2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec S 2.0 TDCI trubo diesel from UK and Ireland


Great car, but there's just something not cool about Ford


Sorry nothing has gone wrong with my car yet...

Fingers X.

General Comments:

Went to England and bought a Zetec S Mondeo; great car, looks good.

Can't help thinking I miss my GT TDI Golf though, even though the Mondeo is a nicer drive and bigger. There is something not cool about owning a Ford. I don't know why?

PS I wish they made high spec cars available in the Irish Republic. Would save myself having to travel to England to get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2006

2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec TDCI diesel from UK and Ireland


Don't be fooled, it's an average car, nothing special!


Tyres, various engine failures from perished hoses, brakes and poor build quality issues. Heavily corroded alloy wheels after just two years.

General Comments:

The car is a typical Ford. How many times do you read "Ford's best car yet" or "Incredible improvement over previous models". It's a Ford Mondeo which is by far less reliable than it's German and Japanese rivals.

The diesel engine performs well however gives little economical advantage over it's petrol equivalent (36-40mpg). Interior looks awkward and boy racer-ish. Exterior is bland and looks nothing more than the rep-mobile it is.

The car suffers from constant niggles however the dealer often puts them right free of charge. The gearbox feels fragile and I don't have much faith in its long term reliability.

Talk to anyone about your concerns and they just want to blow sunshine off its behind. The UK is still Ford crazy, not sure how or why with this very, very average car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2006

21st Sep 2006, 03:42

Can't agree with any of this.

Acquired mine as a company car in June 2003. Put 96,000 miles on it in three years during which time it needed nothing apart from routine servicing, tyres and a couple of bulbs. Bought it off the lease company for a very good price and decided to opt out of the scheme. Still using it. Now on 102,000 miles and still running fine.

Why did you buy it if it was so "average"?

2002 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0i from UK and Ireland




Replaced timing belt adjusters.

New inlet manifold.

New coil.

New rear brake caliper.

Auto gear faults.

Rear shocks and springs.

General Comments:

Ford Mondeo Ghia X auto estate. 26 MPG on a run.

Worst Ford car I have ever owned. Will never buy another ford. The car is slow and handles very badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2006

29th Aug 2006, 04:49

The faults are one thing, but if it's "slow and handles badly", why did you buy it?

Besides which it is one of the best handling cars in its class. It sounds like you are allowing your bad ownership experience to cloud your views.

15th Nov 2006, 04:27

I have a 1.8 LX. My previous car was a saab 900 2.0L. I have had many different cars over the years, and I would not say that the Mondeo is slow and handles badly.

It is slightly slower than the Saab, but handles MUCH better. It has excelent weight distribution and balance The steering gives plenty of feedback. Regarding Slow, Well 'slow' is relative. It has just enough power to break traction on a slightly greasy surface, but not enough to ruin the front tyres in the dry. It is a good setup.

Perhaps the reviewers quality problems have poisoned his overall impression of the car.

2002 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCI from UK and Ireland


Stay clear, looks nice, drives well, but a living hell on repairs. Ford just don't care!!!


Where do I start!!!

Handbrake, cable and caliper.

Rear suspension - bushes in sub frame.

Rear Suspension - drop links.

Front near side wheel - hub and wheel bearing.

And now!!!

Diesel fuel pump!!!

General Comments:

Car looks great both inside and out. Comfortable to drive for long periods (taxi driver).

But it all ends there!!

Car bought end of November 2005.

Had problem with handbrake and caliper, had to be replaced.

Within two weeks had problems with rear suspension bushes.

Ford dealer reluctant to cover on warranty as car was close to 3year / 60,000 mile warranty (had only done 37,000 miles)

FOUR weeks later drop links had to be replaced on rear suspension.

Front near side wheel came off car whilst driving as wheel hub and bearing suddenly went.

Diesel fuel pump needing replaced at cost of £579 + labour + vat (almost £800)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

9th Jun 2006, 06:18

Bad luck!

Touch wood, mine has been great.

28th Aug 2006, 00:28

I agree with your comments about Fords generally. I had the same experience with my 1997 Mondeo. Bought from main dealer with FFSH, but nothing, but annoying niggles.

I too will never buy another Ford.