1994 Geo Tracker 4 cylinder from North America


A very good buy, as long as you are not going to street race!


It was a soft top and the zipper in the the back window got stuck which ripped the thread, but some fishing line fixed that.

Had to replace a gasket which caused the transmission to slip.

It didn't have much get-up-and-go.

It wasn't very good on gas.

The "Check Engine" light came on at about 100,000 miles and didn't go off.

General Comments:

It was 4-wheel drive and would go anywhere.

I ran it pretty hard, and up until I wrecked, it still ran good.

It was small and could turn on a dime so you could park or turn anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

1994 Geo Tracker from North America


Great vehicle if it's not a rag top


I've had some stuttering engine problems, however, that has been fixed with a fuel filter change and running fuel injection cleaner in the tank.

General Comments:

My tracker is a rag top (BIG mistake) ; any idea where I can get a hard top or if I can, in fact, put a hard top on the vehicle? It have been burglarized 3 times in the last 3 months and it's time to fix the problem. Other than that, I LOVE the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

10th Dec 2002, 12:49

With your problems with the "rag" top on your Tracker I was wondering if you have replaced the top with a new rag top? I am about to purchase one and was looking for advice. There seems to be many to choose from and I am sure there are different qualities.


Thanks for any info.

29th Mar 2006, 10:00

I bought a 96 tracker used a year ago and I love it. The problem is that it has been broken into about 10 times. I started keeping nothing in it, but because the window has been improperly popped out, it won't stay in correctly any more. This car has been well worth the money I have put into it, and I am hoping having to purchase a hard top (which costs as much as the car) will not make it a bad investment over all.

20th Jun 2006, 21:45

I've had my 94 tracker for 4 years now. I've had to do almost nothing to it, it's been an awesome car. Funny everyone talking about them getting broken into, mine has been twice. Even when my hard top was on. The doors are made of very thin metal. So if you buy one just don't keep anything in it.


1st Jul 2006, 14:44

Every time I turn around my alternator is going out on my Geo. I have had to replace twice in the last 3 mos. Anyone else have this problem and a solution please help. Word to the wise Trackers are more trouble than they are worth don't buy one.

13th Nov 2008, 22:55

I have a 1997 Tracker. I am from Mexico, and, as all of you, I am trying to find a hard top for my Tracker too. I found a man that fabricates it, he told me that he has two kind of hardtops and their costs are 8000 pesos (650 dollars) and 12000 pesos (950 dollars). He will send me more information and some photos, so I can see the differences between them, as soon as he do so, I will share that information with you, and maybe even when you have to import it, you pay less, we'll see.

1994 Geo Tracker 1.8 Litre 8-valve from North America


A cheap and solid little 4x4...


1. Radio trim piece was broken.

2. Passenger dash mounted vent was broken.

3. Transmission has bearing noise in 3rd and 5th gear.

4. Factory radio does not work.

5. Rusted left front fender.

6. Lots of parking lot dents.

7. Noisy and "rattle ridden" on the road.

General Comments:

1. Reliable 4x4. Very stable and able when operated with common sense.

2. Good gas mileage (25mpg) and still needs to be tuned up.

3. Basic vehicle (which I really like). Just engine, drivetrain, and body.

4. Very nimble and maneuverable (cause of its small size).

I bought this vehicle to replace my old 5.0 Mustang (fun car, just tired of winter slip wars).

Most of the problems with my Tracker are from a lack of care from the previous owner(s). I assume that the bearing noise in the transmission came from 20,000+ miles of driving with low gearbox oil (it was half empty when I bought it). It's about $800.00 to repair the transmission where I live. To me this is not a big deal since I have near no cost in the truck.

I plan to redo the Tracker into a usable "working 4x4" for myself modifications to include:

1. Custom snow plow.

2. Wide tires.

3. Additional gauges in the dash.

4. Cruise control.

5. Winch.

6. Exterior lights.

7. Decent stereo system.

8. Carpet padding (quiets the road noise).


When buying parts. check with a Suzuki dealer since the Tracker and the Sidekick are pretty much identical (99% identical???). Most of the time, Suzuki parts are a little cheaper.

Check the fluids (engine, axles, gearbox, transfer case) and check them often.

Grease/pack drivetrain components/parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

3rd Apr 2004, 15:28

What is carpot padding? What brand or type of cruise control are you going to install? I have never liked the ones that have the sensors on the drive line, especially on 4X4's. Marvin marvinb@pacifier.com.