2001 Ford F150 XLT / Supercrew / 2wd 4.6 liter from North America

Summary:

First Ford. Was a Chevy-man. It's OK. Not as good as the hype!!

Faults:

Routinely washed the engine, shorted out 5 ignition coils!! (what, you can't wash an engine???) I used an engine wash system, very low water pressure.

Driver's door window & door lock plastic trim broke.

CD player skips after playing CDs for a while. I guess it gets hot?

General Comments:

Overall, a good truck.

The ride seems a little too stiff/sharp over rough roads.

If the engine gets wet, it shorts out the ignition coils! That sucked!!

The 4.6 liter engine seems under powered. Should have a minimum 5.0 liter. The 5.4 liter option gets 10 MPG in town!! Mine gets 12-13. One would think that with today's technology, Ford could squeeze out 17 MPG. in town.

Front seat comfort is OK. Chevrolet's truck seats are overall, pretty good, and more comfy.

Plenty of room in the rear! Kids love that! Rear doors are very wide and easy in & out.

Bright red paint, that still looks brand new at 62,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

5th May 2003, 13:32

We just washed out engine and have shorted out a couple coils. We've been arguing with our dealer since they had to replace a coil and two sparkplugs only 6 months ago, not due to washing the vehicle. Let them know how we feel about something like this happening when you wash your engine with a garden hose. Totally frustrating. Did you get the extended warranty?

22nd Feb 2004, 22:38

I have a 2001 GMC Sierra 4X4 with a 4.8 And I get 20 city and 27 highway. I think that's great. Better then ford. And it's a bigger engine. Ford's 4.6 GMC'S 4.8.

3rd Mar 2007, 20:15

"ditto on the 4.6 Ltr washing" Son just washed his after changing plugs, now engine misses like its not on all 8!?

Also found some pieces of what appears to be a rubber "O" ring type washer at bottom of spark plug hole?

19th Dec 2010, 20:03

The government rating for the above truck is 13 MPG city/16 highway. Not the ridiculous rating you are claiming. Check it out yourself at http://www.fueleconomy.gov.

The only way you are getting that is if you are going down hill both ways.

2001 Ford F150 XLT Supercrew 5.4 V-8 from North America

Summary:

#1 in its class

Faults:

Rotors were warped at 3000 miles

Seat belt recall on the latches at 6000.

General Comments:

The Ford Super-crew is an excellent truck to own. For the room, comfort and price, it is well worth the money...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

2001 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Its the #1 selling truck for a good reason!

Faults:

The drivers window sticks on the seal when its below 0 outside.

Other than the window, absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This is my first truck, and won't be my last.

I had to order the Short Cab, Short Bed, XLT with the V-8. Glad I waited. I like the looks of the short bed, short cab, and the power of the small V8, and I really like having the power options. This thing has 4 cup holders and only 3 seats, I love it.

CD player has good sound considering the Ford stereos of the past.

The ride isn't as harsh as other short wheelbase pickups I've driven in the past.

I have already towed a car on a flatbed with it and it seriously impressed me. Broad power band with consistent pulling power. Four wheel disk brakes brought everything to a halt with little effort.

My four wheeler fits perfectly in the back and the tie down hooks built in to the bed are perfect for holding it in.

Runs very well down the freeway at 75MPH at low RPM's.

It could use stiffer rear shocks though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

2001 Ford F150 SVT Lightning 5.4L Supercharged V8 from North America

Summary:

I don't quite get it, but I sure do like it

Faults:

Nothing major so far. Cigarette lighter burnt out early on, and there've been a couple intermittent squeaks up in the dash. Not unusual for a truck, and the dealer is good about tracking them down and fixing them.

General Comments:

This truck is somewhat of a contradiction, I must admit. It's nowhere near as useful as a "real" truck, and doesn't handle anything like a "real" sports car. But, it's an awful lot of fun, and quite reliable so far.

I should mention that I do not own this truck -- my boyfriend received it for a graduation present, courtesy of his parents and I. It was his dream truck, and he's quite happy with it.

The ride is somewhat stiff, but generally smooth enough for comfort. The interior is typical Ford -- ergonomics and materials are not all they could be, but not terrible, either. I must say that I have never sat in a truck that is so comfortable.

Handling is much better than any truck I've ever driven. It lacks that disconnected, floaty feeling of any large vehicle. It's still a big heavy truck, no doubt about it, but it's a sports car of a truck. As I said, a contradiction!

The engine is something else. Huge power, enormous torque. If you like the sound of a big bellowing V8, you'll love the sound of a Lightning.

We've taken it on a few long road trips. This is just about the perfect vehicle for that, believe it or not. Fast, powerful, comfortable, and nice and high of the ground. I was pleasantly surprised how well it did over long distances.

Around town? Well... If you live in the country, you know about guys and their trucks. Everyone stares, since there don't seem to be many of these around. Must be good for the boyfriend's ego!

Gripes? Nothing you wouldn't expect, I suppose. It sucks down gas like there's no tomorrow, and I have a feeling it'll need new tires (which cost a fortune!) before too long. Massive torque + 25 year old guy = big smoky burnouts, which just kills the tires! Definitely not something I'd buy for it's utility either, if you know what I mean. As you'd expect, it's very twitchy in the rain, and when it snows he'll be commuting in my Subaru, I'm sure.

Overall, my boyfriend really loves it, and I like it enough, too. If you like trucks, but want a sports car, and can't decide -- think about a Lightning. It's quite the fun, somewhat quirky vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

23rd Aug 2002, 20:57

All I can say about this truck is "Awesome".

11th Sep 2002, 20:30

This truck is my dream truck. It's got power no other truck has. It's got a body of a musculine design like a new a new bull kid in town per say. It's got that new and upgrade clear tail lights which will turn anyone to look twice on the truck. I mean with a 380 hp supercharged engine, I feel like I'm the king of the road. I've raced so many sports car such as Porche Boxters, Hondas, Corvettes, Dodge trucks, Lexus, Mercedes. These are few, but they can't beat my acceleration torque which scares them when they hear the engine screaming like a loud growl. This is it. This is the sport truck of the century!!