2001 Ford F150 Lariet Supercrew 5.4L V8 from North America

Summary:

Sometimes cheaper isn't always better

Faults:

The brakes failed at 26,000 miles. This resulted in a large bill which was not covered under the Ford warranty.

General Comments:

Overall, I have enjoyed the way the Super crew drives and handles, as well as the interior room that it offers my family of four.

However, I have never owned a vehicle, including Ford, that the brakes have failed at 26,000 miles. The dealer told me that the brakes should be replaced every 18,000 - 20,000 miles with normal wear and tear.

If this is the case, it will be the last Ford truck that I ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 12:03

That doesn't sound right. I bought a 2001 supercrew new in June 01. I have 42,000 miles now and have not had to replace brake pads yet (maybe soon though).

25th Feb 2004, 10:45

Agree...that doesn't seem right... my 2001 Supercrew front brakes were replaced around 40,000...back still good.

3rd Mar 2004, 10:48

Well if you are not sure of the service times for brakes why not go to the Ford website and see what the manufacture recommends. Although I could see replacing brakes that often if you drive the truck hard, those estimates do seem a little high. Perhaps you may want to try another dealer if the one you're dealing with seems shady.

Good luck with you truck. Sorry if one bad component has turned you off on an otherwise reliable vehicle, I'm on my second F-150 with no major problems. However if you think that's bad, check out some of the review on just about anything made by Dodge.

9th Jul 2009, 12:24

Who ever said that cheaper was better?

2001 Ford F150 XLT Triton V8 5.4 from North America

Summary:

No power, All problems!!

Faults:

Everything!!!

The computer went up at 1600 miles and still as not been right ever since. Oil leak at 2400 miles and took it to dealer and had to replace oil pan and gasket. This should not happen with a brand new truck. I was backing out of my driveway one morning, put the truck in drive and nothing. I got out of the truck and looked under it and found a huge puddle of transmission fluid. The dealer had to tow it and that cost me another 1800 dollars in repair.

General Comments:

That is the worst truck I have ever owned. I had to tow a large fith-wheel and got more noise than power. I have recently got rid of it and bought a new Chevorlet Silverado. This truck can pull better than the ford and even pass them with my trailer outback. The chevy has more power and better looks then the ford ever had. I don't know why I bought the Ford, but I know I will never buy from them again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 20:48

Chevy sucks! My 1997 Ford F-150 is the complete opposite from your Ford. Mine currently has 22k on it, and I have plenty of towing power. The seats are the best I have had in any vehicle I have ever owned. I have driven it as far as Texas from Ohio towing a 1 ton truck on a trailer, and it did great (until I got to the desert and the dumb thing started overheating!) The sound system/CD/Cass kicks plenty of bass, and people swear I have after-market speakers. The only thing I don't like is the fact that you can spin-out really easy on dry pavement if you are not loaded.

12th Mar 2004, 10:39

"This should not happen with a brand new truck. I was backing out of my driveway one morning, put the truck in drive and nothing. The dealer had to tow it and that cost me another 1800 dollars in repair."

Something doesn't seem right here. Why would a defective transmission on a "brand new truck" NOT be covered under warranty???

21st Apr 2004, 07:48

Yeah something does smell fishy here.. Dude you probably never owned a ford in your life, bet you're a hard core chevy man!

20th May 2004, 22:31

I own a 2001 Ford F-150 XLT Super cab Short bed 5.4l auto.

I love my truck. I always get 15 mpg. I have NEVER had one thing go wrong with my truck. I will definitely buy another Ford Truck. I owned Chevy's for 30+ years. I will never go back. This is the BEST truck I have ever owned. I would recommend this truck to anyone who wants a reliable, long lasting, dependable truck.

16th Dec 2004, 21:03

If I paid all that money for a brand new truck, then found a "large puddle of tranny fluid" underneath, I would never shell out $1800 out of my own pocket. Are you sure you did?