2001 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2001 Ford F150 XLT Triton V8 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Triton V8 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance46254 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

No power, All problems!!

Faults:

Everything!!!

The computer went up at 1600 miles and still as not been right ever since. Oil leak at 2400 miles and took it to dealer and had to replace oil pan and gasket. This should not happen with a brand new truck. I was backing out of my driveway one morning, put the truck in drive and nothing. I got out of the truck and looked under it and found a huge puddle of transmission fluid. The dealer had to tow it and that cost me another 1800 dollars in repair.

General Comments:

That is the worst truck I have ever owned. I had to tow a large fith-wheel and got more noise than power. I have recently got rid of it and bought a new Chevorlet Silverado. This truck can pull better than the ford and even pass them with my trailer outback. The chevy has more power and better looks then the ford ever had. I don't know why I bought the Ford, but I know I will never buy from them again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 20:48

Chevy sucks! My 1997 Ford F-150 is the complete opposite from your Ford. Mine currently has 22k on it, and I have plenty of towing power. The seats are the best I have had in any vehicle I have ever owned. I have driven it as far as Texas from Ohio towing a 1 ton truck on a trailer, and it did great (until I got to the desert and the dumb thing started overheating!) The sound system/CD/Cass kicks plenty of bass, and people swear I have after-market speakers. The only thing I don't like is the fact that you can spin-out really easy on dry pavement if you are not loaded.

12th Mar 2004, 10:39

"This should not happen with a brand new truck. I was backing out of my driveway one morning, put the truck in drive and nothing. The dealer had to tow it and that cost me another 1800 dollars in repair."

Something doesn't seem right here. Why would a defective transmission on a "brand new truck" NOT be covered under warranty???

21st Apr 2004, 07:48

Yeah something does smell fishy here.. Dude you probably never owned a ford in your life, bet you're a hard core chevy man!

20th May 2004, 22:31

I own a 2001 Ford F-150 XLT Super cab Short bed 5.4l auto.

I love my truck. I always get 15 mpg. I have NEVER had one thing go wrong with my truck. I will definitely buy another Ford Truck. I owned Chevy's for 30+ years. I will never go back. This is the BEST truck I have ever owned. I would recommend this truck to anyone who wants a reliable, long lasting, dependable truck.

16th Dec 2004, 21:03

If I paid all that money for a brand new truck, then found a "large puddle of tranny fluid" underneath, I would never shell out $1800 out of my own pocket. Are you sure you did?

2001 Ford F150 XLT / Supercrew / 2wd 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

First Ford. Was a Chevy-man. It's OK. Not as good as the hype!!

Faults:

Routinely washed the engine, shorted out 5 ignition coils!! (what, you can't wash an engine???) I used an engine wash system, very low water pressure.

Driver's door window & door lock plastic trim broke.

CD player skips after playing CDs for a while. I guess it gets hot?

General Comments:

Overall, a good truck.

The ride seems a little too stiff/sharp over rough roads.

If the engine gets wet, it shorts out the ignition coils! That sucked!!

The 4.6 liter engine seems under powered. Should have a minimum 5.0 liter. The 5.4 liter option gets 10 MPG in town!! Mine gets 12-13. One would think that with today's technology, Ford could squeeze out 17 MPG. in town.

Front seat comfort is OK. Chevrolet's truck seats are overall, pretty good, and more comfy.

Plenty of room in the rear! Kids love that! Rear doors are very wide and easy in & out.

Bright red paint, that still looks brand new at 62,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

5th May 2003, 13:32

We just washed out engine and have shorted out a couple coils. We've been arguing with our dealer since they had to replace a coil and two sparkplugs only 6 months ago, not due to washing the vehicle. Let them know how we feel about something like this happening when you wash your engine with a garden hose. Totally frustrating. Did you get the extended warranty?

22nd Feb 2004, 22:38

I have a 2001 GMC Sierra 4X4 with a 4.8 And I get 20 city and 27 highway. I think that's great. Better then ford. And it's a bigger engine. Ford's 4.6 GMC'S 4.8.

3rd Mar 2007, 20:15

"ditto on the 4.6 Ltr washing" Son just washed his after changing plugs, now engine misses like its not on all 8!?

Also found some pieces of what appears to be a rubber "O" ring type washer at bottom of spark plug hole?

19th Dec 2010, 20:03

The government rating for the above truck is 13 MPG city/16 highway. Not the ridiculous rating you are claiming. Check it out yourself at http://www.fueleconomy.gov.

The only way you are getting that is if you are going down hill both ways.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 24 reviews