2002 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 7 of 12

2002 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 TDdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDdi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance48856 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Great family cruiser

Faults:

Electrical driver seat height adjustment failed. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic family car. Must be one of the best value second hand buys due to the rapid depreciation from new. My last car was a basic Skoda Octavia (1.6 LX). That car cost me £1000 more to buy and was 3 months older when I bought it than the Mondeo was. The Mondeo is very highly specced and has a much better finished cabin and more powerful and economical engine. Makes like Skoda might make good value sense bought brand new, but I think Ford is hard to beat second hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

10th Feb 2006, 08:39

I would have just one negative comment about the Mondeo. For a modern diesel, the fuel economy is not great. About 40-45mpg. I would really expect 50+mpg.

31st Jul 2006, 13:12

I have the same model... I have just done 160 miles today (motorway, A and B roads) car weighing 2+ tons (passengers, tank of diesel, cars weight...) and it used about 17 litres of fuel... can't complain, it does about 38 a gallon in town, but I do have a slightly heavy right foot!

1st Oct 2007, 08:41

I wrote the above review shortly after buying this car. Now almost two years on and 40K miles, I am just trading it in against another Mondeo (2006 TDCi Edge). The car has given me very good service, requiring nothing other than replacement of tyres and a couple of light bulbs. I still stand by everything I wrote when I was new to the car. Fuel economy is OK, but not great for a diesel.

2002 Ford Mondeo 2.0 zetec petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles

Summary:

Better quality control would make difference

Faults:

Rear bushes on A frame.

General Comments:

Good car, but some annoying things.

Seat belt chimes really annoy

Stupid remote locking, press once to open front doors, twice to open back doors, sounds easy, but over time will do your head in.

No room for handbrake use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

10th Feb 2006, 08:41

You can change the remote locking thing that you do not like. Simply press and hold the lock and unlock buttons together untill the indicators flash. You will then find that unlock unlocks all doors with one push. To reverse just do the same again.

6th Mar 2006, 08:08

That's great, thank you.

Now does anyone know how to disable the seat belt chimes? the mirez one does not work for me.

2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec TDCi from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission TDCi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Summary:

Very practical a car even VW couldn't compete until recently

Faults:

Washer dip stick broken into the bottle. Had a problem with the glow plugs not aligned or something, causing failure to start engine. Fixed under warranty. Brake calipers replaced under warranty around 45000 miles.

General Comments:

Great handling, much better than the V6 4motion VW Bora I had before. Amazing considering the size of the car.

Acceleration on 1st is OK, from 2nd onwards above 2000rpm is almost as quick as the 2.8l 4motion I had.

I get about 45mpg doing 1/2 motorways, 1/2 country roads.

Everyone comments the boot is massive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

2002 Ford Mondeo Ghia -X 2.5 Duratec petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Duratec petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

At 23000 miles service, handbrake automatic cable adjustment mechanism was found to be seized.

At the same service, rear crossmember bushes were found to be separating from inner metal core. (Bushes are an integral part of crossmember and cannot be replaced separately)

Both faults were repaired under warranty by substituting new parts. (New handbrake mechanism in first instance and new crossmember in second)

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and handles well.

Tiptronic type automatic gearbox reduces available power considerably compared to manual gearbox version.

Seating and general finish are both excellent.

Rear hatch lid is very heavy, with inadequate counterbalance in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2005

2002 Ford Mondeo 2.0 from Singapore

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Loved it

Faults:

Nothing.

Only owned for less than a year; had to re-locate.

General Comments:

Excellent car. A much better improvement (huge evolution, if not, revolution from the previous Mondeo).

Good value for money.

Extremely comfortable. Good for long distances.

Could do with better materials for its dashboard.

Good airconditioning.

Brilliant stereo.

Good noise insulation.

Dealer was a little dodgy. Found some personal belongings (including cash) missing when I sent the car for servicing once.

Average residuals.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 37 reviews