2002 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 6 of 12

2002 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Replaced timing belt adjusters.

New inlet manifold.

New coil.

New rear brake caliper.

Auto gear faults.

Rear shocks and springs.

General Comments:

Ford Mondeo Ghia X auto estate. 26 MPG on a run.

Worst Ford car I have ever owned. Will never buy another ford. The car is slow and handles very badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2006

29th Aug 2006, 04:49

The faults are one thing, but if it's "slow and handles badly", why did you buy it?

Besides which it is one of the best handling cars in its class. It sounds like you are allowing your bad ownership experience to cloud your views.

15th Nov 2006, 04:27

I have a 1.8 LX. My previous car was a saab 900 2.0L. I have had many different cars over the years, and I would not say that the Mondeo is slow and handles badly.

It is slightly slower than the Saab, but handles MUCH better. It has excelent weight distribution and balance The steering gives plenty of feedback. Regarding Slow, Well 'slow' is relative. It has just enough power to break traction on a slightly greasy surface, but not enough to ruin the front tyres in the dry. It is a good setup.

Perhaps the reviewers quality problems have poisoned his overall impression of the car.

2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCI from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCI Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Stay clear, looks nice, drives well, but a living hell on repairs. Ford just don't care!!!

Faults:

Where do I start!!!

Handbrake, cable and caliper.

Rear suspension - bushes in sub frame.

Rear Suspension - drop links.

Front near side wheel - hub and wheel bearing.

And now!!!

Diesel fuel pump!!!

General Comments:

Car looks great both inside and out. Comfortable to drive for long periods (taxi driver).

But it all ends there!!

Car bought end of November 2005.

Had problem with handbrake and caliper, had to be replaced.

Within two weeks had problems with rear suspension bushes.

Ford dealer reluctant to cover on warranty as car was close to 3year / 60,000 mile warranty (had only done 37,000 miles)

FOUR weeks later drop links had to be replaced on rear suspension.

Front near side wheel came off car whilst driving as wheel hub and bearing suddenly went.

Diesel fuel pump needing replaced at cost of £579 + labour + vat (almost £800)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

9th Jun 2006, 06:18

Bad luck!

Touch wood, mine has been great.

28th Aug 2006, 00:28

I agree with your comments about Fords generally. I had the same experience with my 1997 Mondeo. Bought from main dealer with FFSH, but nothing, but annoying niggles.

I too will never buy another Ford.

2002 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 petrol 110PS from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol 110PS Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29500 miles
Most recent distance29900 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

I am impressed!

Faults:

Nothing yet...

General Comments:

This car replaces http://www.carsurvey.org/review_24034.html

I have not yet had it for a week, but I can tell already, I am impressed. It is smooth, quiet, comfortable, heavy, solid, and big. All of these factors are important to me in a car. It is slightly (noticeably) slower than my Saab 900 was, but I am in my 40s now, so 0-60 is not an issue. You will see from my Saab review, that I lean towards European (not American) cars. As far as the Mondeo is concerned, I think it is fair to say it is a European car, even if Ford's fatherland is the U.S.

Anyway; for now, I am very happy with my decision... I will throw in a few updates over the coming few years, like I did with the SAAB.

I love the 'retro' interior styling, no fuss non-hi-tech controls on the dash, the simple but good stereo, and the Aluminium trim on the steering wheel and gear change lever. And the clock ;- Art!

The interior look and feel of this car is how it sold itself to me.

My sister in-law's Toyota Avensis is like a rocket-scientist's microwave oven in comparison (unnecessarily complicated); unappealing.

P.s. I am still on my first tank of petrol... looking good!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2006

25th Oct 2006, 04:29

Where will I start.

I have scratched it 3 times. I have had a rear wheel blowout. The reverse lights have failed. The engine makes a rattle noise when at low revs.

In a word, I have had enough of this car. My problem now is, how do I get even close to the amount I paid for it back so that I can replace it with something a bit less ford.

Any suggestions?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 37 reviews