1994 Geo Tracker 16v from North America

Summary:

This car is nice to have as your first car. To get from point A to point B

Faults:

The thing that have gone wrong are I had to replace the water pump at 120,000 miles, the soft top, and the transmission at 130,000.

General Comments:

- This car will turn on a dime.

- Real good on gas.

- Not a lot room in the cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

1994 Geo Tracker 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

Very reliable!!!

Faults:

4wd hub doesn't lock.

Driver side window is hard to roll up and down.

Heat doesn't work.

Slow because of so many miles on such a small engine.

General Comments:

It is very slow because of so many miles plus I have really big tires on it so that slows it down also.

It will run forever and I trust the car with short and long distance drives.

However it isn't very enjoyable or fun to drive just reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1994 Geo Tracker from North America

Summary:

A cute, affordable, dependable car

Faults:

Bumpers are very expensive to get fixed... WHEN YOU NEED TO GET THEM FIXED... i got into an accident, and to fix the bumper that didn't even need to be fixed, it would cost $3,500.

I was told by my mother who was driving next to me that I was going 45m.p.h when my speedometer said I was going 40 m.p.h.

The thing that shows the miles is broken... when I go 12 miles it says I have gone 120 miles.

The part that holds my radio is broken... that could be due to the way I treat my car though.

General Comments:

The car picks up pretty fast when you have a full tank of gas in it, if its half empty, it takes a while to get up to the speed you want to go.

When I have the air conditioner on, it takes a while to get to the speed I want to go.

It turns on a dime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

1994 Geo Tracker Convertable 1.6L 4 Cilinder from North America

Summary:

This would be the car for young people and old people alike

Faults:

The only trouble that I had go wrong with my car wold be that it leaked oil from the back of the engine.

Other than that it was a dream for me. It came with a hard top and a soft top. Both black.

But on dirt roads never go to fast since it has a short wheel base and is quite light. The reason that I say this is I was going down a dirt road and lost control and flipped it. I had my soft top on, ruined it, and totaled my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

1994 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Excellent Tracker!

Faults:

Only changed the catalyst converter because it was doing weird noises. Maybe was lossy or something like it.

General Comments:

But pretty good damn car!

I love it. I hope it turns to be a collectible car!

I WILL NEVER SELL IT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

9th Dec 2003, 11:29

I agree!

Excellent car!

26th Feb 2006, 01:15

I love my Tracker, with gas prices rising sharply it will help me save a lot of money.

1994 Geo Tracker 1.6 from North America

Summary:

The most reliable and dependable car I have ever owned and the cheapest!

Faults:

Replaced alternator & main fan pulley at about 120,000, other than that nothing except routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Never got stuck with this car.

Starts every time

Never stuck in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

1994 Geo Tracker 4x2 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Its very cute and good on gas!!

Faults:

Had to replace the starter.

Had to weld the doors back on cause they fell off the hinges.

Automatic transmission doesn't want to shift into 2nd gear until the car warms up. Looking for a new transmission.

Had to replace the water pump.

Had to replace the soft top.

Had to replace the muffler.

General Comments:

I have had this car since 1996 and I really love it, so much that I cannot depart with it. I am looking to repair the transmission. This car has been through a lot with me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

14th Jan 2004, 22:33

I had the same problem, but all it needs it's a "Transmission Service". Go to the mechanic-man and tell him that problem and its cheap to fix. It only costs like $29.99 in my area. You do not need a new transmission.

31st Jan 2004, 11:24

I have the same problem with my tracker. One guy said if I get a transmission service, that may make it worse. So I just shift manually for the time being.

1st Jun 2004, 20:17

I also have the 94 auto and I also had problems with it shifting when cold. We got some transmission additives at the store for about $10 and it seems to have fixed the problem. I'll add another update in a week or so... I also own a 98 Honda SUV and a 69 Pontiac Fire bird convertible. The Fire bird is a sweet drive, but the Tracker is the main driven car. The Honda only goes on family trips... I LOVE MY LITTLE TRACKER... No way I would let it go... I have had it for 3 years with very little maintenance needed... Reliable to the max...

Sonja.

30th Jun 2004, 13:41

Hey all, This may sound a little crazy, However when we bought our Tracker (about a year ago) the transmission was doing the same thing as yours. Apparently the previous owners had trouble with the radiator and it was all gummed up and not circulating properly. Since we replaced the radiator we have not had any trouble with the transmission... try getting your radiator and the block flushed. If this helps it is a really cheap fix! Good Luck.

P.S I Love my Geo too.

31st Jul 2004, 02:52

What size tires are you running.

17th Aug 2004, 14:14

The tires are RoughRider A/T P205/75 R15, Thoughts?

19th Dec 2004, 07:23

Unlock your hubs.

26th Dec 2004, 21:36

I'm also having transmission difficulties. What did the $29.99 transmission service involve? Secondly, what was the name of the $10.00 additive that was used? Thanks.

18th Aug 2011, 04:48

That guy just wants your money. How could a transmission service make it worse?