 each installed by the dealer.

Rapid brake wearout.

No power, unable to pull small boat trailer at highway speeds.

Miserable gas mileage.

General Comments:

This is the most disappointing vehicle I've ever driven.

My 94 Suburban had twice the power, rode much smoother, and averaged almost 8 miles more on a gallon of gas.

All suggested services were done on time and truck is well maintained, but has never done better than 13mpg. That was on the Interstate with the cruise set at 60. Normal driving is less that 11 mpg. Dealer tells me I'm doing better than most owners. Although it has the "Towing Package" and 17 inch wheels, pulling a 14 foot aluminum fishing boat this thing downshifts on even moderate inclines and fuel consumption drops to single digits. And yes, that's with the overdrive disabled.

To add insult to injury, the 2004 retails for $5,000 less than I paid for this thing 4 years ago so I can't find anyone to buy this lemon!

I'm going back to GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

28th May 2004, 09:51

Dude, sorry you have had such a bad time of it with this truck. I own a 2002 Supercrew (4.6L) which gets 20 mpg on the highway, and while no powerhouse, will tow a 3-horse trailer at highway speeds (around 65 with the overdrive off) with no problem. I get 12 MPG while towing, but that is to be expected. The truck is comfortable and roomy (except for the bed) and a real joy to drive. XLT, power sunroof, all power, I am not sure about your local dealer, but I can't touch a comparably equipped 2004 F-150 Supercrew for anything like what the 2002 cost.

2001 Ford F150 Lariet Supercrew 5.4L V8 from North America


Sometimes cheaper isn't always better


The brakes failed at 26,000 miles. This resulted in a large bill which was not covered under the Ford warranty.

General Comments:

Overall, I have enjoyed the way the Super crew drives and handles, as well as the interior room that it offers my family of four.

However, I have never owned a vehicle, including Ford, that the brakes have failed at 26,000 miles. The dealer told me that the brakes should be replaced every 18,000 - 20,000 miles with normal wear and tear.

If this is the case, it will be the last Ford truck that I ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 12:03

That doesn't sound right. I bought a 2001 supercrew new in June 01. I have 42,000 miles now and have not had to replace brake pads yet (maybe soon though).

25th Feb 2004, 10:45

Agree...that doesn't seem right... my 2001 Supercrew front brakes were replaced around 40,000...back still good.

3rd Mar 2004, 10:48

Well if you are not sure of the service times for brakes why not go to the Ford website and see what the manufacture recommends. Although I could see replacing brakes that often if you drive the truck hard, those estimates do seem a little high. Perhaps you may want to try another dealer if the one you're dealing with seems shady.

Good luck with you truck. Sorry if one bad component has turned you off on an otherwise reliable vehicle, I'm on my second F-150 with no major problems. However if you think that's bad, check out some of the review on just about anything made by Dodge.

9th Jul 2009, 12:24

Who ever said that cheaper was better?