2001 Ford F150 XLT Supercrew 4.6 L gas from North America


A perfect dad truck


The truck had a transmission shudder that was very subtle.

The right rear door lock kept sticking.

The stereo amp clips when it gets hot.

General Comments:

This is a great truck overall if you remove the dealer from the equation.

It is very refined and the overall body quality is very good. It fits the family and all your stuff.

The dealership service has been pretty bad and the service people rude.

I wish they had an air bag cancel switch like other trucks do for kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 09:24

Come on, you know you'll buy another Ford. All dealers are bad anyway.

3rd Mar 2004, 10:51

"I wish they had an air bag cancel switch like other trucks do for kids."

Actually I've driven a 2001 F-150 with the switch in it. Perhaps they added that feature mid-year though.

13th Oct 2004, 13:06

I have 2001 ford xlt supercrew 4 wheel drive, only problem is rear end is going bad at 55,000 miles. it is a great truck drives and rides nice. i think rear end should last longer. I called ford customer service about it. only problem there is you talk to someone in India about, so ford customer service is no good. you cannot talk to anyone in AMERICA about problems, because all calls to customer service go to INDIA.

2001 Ford F150 XL 4.2L V6 from North America


If you want a new truck, the F150 is the only way to go!


There has not been one fault yet. Guzzles gas though.

General Comments:

The 4.2L V6 has lots of power... but it also guzzles gas like a V8. I normally get 14mpg in the city and 22mpg on the interstate. I own a 4x4 model and the ride on/off road is great and the new Ford trucks have the best looks. Everything is matched up and painted nicely. The new Fords also ride so smooth, probably smoother than a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

2001 Ford F150 XL SC LWB 4.2L from North America


The best truck I've ever owned



General Comments:

The 4.2L V-6 has all the old bugs gone. The power of this engine is awesome for a V-6.

The transmission (4R70W) is smooth, but has positive shift points. One of the best rated transmissions around.

3.55 gear differential gives good takeoff and highway performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

2001 Ford F150 XLT Super Crew 4.6L V8 from North America


The Biggest and the Baddest 1/2 ton


Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This truck has it all. It's got power, style and comfort. The gas mileage isn`t great but it's worth it. It hauls my family plus my tools.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

20th Dec 2000, 18:36

Just wait, tell us how you feel after 100,000 miles, assuming you get there!

6th Jul 2001, 14:54

He'll get there and then some. Ford trucks rock!! I have over 140,000 on my Ford and there's no sign of stopping yet!!

29th Dec 2002, 03:49

I have owned Ford trucks all my life and love them. My first truck had 240,000 miles before I sold it. All my other trucks had over 150,000. No repairs was needed. I just bought a 2002 F-150 and love everything about it. Everyone I know that has owned a Ford truck has nothing but good to say about them.