2002 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 9 of 12

2002 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Well packaged family car

Faults:

Nothing - everything works as it should.

General Comments:

An excellent family car, good looks and a smooth car to drive. We had a Ford Focus saloon that covered 75,000 miles in 3 years without any problem - although it did have the start of a gearbox whine at the end. The Mondeo is much better, very smooth driver with masses of luggage space. My only concern is the fuel consumption round town of 25-27mpg. But then it is a 2 litre automatic - lovely to drive in stop/start traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec S 2.0 TDCi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance16200 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Great looking and fun to drive

Faults:

The only thing wrong with the car is that the driver seat squeaks.

General Comments:

The Zetec S is very sporty in appearance.

The 18" wheels and body kit make the car one of the best lookers around.

This car is very quick and yet economical to run.

I haven't been getting quite as many miles per gallon as Ford claim, but an average of 43 is still excellent.

This is the best car I have ever driven.

This car could be improved with the addition of cruise control and a sixth gear, both of which are now standard on new models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

2nd Dec 2004, 08:41

I have just acquired a 2.5 V6 Zetec-s, and totally agree that this is a great looking/handling car. The 18 inch alloys look fantastic, coupled with the bodykit you can hardly tell the difference between this and a ST220!!The interior finish is second to none and of a far better quality than its so called German/Japanese rivals, it's a very nice place to be in!As for the performance the V6 pulls like a steam train after 4500rpm, its hard to believe a big car like this can be so fast, that said the fuel economy is quite bad, but what do you expect driving a car that is capable of doing over twice the national speed limit!!!This car is one of Ford's best kept secrets, drive one and see for yourself!

15th Mar 2005, 05:28

I bought a second hand 03 plate Zetec S TDCi with full body kit & stud alloys. It is a great car. A marvellous motorway cruiser and so quick off the mark I would defy anyone to say it was diesel. Bags of room and an incredibly sporty look make this one of the best cars I have owned.

6th Nov 2005, 15:12

Why do Vectra and BMW male drivers always want to race me? We own a Mondeo 2.5 v6 zetec s (BEAST) and me being a lady driver I seem to attract all the showoffs, but the thing is they NEVER beat me and my MONDY. I don't even know why they try. I think they see the V6 on the side, maybe they feel threatened by a woman driver. This car drives like a dream. handles like a dream, looks like a beast. what more can I say. With its 18inch alloys sports kit it looks amazing. And it's a petrol Zetec S, that's why it's a V6.Diesels are not V6s.

2nd Jul 2006, 14:47

For the first time I drove a Zetec S diesel and I was more impressed than with my Legacy Turbo. This is true.

9th Sep 2008, 10:28

You say "And it's a petrol Zetec S, that's why it's a V6.Diesels are not V6s."

You sure know your engines!

9th Sep 2008, 14:19

You can have diesel V6's, Audi and Land Rover have them, but yeah Ford don't that I know of.

2002 Ford Mondeo LX tdci from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission tdci Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Forget the badge-Drive the car

Faults:

Nothing. So far so good.

General Comments:

Married, with 3 children aged 11, 9 and 7 and needed a car with a degree of safety, room, comfort and three 3 point belts in the rear. We went to the dealer with the intention of buying a people carrier, and ended up with a Mondeo.

Regrets...none.

The salesman's view was that this was one of the best cars Ford has made. I cannot disagree with him. It's frugal, fast and comfortable. It's good fun to drive, my wife likes it and the children are happy with it, as it's got space, comfort and a better sound system than we've got at home.

I do a mix of motorway driving and driving in the Scottish Highlands. The car is a consummate motorway cruiser, but the diesel engine has enough poke to get past slower vehicles safely on narrow rural roads. Being a canny Scot, I don't see as much of filling stations as I used to.

This year's driving holiday to France should be a walk in the park in this car.

Maintenance wise, all I've done thus far is change the oil, which I do with every car at 6000 mile intervals.

Only with hindsight, do I now know that Jeremy Clarkson wasn't far off the mark when he panned the Vectra after it came out. It's a shame it took so long for me to realise he was right.

I'm in danger of turning into a car bore I like it so much!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 37 reviews