1987 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 3 of 23

1987 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance56800 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Absolutely fabulous!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is great. Runs great -- handles great.

Bought from original owner -- little old lady who put about 2700/year. She kept it garaged. Everything is pristine on this car.

Paid $1200.00 for her, and expect to have her for at least 15 years, as I only put 10-11K miles per year. Getting about 28 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2008

1987 Honda Accord DX 2.0 carby! from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 carby! Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Unstoppable! Roomy and then some, and 43mpg best ever! :)

Faults:

Timing belt broke at 136k, and this "interference" engine went unscathed! A new belt and a re-timing was all that was needed!

General Comments:

Awesome car! Best ever 400 mile trip averaged 43 mpg! Roomy as hell, more so in the back seat than my dad's '91.

Progressive carburetor has two barrels which function like an old 4 barrel, opening the second larger one at half throttle.

Decently quick due to its 2500lb weight, great low-end power for a 4 banger, average city mileage is around 28 to 30. Almost 150k and no smoke of oil burning.

Upsized the exhaust from the cat back from 1 5/8 to 2 1/4". Definitely helped it breathe. NGK plugs go great with the engine.

I beat on it more than I should, but it holds up like a tank! Never plan on selling it, and I've been offered $1500. It saves me that much easily in 6 months to a year over my V6 Ranger! Great great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2008

1st Sep 2009, 19:34

This review is very encouraging. I've just bought an '87 Honda Accord DX with only 50K miles on it. It appears to be in practically mint condition. However, it doesn't have a right side rear view mirror on it. The seller (her mom was the original owner) says that it has never had a passenger side rear view mirror on it. Is that possible?

17th Nov 2010, 09:21

Yes, my 87' Accord does did not come with one also.

1987 Honda Accord LXI from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Most recent distance396000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

I love my little run about and am very blessed to have such a reliable vehicle that is great on gas

Faults:

Right rear brake beginning to grind. Some wear on the seats and a little sun faded on the paint job.

General Comments:

This car drives pretty smooth for an older model and handled the last flash flood we had pretty good. It got me to work on time when other cars were pulled to the side of the road. I would like it to have a little more power when a big truck is on my tail, the transmission is sluggish after hitting third gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2008

9th Aug 2008, 12:47

Hi, is your 87 Lxi a sedan? Do you happen to have the manual? I need to locate the correct psi for my 87 Accord Lxi sedan. Any help is appreciated!!!

1987 Honda Accord LXI 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carJeep Liberty

Summary:

Sporty, fun to drive and still reliable

Faults:

Re-painted in 1997 as car lived some of its life outside in Florida, before I got it and moved it up to PA.

Air conditioning died around 60000 miles in 1999.

Hatchback hydraulics stopped holding up hatch around 60000 miles.

CV boots maybe around 70000 miles.

Replaced timing belt for preventive maintenance at 81000 miles.

Minor water leak during heavy rains at after market installed sunroof.

Rack and pinion leaks steering fluid. Uses about a cup a month; started around 83000 miles.

Exhaust system also around 83000 miles.

General Comments:

Fun car to drive, easy to maneuver.

Car would start up instantly, even after sitting for weeks.

Gets about 26 mpg around town if I drive sensibly.

Seems like I should be looking for a newer car, but I can't seem to justify it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

1987 Honda Accord DX 2.0 SOHC Carb from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Carb Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired209743 miles
Most recent distance211119 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Very good car, dependable 2nd car, parts are very cheap. Plus Honda reliability..

Faults:

I replace only the radiator cap and the fuel cap.

The battery light turn on sometimes because the belt is bad.

The rear passenger side drum brakes make a metallic sound when brakes are apply, the idle speed is 200 rpm up.

But aside that everything is fine and working in the car. The paint is bad and looks like somebody hit the car from the side; drivers side. Only the back quarter and the left front fender gets the hit but nothing that bad it can be fix it easy.

The lifters and the valves makes the common sound for a car of 21 years old. The engine leaks but not a big deal. The cruise control doesn't work but who cares.

General Comments:

I pay $900.00 for this car with new clutch, new a/c, new p/s pump, new carburetor, new after market exhaust and a sony xplod cd player with ipod ready connector came with the car "nice deal". To replace my almost dying 1998 Chevy Malibu until I can do a budget to buy something better.

It needs new front tires and rear brake shoes, but aside that nothing wrong.

I spend less than $25.00 bucks in buying the radiator cap, fuel cap and window tint.

211,119 miles and still kicking, good gas mileage between 27 to 30 mpg.

On highway it feels smooth and pretty stable. Good steering feeling and shift very easy.

The seats are not the best on comfort but for a car like that they are very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 75 reviews